We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just go!”

Puerto Princesa Underground River
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Amazing Underground River Cruise and Ugong Rock Adventure from Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
manila
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“just go!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is one place where the journey becomes part of the attraction. We had to take a pleasant 2 hour van ride to Sabang passing the Elephant Karst Mountain which is a pleasing sight with its white limestone formation. Upon arrival in Sabang, we rode a colorful fiesta-themed pumpboat to the starting point of the Underground River. Here we had extra time to go around the grounds taking pictures of the monkeys and the different flora and fauna. The boatride to the cave was magical. It seemed Disneylandish but hey, this is real! Our funny guide made the 45 minute tour pass quickly. Unbelievable how the rock formations and the immensity of the cathedral-like central area could make us feel so......little. We felt almost sad to leave the place. Do try the other activities such as the zipline, mangrove boat tour and the ugong rock. We did the zipline and had so much fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mba a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,246
    1,313
    513
    118
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are into caves, stalagmites, stalactites and uhm, bats, well this tour is for you! Even you say you just wanna experience the 1-hour underground river tour, it's worth it. You have a guide that will challenge your imagination while going through a 1.2 km deep with strange and wonderful rock formations around you. Ready your camera, make sure has lights to support the shots.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rizarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The only downside is the wait to board the boat,took over two hours with nothing to do but sit under the cover of rain

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluenote119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great outdoors!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Make sure you make reservations before you get to the site. excellent place to enjoy nature. Sunblock and hats are recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NancyTrecalde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Trias, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must Not Miss! :)”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My first Puerto Princesa visit with hubby was really amazing! We visited the Underground River and we really enjoyed it! There where lots of tourist that day and that was always the scenario as what the staff says. But they handled everyone nicely! The tour guide was really funny! Well.. I heard the other guides saying the same facts about the river and jokes as well, maybe that was their templates already! The cave is full of amazing features! Just sad I did not have a high-tech camera lens to capture those :( All in all, I super love the place! Hope to be back again! :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ImeByahera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Princesa Underground River also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 

Been to Puerto Princesa Underground River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing