We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“living in a cave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citystate Asturias Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
sta rosa philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“living in a cave”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

the rooms in this hotel is far from what we expected. we got 8 rooms for our family. it only have a small window overlooking a wall, its like living in a cave. the aircons are not working properly, the tv is so old and small, the bathroom needs renovation,the bed is not comfortable to sleep in , the linens are very worn-out and we were given only one pillow per person. it is also poorly lighted, breakfast is average and needs variety. my sister was charged P500 for staining the comforter wtuh baby poop but it was not replaced. the rooms would have been ok if they have a window in front or better if they have a glass sliding window so the guest can see the pool view. the only consolation was the pool which the kids enjoyed the most.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maribernardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    54
    33
    15
    8
See reviews for
33
34
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and 4 days at Hotel Asturias recently to attend a Conference. I went on company's expense since my trip was purely business. I understood from the organizers that Hotel Asturias has one (or maybe the only one) with the biggest ballroom in Puerto Princesa City in Palawan. Their ballroom was spacious enough for all of the participants. The food (3 meals) which was included in the package was delicious and had variety. Best of all I was billeted in their twin deluxe room, just across the beautiful swimming pool. After our conference, I had the chance to relax and swim in their pool. The garden surrounding the hotel was well maintained and they had flowering plants to cool your tired eyes after long hours of work attending a conference. Service was very good and the cleanliness of the hotel , their rooms and restaurants were good too. I will surely recommend Asturias Hotel to my friends, relatives and colleagues.

Room Tip: I was happy with my room at the ground level because i loved the swimming pool across my room, altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Asturias hotel has been in Puerto Princesa for quite sometime and has continue to serve it's guests well. I stayed in their very spacious deluxe suites and I was happy with the huge king size bed and spacious room. Their regular rooms are quite small for quad sharing.

The best part of the hotel I like the most is the swimming pool which is set as a centerpiece of the property. The pool is surrounded by the pool.... so there is this resort type of feeling in this property. Breakfast buffet was good enough.

Room Tip: Their executive deluxe rooms are nice and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank guideme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This Hotel is not far from the center of town. It has a good laid back Spanish background feel with the swimming pool being a centerpiece of the hotel.Just enough rooms and not so high rise. The staff are warm and accommodating.The rooms are spacious but the WIFI does not reach the rooms. Good for both quick, short corporate and family stays. Stayed at room 110. The buffet can have some more choices.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ground floor are best as they are accessible to the dining room and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennroymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The earlier review is right! Sooo many mosquitoes! Even have to ask front desk several times to hv our room fumigated! Front staff don't know what to do. But, at least they could speak good English. Loved the garden pool and the buffet breakfast

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3lezi0n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

it was a cosy stay in Asturias except there were some small creatures(Mosquitos) to welcome you.
staff specially upfront staff is so warming with a pleasant smile.Upfront manager Thom and cashier ................(i forgot his name , but one who is in this photo) were cooperative.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bachanesh a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I liked Asturias Hotel for its old-world elegance with modern amenities. Rooms were comfy, baths were good, though we had a leaky shower/tub enclosure. Restaurant was decent though we got a bit tired of the buffet breakfast choices by the 3rd day. Kids had a blast in the pool, and didn't tire of swimming despite several days already spent in Honda Bay and other swimming/snorkelling spots. Hotel is located in the outskirts of the city, though Puerto Princesa is quite a small place that getting to a central location will take just 10-15 minutes and you'll find yourself in the market, souvenir stores, groceries, restos. Allot 30 minutes travel to outlying areas like Badjao Seafront Resto. Almost everything is easily accessible by tricyle which can be flagged down by the hotel doorman (at hotel rates) or right outside the hotel gates (just slightly cheaper street rates), including the City tour, Honda Bay, nearby beaches. Tricycles can accommodate 3-4 small-medium sized passengers. Vans can be rented for the Underground River tour which is about 1-2 comfortable hours away. Most transport operators (trikes & vans) appear to be accredited by the Tourism Authorities so they're pretty ethical & trustworthy. The hotel can hook you up with organized tour operators for the Honda Bay, Dos Palmas, Underground River tours. If you like swimming & snorkelling as we do, allot more time for Honda Bay as it's a must see. Asturias was a bit pricier than other hotels but the service was excellent & gracious, and the amenities were good. Local celebs had reportedly stayed here.

Room Tip: Lower floors as its a walk-up =) Overlooking the pool, if you don't mind the occasional noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapinay521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#10 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palawan Uno Hotel
Palawan Uno Hotel
#27 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.2 mi away
One Manalo Place Hotel
One Manalo Place Hotel
#15 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#11 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.8 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#12 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Legend Palawan
The Legend Palawan
#16 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystate Asturias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystate Asturias Hotel

Property: Citystate Asturias Hotel
Address: Km. 3 South National Highway | Tinguiban Heights, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citystate Asturias Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Citystate Asturias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asturias Hotel Puerto Princesa
Citystate Asturias Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing