We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The transfer (boat trip only) takes around 1hr 15mins, and the ferry port is around 20 to 30 mins from the airport.

Staff made something of a mess of our collection and delivery to the ferry port (from a hotel in the city) but we got there eventually (after a few phone calls to remind them we were waiting).

Generally speaking it’s a nice peaceful setting, rooms are very spacious/clean, and come with a good AC unit, and a well-stocked mini bar.

The bathroom was large with a lovely open shower.

There are no TV's in the rooms, and wifi only available at the restaurant (and the signal/reception was poor at best).

The pool is great, most certainly the highlight. As another reviewer commented, a bar in the pool would be a great addition, all the same staff are happy to bring drinks over to you.

Kayaks are provided free of charge, which is a nice touch, and there are many activities to try (though I didn't do so, and can't therefore comment on the quality of things such as the tennis courts etc).

I was very disappointed at what was an extremely limited menu. My friend and I stayed 2 nights, meaning around 5 or 6 meals, but by lunch on day 2 I faced the prospect of having the same as the previous day. I didn't bother with breakfast, but was assured I made the right decision.

A live band played very briefly one evening in an area in front of the restaurant, but had finished by around 8 to 8.30pm.

There is a TV in the bar area, and a large screen which shows several movies every evening which was a good idea, certainly for the youngsters. However, once the movies have finished, and most of the locals have finished supper the main 'entertainment' area dies, and we found ourselves alone at the bar by 10pm on the 2 evenings we were there.

I generally found the staff to be very friendly, and very helpful, most of whom couldn't do enough for you.

All in all it wouldn't be an understatement though to say the resort has seen better days, there are numerous areas that have fallen into disrepair, and a good coat of paint would make a big big difference in several areas.

The pool tables look about 80yrs old, and the flooring around them looks ready to give way at any time.

It’s an all too familiar scene I'm afraid, and whilst they will no doubt rigorously deny it, it seems clear management don't give a damn, and if they do why has a resort that has such potential (and was no doubt beautiful back its heyday) been allowed to fall into its current state.

It’s fair to say the cottages and pool are top grade, that I can't deny, but I'm afraid everything else (including the cottages on stilts in the photos) have been left to basically rot away, and it really does ruin the experience, not to mention spoil the view.

And having paid USD150 a night (per room), I again find myself paying western prices for a resort offering a predominantly local menu, and a limited one at that.

I'd have to say I think its overpriced for what it now is, and I'd have to be assured of some great improvements before returning, but we made the most of it and had a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: The 'beach view' is only applicable to the houses/cottages nearest to the swimming pool, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 548 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location with picturesque beaches. I often felt like I was the only one in the resort when walking the beach as there was no one else around. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Saw a very large monitor lizard walking around, a tiny garden snake and there is a colorful parrot flying around the grounds.

The scuba diving is good but I felt a it was overpriced at P2200 per fun dive, though each dive I did was a solo dive with just an instructor. There are 4 dive locations around the island and a sunken plane that you can snorkel over. Quite a bit of marine life. Good snorkeling too for those who don't dive.

The restaurant food is good and the bar mixes up tasty cocktails.

Beach cottages are spacious with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AyeEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the beachfront room A5 for 2 nights. It's very quiet at night if you wanna get a great rest and sleep. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The snorkeling and kayaking is for free. Make sure you do the kayaking, they have a specific area for kayaking, it's amazing to see the reefs if you are not a confident swimmer like me. And since the restaurant itself is open-air space, the flies are definitely a HUGE problem when you are dining, they are kinda stuck with you and your food forever. However, the food in the restaurant is great, but kinda way too expensive i suppose. Last, the beach is not actually perfect for swimming or playing around, because there are too many sea-grass growing and spreading all over the coast and beach. The perfect watering spot will be near the pier.

Room Tip: Any room in 2F really gets a better view and privacy. 1F has its own unbeatable advantage, that is y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jyrpa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and i enjoyed our stay in dos palmas.
The rooms were clean and i liked that our room didnt have a television so we could maximize our stay--
activities: i loved their island activities (tennis, biking, snorkeling, scuba diving, swimming, etc).. Our diving instructor was also very helpful and patient. It was our first time to try scuba diving and he was more than patient to answer all our endless questions..
The spa (1 1/12 hr of traditional hilot massage) was very relaxing, perfect for honeymooners :)
When we went to the nearby island for lunch on our 2nd day, we also enjoyed spending time with the baby pawikans (philippine endangered sea turtles) and releasing them into the sea was really a great experience...

Food: i loved their buffet... Name it ..breakfast, lunch, dinner (love all the seafood esp the shrimps and steak) even the food they prepared during our island day tour... I think i gained so much weight during our 3d 2n stay at dos palmas...

Overall this place is highly recommended... I suggest though that u really stay in the resort and not take any tours outside-- puerto princesa since it may take awhile to travel to and from the island..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank give_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

the reason why i cant give dos palmas a 4 is because the resort needs renovation in several areas: dive center lockers, bathrooms and dressing rooms are in serious need for renovation. the rooms/cottages over the water is not repaired and no construction activity going on. there are some other huts that stands above the water to one side of the beach is also dilapidated. the foosball and pool tables needs to be changed.

the clubhouse/dining area is good. the pool and beach are nice. food is actually nice. not great but very good for hotel standards. the whole fish they served at the beachfront lunch buffet was good. food prices were not s expensive as expected in a island resort, and that's a plus.

i did some snorkeling and there were nice corals. i was expecting the water to be clearer though, but the cloudy water might have been caused by heavy rains the night before our trip to dos palmas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank al22tecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Checked in overnight just to see how this placed looked like since we heard so much about Dos Palmas way back when we were still small children that we wanted to try it out ourselves.

Transfers were smooth as the hotel itself arranged for private pickups from our city hotel to the wharf where a medium sized boat(90 pax capacity) was waiting for us to board. We noticed how serious they were with regards to security as they had bomb sniffing dogs checked our luggage before we sailed out but definitely its a good thing for guests like us so that we can have a peace of mind.

Travel time was about 1 hour and the view was lovely as we passed by cowrie island, pambato reef, luli island and other islands where we had our island hopping the other day.

Arrival experience was great as we were greeted by guest service agents who ushered us to the resort upon arrival. There was an ethnic band playing music while they were giving out welcome drinks. Check in was very smooth and the front desk was very informative about the facilities inside the resort. I was amazed that they were also offering us a free island hopping to a nearby puting buhangin island free of charge but we opted to do kayaking as we haven't tried it before. Much of the facilities were free like kayak, snorkeling, island hopping, swimming pool, tennis, billiards, table tennis and basketball.

Although the resort has aged a bit but still it has this romantic feeling of being away from the hustle of the busy city life. Would definitely come back when we have time and would recommend to our friends. Worth the trip!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harveychua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The island itself is beautiful. The rooms are clean and rather comfortable. Food is good. Service is good. Good snorkelling spots right in front of the resort. The facilities could be improved and renovated. Can get crowded when you have lots of day visitors. Prices are competitive. Very accessible from Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
14.4 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#11 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
582 reviews
15 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#5 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
341 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
6.3 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#8 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
291 reviews
40.7 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa

Address: Arrecife Island, Honda Bay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $135 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmas Island Resort And Spa
Dos Palmas Island Hotel Puerto Princesa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing