We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citystate Asturias Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is an OK hotel.
I was there with my family, first time in the country.
The hotel was part of a tour package, very good price one. The car picked us up from the airport without extra charge.
The personal is extremely nice, the greet you in the hallways and everywhere.
The location is good, close to the center of the city and to a big mall.
The rooms are ok, please do not have big expectations regarding the rooms. The are comfortable, clean and spacious. The aircon is a bit old but it was working for me. The WiFi is extremely slow, the shower is a little bit old fashion. The TV is a flat screen with ok quality. Room service is very nice.
The restaurant has good food with good prices. The attention again is outstanding. The bar has live music 3 or 4 nights a week, the liquor is average but the ambiance is nice. The cafe has good food. The breakfast has little choices, but you can enjoy the food and there are good omelettes. The pool is nice and clean.
Please remember you are in a tiny city and this hotel is actually a good one for the price. Personally I don't spent too much time in a hotel, so the quality of the service is the most important part and they are outstanding!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnriqueGomezLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    32
    14
    8
See reviews for
33
35
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckalnd
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very simple and average hotel. It was quiet when we were there. Not much people booked in so we had the whole pool and hotel literally to ourselves.

Room was ok but nothing flash about it. Bed and pillows were not that comfy either. Staff were nice and accommodating.

Will I stay with them again? Surprisingly, I might.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC_Wilson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angono, Rizal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

When we came to Puerto Princesa, we heard that Asturias Hotel is one of well known hotel in the city, so we (with my husband) decided to choose the said hotel for 3 nights. When we got the room, i was really disappointed. They gave us 3 single bed which i have to ask them a favor to combine the 2 beds, as we are couple who will stay there. The TELEVISION IS VERY POOR,aside from being old TV, it was definitely a cable but limited channels only were available and the remote control is really hard to use, sometimes its working but most of the time ITS NOT WORKING!! The AIRCON IS TERRIBLE, we cant sleep because of the noise from the aircon, its like there is a generator inside of our room. There was NO MAIN LIGHT IN CEILING, only 2 lamp shades and light in the comfort room, meaning our whole stay there was dim light only, if we need some light we have to open the door if its morning and if its night we have to turn on the light from the toilet. Their WIFI is very bad, their internet connection was very slow..And Lastly the HOT AND COLD SHOWER WAS HORRIBLE, it was manually working, it means everytime we're going to the comfort room to take a shower we have to call assistance to their front office.. which is as far as i know it was should be automatically.. imagine that we are very tired from the tour and when we get back to our room, this is our experienced for 4days and 3 nights... i cant imagine that my vacation will be like that. I worked very hard to had this trip as my bday getaway with my husband, I guess i deserve a great service as a payee guest but what i got was DISATER experience!! anyway in good thing i will never forget them but the bad thing in their TERRIBLE ROOM FACILITIES! Im wondering if all of thier room is like this.. Will NEVER EVER COME BACK TO THIS HOTEL, AS IN EVER!!!!

Room Tip: Take a look first and check the room before you get the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hershey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Simple and straight-forward place to stay for a few days for business or for transit. Good place for adventurers and explorers to stay. Good price/quality. It is located near the huge Robinson Shopping Mall, but as the hotel staff advises: walk or take the tricycle for 50 pesos to and back for 20 pesos. Avoid the hotel shuttle bus as it will charge you 600 pesos!

Employees are friendly and very helpful. Rooms have no WIFI, but the lounge and cafetaria both have a reasonable connection. So, move your office their and get things moving. You will be politely approached by the cafetaria staff to order a drink or a dish.

The hotel is near the airport, the local university and the City Hall. It is about 1.5 hours drive to the Sabang Resorts and the Underground River.

The hotel does have a noisy bar, but seems that the bands playing there have their own crew members as audience. The hotel needs to promote more local presence there. No spa or massage facilities. A nice swimming pool giving you some positive energy, but that's all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

What I enjoy about this hotel is their swimming pool and their restaurant but the only problem is there are so many mosquitoes that could bother your good night sleep and their air conditioning unit is not working in the middle of the night (in my case, I don't know the other rooms).

If they can improve these maybe I would come back...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
246 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is clean with friendly staff, rooms were modern but relatively basic. It had a courtyard pool which would not be so great to use as it in the middle of everything/all rooms looking down on the pool...breakfast was average/uninteresing. Drinkable coffee, i.e capuccino, was available for extra cost. There was no gym.
Am not sure there were any other better hotes on offer in PP as it is a tragic case of a small town suddenly grown up with too many tourists, thus lots of efforts to quickly capitalize with little thought of charm, space, character ...mainly off busy road.

Room Tip: They all seemed the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BombaxFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

When you drive up to the hotel, especially in the evening, it looks quite magnificent. So are the staff, who are extremley friendly and helpful. The pool is great too. The room, however, left much to be desired. There were no towels in the bathroom which, I hasten to add, were brought promptly when we asked for them. We'd booked this hotel because it offered WIFI in the room, which we needed for work. The WIFI, however, wasn't working and whilst we were told they were working on this, it never worked in all the ten days that we stayed at the hotel. The only window (at the back of the room) offered a view on a wall, which was less than a metre away. If truth be told, the room was so dark that all the time we spent there felt a bit as if we'd been locked up in a prison (we were in a room on the first floor in the left wing - I recommend that you get a room on the other side of the hotel because guests that were staying on that side told us that they had a view and that their room was quite light). In other words, we were disappointend with the Asturias, and will not return. One tip, there's a good tricycle rider that's always waiting outside the Asturias, who does all the "usual" Puerto Princesa tours (Iwahig, city tour, fire fly watching, Honda Bay etc.). He's very reliable and offers tours at very reasonable prices. So if you want to venture out (the hotel is quie a distance from the city proper), his name is Toto, cell phone 09094041491.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#10 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palawan Uno Hotel
Palawan Uno Hotel
#30 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.2 mi away
One Manalo Place Hotel
One Manalo Place Hotel
#16 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#11 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.8 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#14 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Legend Palawan
The Legend Palawan
#17 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystate Asturias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystate Asturias Hotel

Property: Citystate Asturias Hotel
Address: Km. 3 South National Highway | Tinguiban Heights, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citystate Asturias Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Citystate Asturias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asturias Hotel Puerto Princesa
Citystate Asturias Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing