We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Super Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed there for 3 Nights. 1 and half hour drive from the wharf is very exciting since i'd never experience that. The front desk (Marvin-Ashley) that welcomed us is really accommodating. Well versed in English, an advantage since my boyfriend is not familiar with the local language. As we arrived there, the welcome music and drinks is amazing. The whole process of checking in is quick. The room is clean and smells good but i hope next time, television in each will be available. Wifi is not really good but its not a big problem since we brought our own wifi device. The comfort room is clean though the water is salty. Staff is really great especially Ashley-Marvin, John and Abe. These people deserve a raise. We'll be there again.

Room Tip: Make a call before paying so that you could have the nearest room in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkkkk_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 534 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed with my wife @ Jan 22-24 2014. The island resort is photogenic, got nice view of the ocean and they have a good snorkeling site 5 minutes away from the main resort. Resort staff was overly pampering and very attentive to our needs. A good place to unwind and disconnect from the busy metro life. Got a beautiful pool also.

Room Tip: Get the executive (x) rooms. Larger rooms with TV and the nearest to the pool and the dining area. X...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We had our honeymoon here and we stayed for three nights. This island is paradise. We really enjoyed our stay here especially the island hopping and snorkeling. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was delish, their infinity pool was pretty nice too. We will surely recommend this to anyone wanting to totally detach themselves from the city.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Phoebe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Firstly, don't use this review to judge an overnight stay, as we only opted for the day trip option.
Secondly i hope the hotel Admin will take on this feedback to make changes.
The evening before we were told to be ready at 7am, and our vouchers said be ready 15 minutes before pick up time. So my elderly mum and the two of us had an early breakfast and were ready from 6.45. We were the first pick up, and the van arrived about 7.15. No issues with being a little late even if we were the first pick up. But then we were taken to a stop at the shopping centre and began to wait outside for additional trippers. As we began to play guess the nationality of the tardy guests, we then discover they are not tardy at all... Their pick up time was 8am! So we were ready at 6.45am to drive literally 5 minutes so we could sit in a stationary van for nearly an hour! Hardly the five star treatment you expect from what is supposed to be one of the Philippines most exclusive resorts...
The boat trip across is fine, taking you on a route you may duplicate on the Honda bay tour. Security is noticeable because of the famous incident of more than a decade ago, but not obtrusive. Don't expect any five star treatment on the boat - no refreshing drink is served our cooling towel - this is just a shuttle. The team on board are very polite and courteous.
Upon arrival, you stay on the boat to receive a quick orientation. I noted there was no mention of the gardens that had been listed as one of the attractions... When I asked, we got some instructions, only to find out the gardens are really several flower beds outside the villas... Rather exaggerated to call them gardens! A bit disappointing as this was one of the reasons I chose the tour.
Never mind, we can relax on the sun beds, right? Kind of, but believe it or not, this five star resort doesn't provide cushions! You are expected to lie on the bare wooden slats of the sun bed... Or you can hire a towel, as was suggested... How many towels do you need to hire to compensate for a lack of any cushion? We tried our best, but turning over to tan the back was simply too uncomfortable.
We retired to the cabanas where several cushions are provided in the shade.
The food was quite good but basic, no real cooking skills involved and below the standard met in a number of eateries back in PP town - not an extravaganza, but it offered a small buffet of three mains, one plain dessert and pineapple... We had heard that the food was amazing. Not the case for the day trippers though. Good but nothing remarkable.
You can use snorkeling equipment, sea kayaks for free which is a plus. And bikes... This is a really small island, and half is "guests not allowed", so the bikes are pretty pointless. Day trippers are not allowed to use the pool or the main restaurant.
The boat returns at 4.15, so you are pestered to be at the boat for 3.45... so you can wait some more.
The island itself is a pleasant and very quiet spot. Personally, I would choose between this trip and the Honda bay one, but wouldn't recommend both as we did. As for staying on the island, I can't really comment, except if you have been to Maldives, Seychelles or Caribbean, you should lower your expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnni147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

It was my first time in Palawan last May 2013 and glad to have stayed at dos palmas.

I took the island hopping tours and discover scuba diving provided by the resort and enjoyed it immensely having seen for my self the richness of the underwater of Palawan. In fact, the waters near the shore of the resort boast of corals and underwater creatures already.

The restaurant and the rooms were a bit worn out and definitely need improvements.

The staff was very accommodating. We had a karaoke jamming arranged by the resort upon request.

Overall the resort was pleasant and very much worth the expense.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank EllenR1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed only a night in this Resort last January 2014 because they were booked out. I must admit it's a real pity that we could only stayed for a night. My Family and I enjoyed our stayed a lot! The staff are most friendly and most helpful. The Feeling of being in an Island is just priceless, away from all the hassles and bustles of City life. It's the best way to end a 2 weeks Holiday. It was just soooo Relaxing.
The only downside of this Hotel is; I think the rooms are not that well kept. I think some repainting and a bit of maintenance it would shine and look like new again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MyleneKern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and 5 days in January 2014. Takes about an hour to get on the island with the hotel boat service. Check process was very quick and we were promptly shown to our room. We upgraded our room to the executive and it was well worth it. The room was huge with two large beds, a separate living room with TV and DVD player. We had a huge private balcony overlooking the beach. The washroom was large with separate tub and shower. Room had plenty of cabinet space for clothes for 3. Pool area is very nice with a unique design to the pool. They have a small boat that takes you to a platform for snorkelling every 30 minutes. The snorkelling was very good, corral right off the island provided for plenty of things to see. They were very family accommodating with the snorkelling and provided plenty of in water guides to show you around. The guides were very friendly and helpful, our son Ralph had a blast with Manny! Breakfast buffet was pretty decent. The regular food menu was pretty limited, they could use some more selection given this is the only place to eat on the island. Dinner buffet seemed to be hit and miss, some days it was really good and some days it was just OK. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eztodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
14.4 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#10 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
528 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
19.6 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#11 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
260 reviews
11.1 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
765 reviews
40.7 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa

Address: Arrecife Island, Honda Bay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $129 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmas Island Hotel Puerto Princesa
Dos Palmas Island Resort And Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing