We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room, but above average hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citystate Asturias Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average room, but above average hospitality”
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We found the hotel lobby and public areas as well as the grounds to be well maintained and beautiful. The room was plain, but clean , large and comfortable with a nice bathroom. The TV did not work well, but good enough to watch . The pool was too crowded with kids for us to really enjoy, but that was fine, and fun to watch the kids ! The food in the restaurant was good. The included breakfast buffet was also very good. The hotel staff was friendy and showed the exceptional hospitality the Philippines is noted for. A good value for the money, and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — staff hosipitality and beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — plain room with a few minor broken items
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank imonacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    32
    14
    8
See reviews for
33
35
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

This was the only Puerto Princessa hotel I found that took bookings/deposit over the internet. The room is rather plain, but serviceable, with air conditioning and satellite television. The gardens are well-maintained. The pool is nice, but no pool floats, pool toys or poolside lounge chairs. The breakfast buffet is Filipino dishes only. The dining room offers either a buffet or or menu selections of Filipino/Asian dishes. The menu includes shark fin, which we found to be reprehensible. The front desk has safety deposit boxes for valuables. The hotel allowed us to leave some luggage for the six days that we were on the liveaboard dive trip. It took the front desk several tries to get our room reservations right. We stayed three nights before the dive trip and one night after the trip. Fortunately, I had kept photocopies of the internet bookings. We arranged for a tour to the Subterranean River in Sabang through the front desk, but we had to remind them to charge is for it.

  • Liked — Ability to book via internet
  • Disliked — Shark fin on the menu
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bingo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

The hotel itself is very beautiful inside and out. The rooms are spacious, but the feel is cold like. The beds are good in size, but the matressess are so thin,and the bed is so low, that you really are uncomfortable and unable to get good rest.
The location is great, not far from the city, but yet far enough to not hear all the commotion of the city.
The pool is beautiful and big and very enticing.
Overall, it's a nice place, but they need to do something about the beds and just the entire atmosphere of the place.

For the price I expected better!

  • Liked — Location,Pool and Bar
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bankalolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 7, 2006

I just want to let the management knows that they should tell their employees to be more friendly and accommodating, especially the in charge of the coffee shop. I think there should be more choices on the food, especially for dinner.

Other than that, the service is good and the hotel very good.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2006

I stayed there for a night as part of my "Rest & Recreation" segment of a 2-week community service project.
The 2-storey "open-air concept" hotel-resort was absolutely lovely. I would say the staff are all very well-trained, helpful, and GREAT :) We were given a welcome drink upon arrival. The porters, counter staff and housekeeping staff were wonderful, polite and courteous. The rooms were very clean, very spacious, and with great bathing facilities (clean bathrooms and towels, with complimentary toiletries). The building did not have any lift, but it wasn't much of a problem. In the middle of the building was a big pool that looked nice. We had a good time playing table tennis (part of the free facilities) with our local host :) There was nothing to find fault with the rooms :)
However, the cafe/restaurant's service (near the lobby) can be improved. As we were a large group (about 22), they took quite a long time to prepare our dinner order (Mongolian buffet, which tasted good). Can't blame them though, since they didn't expect us. The buffet breakfast was alright, with a good variety to choose from. They also offered omelettes with your choice of toppings (ham, etc). But it gotta depend on who's cooking it.
Overall the stay was a great experience, and I will stay there again if I'm going back to Palawan :)

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FleurLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 13, 2005

There were 16 of us in a package tour that stayed at Asturias Hotel. The place was clean, rooms were neat nothing fancy but well apportioned. There is a pool big enough to actually swim and Ping Pong, Billiard Tables for rent anytime of the day. The free breakfast and lunch were a welcome treat for anyone who spends the day touring the island. The staff was friendly and very accomodating.

Overall value for the money is excellent. I would go back and recommend the place to any first time visitors.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#10 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palawan Uno Hotel
Palawan Uno Hotel
#30 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
100 reviews
2.2 mi away
One Manalo Place Hotel
One Manalo Place Hotel
#16 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#11 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
493 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Legend Palawan
The Legend Palawan
#18 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
256 reviews
1.8 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#12 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystate Asturias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystate Asturias Hotel

Property: Citystate Asturias Hotel
Address: Km. 3 South National Highway | Tinguiban Heights, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citystate Asturias Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Citystate Asturias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asturias Hotel Puerto Princesa
Citystate Asturias Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing