We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 199 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2013

stayed at this hotel with my family for 4 days and 3 nights. we booked the family room which had a queen-sized bed, a double-decker, a twin bed with two bathrooms. the room was quite spacious for our group of 6 (5 adults and one child). made the booking through agoda and when i contacted the hotel via facebook, i got an immediate confirmation.

beds were okay, sheets were a bit thin but you can always adjust the air-conditioning unit to your preference. there's a mini ref so you can keep your drinks cold. no phone in the room but it takes just a minute to walk to the reception area so this was not an issue at all. also, if you want to have food delivered from outside, there's no corkage fee. the food at the restaurant, however, is good and very affordable so most of the time, we ate here.

the staff was very attentive and would greet you every time they see you. the owner, ms norma, also took the time to talk to us and inquire about our stay. i found out that she was the one who promptly and patiently responded to my numerous requests for confirmation.

the only thing i can complain about are the water heaters in the bathrooms which seem to have a mind of their own. if you set the heater to low heat, it comes out very hot. medium heat was scalding and high heat -- well, i didn't dare try this setting. the water in one bathroom would also come out in fits and starts. we still managed though. also, the staff doesn't clean your room automatically. you have to ask them.

i must say that the rates are reasonable and we got our money's worth and more because the place is just a year old and it looks the way it does in pictures - postcard pretty. it also has a pool with a jacuzzi in which you can laze around all day.

i also booked our underground river and honda bay tours with the hotel. i was told that the rates are cheaper when you arrange it directly with a tour agency but i was more concerned about not being scammed so the extra charges (around P300 more per person ) were not a big deal. our tours went smoothly so i have no complaints.

i just have an issue with some of the tricycle drivers waiting outside the resort. some were out to take you for a ride, figuratively speaking, by overcharging you but there were also those who were nice and honest.

all in all, staying at blue lagoon was a nice experience. would not think twice about staying at this hotel again at all.

Room Tip: don't choose a room beside the pool because if the swimmers are rowdy, you won't sleep a win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 314 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at this hotel. We felt the room was very small and the bed was very hard and tiny for two people. Every morning we woke up with our backs hurting like crazy and we had to turn our bodes at the same time so that we both were as comfortable as possible. The hot water selector was very high and knowing that many Filipinos are not very tall it makes it very hard for them to reach the switch. Bathroom was very small also along with the room and we had two luggages and our back packs. But what was nice with the hotel they arrange tours such as island hopping and the underground river for you. Staff is very friendly but if you need internet the wi-fi was only at the dinning room. The internet was slower than in Cebu. But for the price it is not bad. The pool as very well kept and the ground was maintained. Also the hotel is located very near the airport it took about 5 minutes to get to the airport.

Room Tip: If you can afford a higher priced hotel I would go with that hotel. This hotel is only worth it if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazychuck1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

so thin bed sheet for the good air condition small room so annoying! extra charges for everything as well...staff are friendly,location is convenient,near airport,surroundings are cool with swimming pool, but its very basic no telephone no coffee facilities...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluepearl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I've stayed in other hotels and resort in Puerto Princesa but for me & my family Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites is one of the best in terms of location, rooms, cleanliness, pool, friendliness of their staff & value for money. Plus their restaurant is at par if not better than the other restos in the city. It's an excellent place to relax and enjoy Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chillaxineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you are from Dumaguete or anywhere in Negros Oriental, look for the manager, Ms. Norma who is originally from Dauin. The place is really nice and just right for a short stay in Palawan. Friendly staff. Pool is open from 9am but we requested to swim about 2 hours early and they OK'd. If I'll visit Palawan again and need a place to stay, it has got to be at Blue Lagoons!

Room Tip: choose rooms with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamjakeboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here, efficient check in with good, dedicated staff. Location is very good and close to the airport. There is a very good free shuttle service supplied by hotel van when available.
Rooms are new, clean but small and very basic. No telephone, no tea/coffee facilities and the bathroom can only be described as tiny but functional. Wifi works but is almost too slow to be usable, particularly when doing critical things such as making bookings and paying by card.
Setting of rooms around the pool looks very nice, but unfortunately it makes them extremely noisy too. The hotel has rules on noise, but some inconsiderate guests ignore them. There is supposed to be a silence period 2100-0900, but it is not observed. We were woken early (pre 0600) by persons going on the Underground River trips who had no regard for others. Similarly the same people decided to have late night parties out around the pool, probably because rooms are too small to entertain in.
Unfortunately the Management have seen fit to place notices on Rules and Regulations (most of which are ignored) in all rooms. There are many Do's and Dont's to be observed.
The pool is very nice and well maintained, however space is limited and there are only 4 sunbeds. Also the Pool is unavailable from 2100 until 0900, which more or less precludes an early morning swim if going out for the day.
Also be aware that in this hotel, everything is extra which makes it more expensive than others of the same quality. The restaurant is quite good and Breakfast is reasonably priced, as are the drinks, but some of the other charges are ridiculous.
To advertise itself as a Pool resort and then charge guests 35 pesos for hire of Pool towels is outrageous, similarly asking 60 pesos an hour for use of the single 'open' guest computer is not acceptable.
Summing up, good location, nice staff, noisy, basic and can be expensive.

Room Tip: Don't bother with noisy Pool facing Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is my second time visiting Puerto Princesa in Palawan. To be brief, this visit satisfies my outdoor cravings eventhough the must see sight, the Underground River tour, was cancelled due to bad weather.

My 4 days - 3 nights stay in Palawan is definitely superb (not only because we got to ate at Ka Lui's, Kinabuch's, Palayok at Sandok, etc) simply because of the accommodation. Yup, the accommodation is warm and friendly.



(image from tripadvisor.co.uk, by: honeyntea)

This made up for the lost trip. They can never push through a dangerous trip, they can never erase the fact that the experience needs to be re-booked, but they delivered a great service and warm communication to ease up any disappointment. This made us look forward to part 2 (part 3 for me).

Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites opened just 8-9 months ago. So the challenge of it to be well-maintained is yet to be tested. Improvements are still on going. There is a problem with the phone system for it has none as of now, but management is currently in the process of having one. It left us to expect our part 2 will have an intercom in our room.

Menu so far is still limited and breakfast is not free. So if you are looking for a diverse cuisine course and free breakfast, maybe you should look for other hotel. Besides, food trip is best experience not in the hotel, but in Palawan's well known foodie hang-outs. Free meal doesn't compensate with great accommodation and service. It is expected that Blue Lagoon is developing and improving since it's still on its primal stage.

Tours packages and transportation is well managed, no dull moments. If the front desk is polite and hospitable, the tour coordinator is very attentive and out-going. Entertaining the guests is a must for any hospitality establishments.


(from Blue Lagoon's Hotels.com page)

Of course, the rooms or cottages are very clean and well groomed which will make you relax after each trip you signed in to. Room service is always available, for dinning and for cleaning the room, changing linens and the like.

Accommodation is the key for a satisfied customers. These are the intangibles and they are the foundation of a very good or bad experiences. For me, facilities are secondary, but still essential, so I hope upon our return, improvements has been made and will be felt. I saw some comments that the Blue Lagoon is overrated. And upon reading this I hope people will understand why this is, in Puerto Princesa, a "place to be."

Room Tip: House rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaycee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.6 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#15 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ipil Suites Puerto Princesa
Ipil Suites Puerto Princesa
#21 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#46 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#25 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites

Address: Rizal Avenue ext. Interior, Purok Malaya | Barangay Bancao Bancao, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $22 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a two-minute drive from the airport and five minutes to downtown, perfectly situated within the resto and bar hub of the city, yet away from the bustle of city life, the hotel is ideal for complete serenity and relaxation with our fused Mediterranean-tropical setting of a paradise as you enjoy our amenities especially our swimming pool with outdoor jacuzzi to pamper you as you savor Palawan at its best. Welcome and experience utmost comfort and leisure at Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing