We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the main attraction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puerto Princesa Underground River

Puerto Princesa Underground River
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Amazing Underground River Cruise and Ugong Rock Adventure from Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss the main attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Once you board the makeshift boat you will be heading to a rather remote location with beautiful beaches and serenity. There is a small boardwalk leading to a canoe that will take you into the cave. This is something everyone should witness at least once. The beauty here is phenomenal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,194
    1,279
    503
    117
    50
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great daytrip to an ecological wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Although it is a little bit touristy and you are on a conveyor belt it is really worth visiting, the underground river is fantastic and the guides knowledgeable and humourous. Really enjoyed the trip and have now done 4 of the 7 natural wonders.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigjoey1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“UNEXPECTEDLY AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The serenity of the place is spectacular. Once you enter the cave and finish the tour it makes you appreciate the natural wonder of our environment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ALLANLOVESTOTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

First its scary because of darkness inside the cave but after how minutes of travelling inside the cave i feel amaze in the color of the rocks, the formation and everything inside the cave..

Helpful?
1 Thank Lechar09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but find a decent tour operator”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Underground river itself is an amazing cave structure, well worth a view.
I'm not particularly into caves, and have kind of seen enough of them at this stage, but this one still impressed me.

The one bit I didn't like was the tour operator that we used. We booked it through our hotel in Puerto Princesa ( Grande Vista - nice hotel by the way ).
The bus was fine with A/C.
On the way up, we were brought into Ugong rock, which was not what we had signed up for. There didn't seem to be an option though, either we join that tour or sit in the bus. This tour was not included in the Underground river price we had paid up front, so a little bit of a scam there.
After hiking up the cave, which was nice, if not just another cave, you get to the top, where the views are impressive.
But, then the second scammy element kicks in. You can then either figure some way of going back down, which didn't seem at all pleasant, and against the flow of traffic, or.... as they expected, you can pay the extra to go down on the zipline.
It was all a nice bit of fun, but I didn't like the hidden/scam type element of it.

The other gripe i had with our tour, was that the included lunch was probably the worst food i've ever seen. Lunches on these type of trips are usually ok to fine, but not this time. It was horrible... I'm not a fussy eater, but all i could stomach was some rice and noodles. I wouldn't give the mean elements to my dog !

So overall, yes, see the Underground river, it's cool, but maybe try to figure out which is the best tour operator in advance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank joedumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Princesa Underground River also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 

Been to Puerto Princesa Underground River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing