We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Too Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citystate Asturias Hotel
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very simple and average hotel. It was quiet when we were there. Not much people booked in so we had the whole pool and hotel literally to ourselves.

Room was ok but nothing flash about it. Bed and pillows were not that comfy either. Staff were nice and accommodating.

Will I stay with them again? Surprisingly, I might.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC_Wilson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 180 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

When we came to Puerto Princesa, we heard that Asturias Hotel is one of well known hotel in the city, so we (with my husband) decided to choose the said hotel for 3 nights. When we got the room, i was really disappointed. They gave us 3 single bed which i have to ask them a favor to combine the 2 beds, as we are couple who will stay there. The TELEVISION IS VERY POOR,aside from being old TV, it was definitely a cable but limited channels only were available and the remote control is really hard to use, sometimes its working but most of the time ITS NOT WORKING!! The AIRCON IS TERRIBLE, we cant sleep because of the noise from the aircon, its like there is a generator inside of our room. There was NO MAIN LIGHT IN CEILING, only 2 lamp shades and light in the comfort room, meaning our whole stay there was dim light only, if we need some light we have to open the door if its morning and if its night we have to turn on the light from the toilet. Their WIFI is very bad, their internet connection was very slow..And Lastly the HOT AND COLD SHOWER WAS HORRIBLE, it was manually working, it means everytime we're going to the comfort room to take a shower we have to call assistance to their front office.. which is as far as i know it was should be automatically.. imagine that we are very tired from the tour and when we get back to our room, this is our experienced for 4days and 3 nights... i cant imagine that my vacation will be like that. I worked very hard to had this trip as my bday getaway with my husband, I guess i deserve a great service as a payee guest but what i got was DISATER experience!! anyway in good thing i will never forget them but the bad thing in their TERRIBLE ROOM FACILITIES! Im wondering if all of thier room is like this.. Will NEVER EVER COME BACK TO THIS HOTEL, AS IN EVER!!!!

Room Tip: Take a look first and check the room before you get the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hershey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Simple and straight-forward place to stay for a few days for business or for transit. Good place for adventurers and explorers to stay. Good price/quality. It is located near the huge Robinson Shopping Mall, but as the hotel staff advises: walk or take the tricycle for 50 pesos to and back for 20 pesos. Avoid the hotel shuttle bus as it will charge you 600 pesos!

Employees are friendly and very helpful. Rooms have no WIFI, but the lounge and cafetaria both have a reasonable connection. So, move your office their and get things moving. You will be politely approached by the cafetaria staff to order a drink or a dish.

The hotel is near the airport, the local university and the City Hall. It is about 1.5 hours drive to the Sabang Resorts and the Underground River.

The hotel does have a noisy bar, but seems that the bands playing there have their own crew members as audience. The hotel needs to promote more local presence there. No spa or massage facilities. A nice swimming pool giving you some positive energy, but that's all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtemRSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

What I enjoy about this hotel is their swimming pool and their restaurant but the only problem is there are so many mosquitoes that could bother your good night sleep and their air conditioning unit is not working in the middle of the night (in my case, I don't know the other rooms).

If they can improve these maybe I would come back...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is clean with friendly staff, rooms were modern but relatively basic. It had a courtyard pool which would not be so great to use as it in the middle of everything/all rooms looking down on the pool...breakfast was average/uninteresing. Drinkable coffee, i.e capuccino, was available for extra cost. There was no gym.
Am not sure there were any other better hotes on offer in PP as it is a tragic case of a small town suddenly grown up with too many tourists, thus lots of efforts to quickly capitalize with little thought of charm, space, character ...mainly off busy road.

Room Tip: They all seemed the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BombaxFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

When you drive up to the hotel, especially in the evening, it looks quite magnificent. So are the staff, who are extremley friendly and helpful. The pool is great too. The room, however, left much to be desired. There were no towels in the bathroom which, I hasten to add, were brought promptly when we asked for them. We'd booked this hotel because it offered WIFI in the room, which we needed for work. The WIFI, however, wasn't working and whilst we were told they were working on this, it never worked in all the ten days that we stayed at the hotel. The only window (at the back of the room) offered a view on a wall, which was less than a metre away. If truth be told, the room was so dark that all the time we spent there felt a bit as if we'd been locked up in a prison (we were in a room on the first floor in the left wing - I recommend that you get a room on the other side of the hotel because guests that were staying on that side told us that they had a view and that their room was quite light). In other words, we were disappointend with the Asturias, and will not return. One tip, there's a good tricycle rider that's always waiting outside the Asturias, who does all the "usual" Puerto Princesa tours (Iwahig, city tour, fire fly watching, Honda Bay etc.). He's very reliable and offers tours at very reasonable prices. So if you want to venture out (the hotel is quie a distance from the city proper), his name is Toto, cell phone 09094041491.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

On arrival we were shown to our room which had a small double bed, a window high up in the wall which made the room very dark and a dirty bathroom and we needed a twin room with good light and a clean bathroom. They then put a camping bed into the room and were quite surprised when we said that it wouldn't do. However after a lot of negotiations we eventually got a rtoom on the first floor which had a good window and 2 twin beds. The restaurant was fine, not a lot of choice but more than adequate and the small cafe at the front was good. Don't have an ice cream though unless you are prepared to pay a huge amount for it. The hotel is quite attractive with a nice albeit small garden in the middle. The pool looked inviting but we didn't have time to try it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, the windows are much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#9 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palawan Uno Hotel
Palawan Uno Hotel
#31 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aziza Paradise Hotel
Aziza Paradise Hotel
#17 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fersal Hotel - Puerto Princesa
Fersal Hotel - Puerto Princesa
#19 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#48 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
51 reviews
3.4 mi away
Panja Resort Palawan
Panja Resort Palawan
#20 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystate Asturias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystate Asturias Hotel

Address: Km. 3 South National Highway | Tinguiban Heights, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $32 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citystate Asturias Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Citystate Asturias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asturias Hotel Puerto Princesa
Citystate Asturias Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing