We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tons of fun- a great place :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tons of fun- a great place :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Dos Palmas for the weekend of my birthday. Truthfully I was apprehensive when I saw some of the reviews here. Boy were we PLEASANTLY SURPRISED!

Yes, the place is a bit older, but we found the rooms to be large and clean, beds comfy, and bathrooms rustic and great! The views around the island were breathtaking, and the pool area was lovely.

I was surprised mostly by the comments about the food. Everything we ordered was great- we stuck to the Filipino dishes and the fresh seafood, and were not disappointed. The food aslo came out quite fast, and we never waited more than 15 minutes. Special requests were accommodated, even if we asked for stuff off the menu. The service was also fabulous- on the night of my birthday, the staff even prepared a beautiful private dinner set up on the beach and we dined as the sun was setting. Big cheers to waitress Anne- who personally took care of us, bartender Rey, and resort manager Emi.

All in all we had a wonderful experience- and would recommend this to friends, and would be back.

Room Tip: Try to get the cottages numbered A, B or X for the best views, and closest to the action
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InesC413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    213
    63
    16
    7
See reviews for
145
180
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
qc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Looking at its website, you will see on a top view a very beautiful island with lost of trees, clear water and white sand. I was so excited for our day tour as it's my first time to visit this very popular island. It's almost an hour boat ride from the wharf. I was viewing all the islands on the way until our boat came to a gradual stop. I just then figured we're already in Dos Palmas and it was not what I expected! The actual place is different from the photos on the website - talking about the power of advertising! ...A resort staff entered our boat and briefed us on what we should expect on a day tour. Entering the main resort, we were welcomed by a singing local group. We were then led to the reception area to get our welcome drinks - just bigger than a shot glass but quenching enough.

Major parts of the day tour package - snorkeling, kayaking and free buffet lunch. I guess you'll get the most out of of the first two. I enjoyed the snorkeling very much! Our local marine tour guide (I think his name is Ronald) was very nice and cool. Most of us in the group don't know how to swim but he motivated us all and assured us we'll still enjoy snorkeling even w/o swimming skills. He led and showed us to the biggest clam in the area. Using our goggles and snorkeling gear, viewing the sea was like being inside a big aquarium! Visitors enjoy kayaking as well. They have a bordeline on up to where you can kayak but some still went beyond the line.

One downside of the day tour is the buffet lunch. My friend who used to do day tour here says the food was great but I don't agree now. Only 3 dishes - fish (didnt taste good), pork bbq and chicken inasal. Something I can also eat in other local resto. The rest - seaweeds, watermelon and green mango w/ bagoong sauce. Since day trippers get to stay very short, better if Dos Palmas include more unique and specialty dishes on the menu so they will be enticed to come back and stay longer. Limited menu dishes obviously show discrimination on day trippers.

The changing / shower rooms should be upgraded and separated! The shower room is also your changing room???..It is very uncomfortable to change to your clean clothes with your feet stepping on wet and muddy tiles! Everything about the shower rooms need a major make over - door, tiles, walls, windows, name it! There are only 3 indoor shower rooms and 1 shower isn't working. There are 3 outside showers but female guests won't be able to wash themselves well unless they are brave enough to take off their clothes in public!

What you can appreciate much in this island are the local marine tour guides! They are so passionate in assisting their guests w/ all the water activities and they will even volunteer to take your photos! They know how to make your stay much memorable. If you're afraid to snorkel or kayak, they will motivate you so you can make the best out of your stay especially on a day tour which lasts only for 6 hours.

Overall, they need to improve physically and aesthetically. Or else, they will be left behind by other new island resorts. Dos Palmas is Dos Palmas, if they want to retain their popularity, they should keep up to their image of being a world-class that is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serendipity1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujairah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days and 2 nights. Accomodation was perfect and setting was amazing. The only things thats let the place down is Restaurant services, each time we waited for our food was 35 minutes to an hour. The prices were extortionate as its a captive audience so be prepared to pay high prices for basic foods. My wife and i are qualified experienced divers and booked for 3 dives during our stay. The Dive prices are rediculously high and not really professional. The Spa is something that should be used. Awesome staff and very satisfying

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife, son and I recently visited Palawan for the first time and were excited about our week stay at Dos Palmas. We started our experience being picked up in an old van in front of the Dos Palmas"s office. We were poorly greeted by the driver ( did not say hello or look us in the eye) directed us to sit at the back of the bus that was filled with hotel workers and friends of the driver. The van was crammed with hotel workers, a cage of birds, boxes etc. The driver stopped at a local florist for 10 minutes while we cooked in the back of the van, then proceeded to another hotel to pickup more hotel staff or friends. After one an hour and thirty minutes on the road we arrived at the wharf to take the boat to Dos Palmas.
We arrived to the SHOCK of a run down group of cabins perched on the ocean at the end of the wharf that hand not been occupied for years. The sign for the hotel that greets you is a wreck and has not been painted in years. This is from a BAD movie!!!
WOW - what have we got ourselves into!!!
We knew this was the hotel that terrorists kidnapped 20 tourists and beheaded 2 in 2001 - but we figured that the hotel was back to it's former glory based on the quality pictured on the website - WRONG!! It is all smoke and mirrors!!!! I guess there is NO quality controls at the Ministry of Tourism in Palawan.
We were then taken to our room which was nothing special only to find out that there is no television and NO internet!!!! Yikes!!!!
We were told that they have WiFi near the reception are only and that it only functions 1/3 of the time. FREAKOUT!! What were we to do????
My wife is the director of 4 hospitals and needs to have contact with her work. I own my own company and have to stay in touch during holidays as well !!! Who would have figured that in this day in age when you book yourself in the only so called higher end hotel in Palawan that they are not connected to the Internet!!
The food was - bland and would be rank as a 2 star experience at best. Oh please also excuse the rats running around the dinning room - no I am not kidding.
All the buildings were run down and desperately in need of paint and repairs. We think the place has not been maintained in many years.
The gardens were dead or burnt out!!!! Depressing!!!!!!

The only thing good about the stay was snorkelling and the swimming pools.

I asked to see a manager for bad service in the dinning room....waited 45 minutes for our bad meal - but no manager ever came.

You get a feeling that there is NO ONE in charge of talking care of this sad hotel!!!

PLEASE BEWARE!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Nothing is worth the $$$ at Dos Palmas - do not go!!! We had a GREAT time everywhere else in Palawa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Johnwattup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Service was excellent from the time we booked our trip directly with them. Our airport/boat transfers were efficiently facilitated by the resort and I appreciated the effort they took to help us maximize our enjoyment of the recreational activities available, complete with dive guides, unlimited snorkeling (not to mention the fantastic coral reefs and marine life!) and organized island hopping. The resort is well maintained and is notably engaged in environmental conservation. Only con is the limited menu available in the restaurant, although each dish that we ordered for 4 days were deliciously prepared (had to repeat some of them). Also, no wifi in the rooms, and signal quite weak even in the common areas. All in all I highly recommend the place and will surely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenmd_ent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you're looking for fun activities while on a vacation, this is not the place for you. The resort is so secluded that an hour boat ride is needed to get in and out of the island. But if you want a serene and quiet place to rest and relax and cut yourself off from the outside world, this is the right place for you.

The accommodations rubbed me off the wrong way though. I placed my booking thru Agoda.com which I believe is a trusted and reliable site. After a few days, a marketing officer emailed me the details and asked me about my special requests which they will try to accommodate as much as possible. Since I am with my parents who are both senior citizens, I requested for a room that is situated nearest the beach. So as to save them the trouble of walking far. Since I placed my booking almost 4 months in advance, I believed that my request will be granted since I never received an email denying my request. Lo and behold, when we got to the resort, I discovered that we were given rooms which are on the FARTHEST end of the resort! Yes, they do provide shuttle service to bring us from our room to the restaurant, front desk area and swimming pool area. BUT still, it was quite a hassle.

Food.... not much options to choose from. I liked the ham and pineapple pizza though as well as the seafood soup cooked with coconut milk.


For the trigger happy camera toting folk, not much to take pictures of. But be sure to wake up really early at least one morning to catch the sunrise. It's spectacular. And the best place to get a good pic is the pier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripko4978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Been here twice and the snorkelling is still awesome. We saw coral/bahura, a box fish, (babies of) giant clams, some kind of ray that swam off very fast, loads of starfish. Didnt see the puffer on this trip tho. Albert was an excellent dive guide and photographer rolled in one, both in and out of the water! Resort is well appointed and day trippers have almost the same access to resort facilities, except for the pool. But then again, why go island hopping to swim in a pool? Buffet lunch was adequate, food selection could be better with tastier seafood. Grilled Squid was the best! Drinks were reasonable for our own happy hour apres lunch. Beach Cabanas could be added. And parts of the beach could be cleared for a non-mangrovey swim. Dont get me wrong, i truly appreciate the mangroves and im all for conservation, but its really no fun swimming in the mangroves. If you dont like hopping from one Honda Bay island to another, this is a better, and more restful alternative if you can get a cabana with beach loungers. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Didnt get a room so i cant comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapinay521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
14.4 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
14.6 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#7 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
7.8 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#14 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa

Property: Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Address: Arrecife Island, Honda Bay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmas Island Hotel Puerto Princesa
Dos Palmas Island Resort And Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing