We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth The Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth The Money”
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed 1 night in the water cottage. It's big enough for two adults and our 2 small boys aged 4 and 5. The snorkelling sites are superb. That's all we did during our stay there, snorkelling all the time. I did the discover scuba also which is even better, and now I am hooked on to learn scuba diving. The food is plenty and good too. The staff are helpful and friendly. Especially the snorkel/dive guides. They accompanied the boys for snorkelling and played with them, and it freed us to snorkell on our own. Well worth the money as you are able to check in early in the morning and check out the next day at late afternoon. You only need to pay for the extra lunch at 720 peso/per person. The swimming pool and other facilities would not make you bored. The whole island is very well taken care. We will come back if we ever visit Puerto Princesa again.

Eddy
Indonesia

  • Liked — The whole place
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmungar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    220
    66
    16
    7
See reviews for
151
184
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Actually this is the second time we went there for a day tour, as usual no improvement on their buffet lunch.

Maybe on tight budget from the management perhaps!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We just came from Dos Palmas and everything was perfect. Its a good alternative from the other resorts in Palawan which are more popular. Dos Palmas is worth the visit. Service and Food was very good. They give attention to every detail that the guest would need.

  • Liked — Nice room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank guideme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We made our reservation at this resort for our last summer trip, just in time before the stormy months came. We were very excited and jittery as we didn’t know what to expect. After all, there weren’t that many reviews about this hotel so we had very little pre-conceived notion of what this trip is going to be like.

The weather and the plane ride were perfect especially for my husband who’s a little afraid of plane rides. We arrived at the super busy Puerto Princesa airport and we’re greeted by a guest relations officer from Dos Palmas. He took us to the bus that took us to the wharf where the boat that took us to Dos Palmas was…whew! After 55 minutes on the boat we arrived at the beautiful Dos Palmas Resort and Spa where we were warmly greeted by the staff singing and playing native Philippine instruments.

Okay, now for the resort review.

There are 2 types of accommodations- the newly built Garden and the infamous Beach Cottages. All cottages are air-conditioned with a veranda which provides a great view of the outdoors, perfect for those in a pensive mood. We stayed in a garden cottage which for me is a better choice. The garden cottages are newly built while the beach cottages although have a nicer view of the bay looks a bit rundown. What’s also good to know is that the beach cottages are very close to the arrival/departure area where there are always a lot of people. The welcoming band is also in the arrival/departure area; their music is good but might also be distracting if you’re a beach cottage resident especially if you’re the type who wants a peaceful and quiet vacation time.

The garden cottages (duplex type) are labeled from A-J. Tip, get a cottage that’s closest to the pool/restaurant area, that means cottages A-E, much better if you get a cottage A. The others are quite distant and require a lot of walking or biking time. We got a cottage J (ugh!) initially but we asked to be transferred as we had some room issues which we understood because most of the garden cottages were still being constructed. We were transferred to cottage C the day after due to room availability.

The garden cottage has 1 king-size bed and 1 double bed. The sofa can also double as a bed as it is flat and huge. The room is clean and smells fresh. The bathroom is spacious and we loved the rain-shower head with both hot and cold water. They also provide a complete set of toiletries made from organic materials. They even use organic materials for their laundry soap.

The one thing that separates this resort from all the resorts I’ve been to is the staff’s hospitality. I talked to the Operations Manager specifically to give the staff especially the restaurant staff a commendation. The staff will make you feel welcome and at home.

The resort is huge so be very patient if it takes the staff some time to respond to room delivery/requests.

The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner are also very good. Not a single viand got served twice the whole time we were there. We also had a picnic lunch in another island (Isla Putting Buhangin) where grilled food was served. Just be careful when eating seaweeds, my stomach ached after eating a few strands. Well, I was hungry and that was the first dish I chewed on so there. We had our dinner in the garden area near the pool on our last night. That was awesome especially with the pianist playing romantic song while people are dining. Kind of reminds me of a garden wedding setup. Really beautiful!

Since there was no TV set in the room we thought that we’d get bored and run out of things to do in the resort but we were wrong. There are so many things that can be done like have a massage, play billiards, table tennis, darts and videoke. You of course can go swimming in the pool or the beach. You can play water sports like ride the Banana boat, go kayaking or snorkel with the fishies and the corals. You can also chill out by the beach on the beach cabanas, beach chairs or the hammock. The best thing about all these? You can do everything for free! They’ll even provide you the equipments that you need. Never ever leave the resort without going snorkeling once or even twice!

The resort is truly picturesque so make sure that you bring your camera charger and an extra memory card because I’ll bet you’ll need it.

The only bad thing about this trip was that the resort staff lost out plane itinerary/receipt. They offered to help us book our flight back home and we agreed (who wouldn’t?) and so we had to give them our itinerary/receipt. They told us that everything was taken cared of the day before we left and we were comfortable. We only found out that our itinerary/receipt was missing when we were already in the airport. I was furious! Good thing is that I brought an extra copy because if not, we would have missed our flight. Tip, take care of your own return flight, you’ll stand in line and do the usual but that’ll only take a few minutes. Better that than miss a flight.

Overall, our Dos Palmas experience was great! Better than I ever thought it would be.

  • Liked — food, pool, beach, staff hospitality, snorkelling, room cleanliness, spa
  • Disliked — staff lost our plane itinerary/receipt
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank miss_asia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabanatuan city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2008

hi future visitors of dos palmas! ive been there last week together with my hubby. we stayed ther for 3d2n. at first i thought puerto princesa would be a very boring place to stay for next few days, but not until we got a glance of the island itself. being the 2nd to the last island, where u have to take sea travel for almost an hour, the hotel barge fetching guest from wharf. it was a very warm welcome from personnels of the resort, from the kayak boys throwing petals on the barge, welcome drink, and a serenade of local songs....breath taking view of long strech white sand, crystal clear water, it was truly a magnificent place if u guys wanted to have a time to chill, away from career related stress. it was a great expirience, really wonderful and accomodating staff. sumptuous meals served with wide variety of choices from local to international cuisine. exhilarating view of island itself,and even underwater. ul be having a chance to expirience scuba diving, a fantastic adventure offered by the hotel.spa, snorkling.. name it, they have it. the best part is. its free!!! do it all day, anytime u want, as long as u want!!!! it was truly a great moment to unwind and chill. instead of bora, i would personally recommend dos palmas if u wanted some quiet time wit ur loved ones!!! ciao friends!!

  • Liked — the food!!! their great!!
  • Disliked — theres no tv, sometimes no cp signal
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cutiecathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We spent at Dos Palmas our Easter break....and it was a last minute choice! The place is nice, the beach and the sea wonderful...but that's merit of Mother Nature!
I would define our experience at Dos Palmas as the last minute trap! It was the only resort available in Puerto Princesa during the 4 days break. To be honest I was not very keen on going after I read some (not so good) reviews from foreigners on this website...but, I thought, it may not be worse than Manila during Easter! So we went. We did not experience any particular problem with transportation to and from the airport and the resort was quite nice overall. The problem is the management! We stayed at the Bay Cottage which in the room category is the most expensive. The premises are nice and the price we paid was about $200 per night! So you would expect these rooms to be quietly located and very calm...no! The 10 Bay Cottages are exactly close to the little port for all the boats and bancas coming in and out the resort. In addition the resort has the nice tradition of welcoming all guests by playing drums and other instruments. Besides, these instruments are left there all day long so even if there are no new guests coming either the staff or other guests waiting for their boat to go snorkeling or diving may enjoy themselves by playing drums....So you can well imagine how noisy the bay cottages actually are! no peace, no quiet! Boat can wake you up as early as 6 or 7 am and people can play drums all day long!!!! It was a nigthmare!!!! And the management does not seem to notice it all!
Other shortcoming: the food!!! there is no variety at all you only get filipino food and very bad quality international food (pasta) is provided. There is no customer orientation and zero flexibility: you pay $200 a night but you cannot get a cappuccino (machine is broken) or hot milk....(why???).
To sum up: Dos Palmas may be a magnificent experience for nationals, but foreigners do not get value for money: they are charged twice the price but.... I told you what you get!
before going think twice.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lillipuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

With the mixed reviews I read, I was very apprehensive about my holiday at Dos Palmas Arreceffi Island Resort, but after experiencing the warm native welcoming ceremony upon our arrival, I had a feeling my fears would prove to be unfounded.

The staff was courteous and polite, and very accommodating of special requests. Response time to calls was also very good.

The cottages were sparse but clean. It's a bit strange not to have television sets in the room, since when foul weather occurs, that would be an easy way to keep the kids entertained.

The full on-board meals were excellent, with a good variety - few items were repeated during our 3 day stay.

The rental of kayaks and snorkeling equipment is free, and provides hours of fun for the entire family. We also had a complimentary "Discover Diving" introductory course, and the marine life we encountered near the docks immediately after our brief pool orientation was truly fascinating.

The resort also has a very relaxing spa that offers a traditional Filipino "hilot" massage at a very reasonable price. It's the perfect way to end the day after hours of in-the-water activities.

By the way, the renovations the other reviews mentioned as the main reason their stay wasn't pleasant? All done. It's too bad that the resort chose to stay open for business during those repair months, as they resulted in horrendous feedback, most of which is unjustified when you look at the resort after the renovations were completed. Right now this is a beautiful getaway location that's a lot cheaper than other high-end alternatives in Palawan.

  • Liked — The free diving introduction
  • Disliked — The long walk from our cottage to the pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank malupit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
14.4 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
471 reviews
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
243 reviews
107.4 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
7.8 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#15 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
203 reviews
90.6 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa

Property: Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Address: Arrecife Island, Honda Bay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmas Island Hotel Puerto Princesa
Dos Palmas Island Resort And Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing