We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Average Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citystate Asturias Hotel
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location - Average Service”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Hotel was ideally located a bit south but close enough to major tourist areas and attractions.
Its only few minutes away from the restaurants and a walk away from the Robinsons - which was a big plus.

The Hotel had arranged the airport pick-up and the representative who had picked us up was very accommodating and friendly. Though our flight was delayed, but he's all smiles when we arrived.

Upon arrival, the receptionist were all accommodating and friendly. However nothing exceptional to remember.

The rooms are very spacious and has a mini fridge which was pretty useful, if you wanna buy some food and beverage from the Mall. No Minibar in though from the Hotel.

The room's furnishings are basic as well as the toiletries. One thing that they need to improve is the curtain as this does not give a full shade during the day, awakening you in the morning. This could have been nice if the views were good but unfortunately not as construction is ongoing on the next plot.

TV's cable reception is a little bit blurry, however International Channels are big plus. Swimming pool is nice and not much people were using so we were able to use the facility exclusively.

The stay was overall good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side has more nicer views but rooms near the reception has better wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrendyLoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    57
    36
    15
    7
See reviews for
35
38
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

good: clean, very accommodating staff (i stayed there when a major typhoon hit the country), breakfast could have been a tad better, but otherwise filling. location was ideal if you like a quiet stay. amusingly, the sound of the fountain by the pool helps put you in a state of relaxation in the evenings.

bad: internet was spotty, slow when available. no elevators or ramps.

Room Tip: be careful to ask whether your room has windows, because you may be excited that you got a good rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agu E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed @ Asturias Hotel from Oct.13 to Oct.15,2013.When we arrived @ the Hotel,their staff were courteous,helpful & accomodating.We availed the Travel Escape Package thru Ephesians Travel & Tours.Eventhough we arrived late for our scheduled tour, my kids,mom & mother in law enjoyed the tour.Our 1st day was Honda Bay.We visited Pandan Island,Starfish and Cowrie Island.Thanks to our Tour Guide "Lawrence" and to our boatman for the time spent snorkeling with my
kids,and
for the picture taking. The foods was so Yummy.1st day was great eventhough we have limited time.We wake up early for Our 2nd day Tour which was the Underground River, it takes almost 2 hrs from PP to Sabang.We enjoyed the 2 hrs trip with our Tour Guide "Pam".We take 20mins boat ride going to Underground River and 40mins minutes paddle boat @ Underground River....at last we have visited the seven wonders.Buffet Lunch was served after the tour...Thanks to Maricon of
Ephesians Travel for the complete package.Buffet breakfast,lunch & Dinner @ Asturias Hotel. Truly a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asiranim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qc
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you're looking for old world charm in the heart of Puerto Princesa Palawan, Asturias Hotel is the place to go to. Cozy, clean and big guest rooms with helpful, accommodating staff made my short stay quite pleasant. The hotel is located in a quiet part of the city, but is easily accessible to public transport if one wants to go downtown. The hotel's interiors are classic and elegant, with an airy lobby and a nicely landscaped pool where one can relax. My room opened up to the pool area, and this added to the feeling of relaxation for me.
The buffet breakfast offers a good selection of food. However, the ala carte menu is limited. I would have expected to see more seafood selections in the menu, considering that this is Palawan.
All in all, I would recommend Asturias Hotel to family and friends visiting Puerto Princesa. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the ground floor that opens up to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anabelleochoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Location is good and near a shopping center.The enterior and lobby is great.My first impression is that,"It's a nice place".I've seen worst and it's definately a better one.The room was tiedy but the aircondioner was noisy.Breakfast has limited choices and takes a little longer to replenish the buffet table.Staff are friendly and I appreciate thier complementary drinks.So far,our stay was okey.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elianj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I normally don’t post feedback on a public forum but I’ll make an exception since I was extremely satisfied with their exceptional service.
We stayed in Asturias from August 15 to 18 with a group then I personally extended 1 day.

The Rooms/ Reception staff
- The reception feels like an Italian home warm and relaxing, like Don Vito Corleone’s Office. They welcome you with a very refreshing drink brought by a smiling staff.
The rooms are very spacious and cozy. The downside was that the water is not warm enough to my liking which was immediately addressed by their very attentive staff.

The Food
- Dinner starts promptly at 6 PM. The presentation of the food is very simple but once it hits your taste buds, the flavour explodes. I was really surprised how delicious dinner was. – You must really try dinner.

The Location
- The hotel is about 10-15 minutes away from the airport. And there is a newly built Robinson’s Mall about 5 minutes walk which opens at 10 AM.

The Security Personnel/ Drivers
- The person at the entrance is very attentive and pleasant, always ready with his warm smile. I remember hailing a tricycle at about 7pm on my way out, near the exit and the 2nd security guard hastily walked towards the entrance to take note of the tricycle driver’s face, plate and our destination.
- Their Drivers are very courteous towards their guest and other drivers as well. Mr. Boyet and this other guys with his wayfarers, were very accommodating and informative. They gave us a free tour on our way to the hotel by telling us where to eat among other things. Their uniforms are worn well and everybody looks very neat and friendly.

The Front Desk/ Tour Office/ Staff
- I mostly interacted with Kay, Amy and their staff which apart from being very beautiful with their ready smile, was also very attentive to our needs and are extremely helpful. Their staff is very sensitive to our needs and this made us feel so important. Everywhere you go, if you walk by and you chance upon an employee, they will greet you with a very warm smile. Asturias also has their own tour office which can arrange a worry free roam around the city and nearby islands.

Asturia’s ready to help and ready smile attitude made my vacation really awesome! I recommend this hotel and I will definitely come back, with or without a group.

-Julius Gayem

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAG_ODY_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had checked in last August 10-13 with my husband, and our room is in their lovely executive suite. The room was really awsome! and their pool too. All of their staff are extemely friendly and helpfull. Their food looks simple but WOW! very good taste! =) the environment are very peaceful (wala maririnig na ingay galing sa kalsada) esp. at night. Definitely we'll be back here again with our friends and relatives. Good job guys! =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.7 mi away
Palawan Uno Hotel
Palawan Uno Hotel
#33 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#13 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rema Tourist Inn
Rema Tourist Inn
#48 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#46 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
44 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ipil Suites Puerto Princesa
Ipil Suites Puerto Princesa
#23 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Go Hotels Puerto Princesa
Go Hotels Puerto Princesa
#21 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystate Asturias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystate Asturias Hotel

Property: Citystate Asturias Hotel
Address: Km. 3 South National Highway | Tinguiban Heights, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citystate Asturias Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Citystate Asturias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asturias Hotel Puerto Princesa
Citystate Asturias Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing