We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but takes 3 types of transpo to get to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place but takes 3 types of transpo to get to”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The place was nice but you have to ride a plane, bus/car and boat to get here. You can do some snorkeling, kayaking or just swim in their pools. The rooms are great as well, but those who need internet connection will have to go to the dining area to get access. If you need some quiet time and have the money to splurge on it, go here:)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    217
    66
    16
    7
See reviews for
148
183
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Dos Palmas Resort is a tropical paradise in Honda Bay, Puerto Princesa. The resort is absolutely wonderful. Facilities are free. Food is fresh and plenty and fabulous (all meals are buffet). The staff is super accommodating. The rooms are large and comfortable.

In short, it has got to be one of the best resorts I've been to. The catch, however, is that you have to pay A LOT to stay there. I was only able to go because it was sponsored :) Nevertheless, I think I'd like to go back someday (even with the hefty price).

TIPS:
1) I would recommend the place for anybody who wants to have a great time. The place is OK for group outings, for couples, for solo trips... because the resort is huge and you can do so much.
2) Make sure to go snorkelling. It's FREE! The guys from the resort will have you take a speed boat to go to a very nice reef with many corals and fishes. They provide snorkeling gear too. Make sure to try this because the reefs in Honda Bay are getting destroyed... and Dos Palmas has one of the few that still remain beautiful.
3) I highly recommend the spa. It's very affordable :)
4) Kayaking is a must-try. It's a bit of a challenge if you want to go around the entire island, because of the current.... but I heard some people were able to do it. My friend and I gave up midway... but that didn't stop us from having fun.
5) For Filipinos.... the videoke is free!!! :)
6) Be prepared to gain weight. The food is really really REALLY good... and all meals are buffet. I can guarantee anybody that they will gain weight after a stay in Dos Palmas.
7) The resort package includes everything, so you might be surprised why the price is so high. Airport transfers, boat transfer, buffet for all meals, rooms, facilities, etc is included in the price.

Overall, I really liked the place :) It's very nice, and I'd like to be back someday :)

Room Tip: Choose a room that's closer to the facilities. Rooms that are far out are a bit of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmabello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We didn't stay at this resort overnight. We took the day trip the resort promotes. At a cost of $150 for two adults and a 2yr old the price is equivalent to a day pass at Disneyland. Although the buffet lunch was good you would not enjoy it if you didn't like seafood. The resort appears neglected. Everthing needs to be repainted. The children's playground looked rundown and the steps leading to the slide was completely broken off. The beach chairs made of wood had no cushions on them. The pool had no bar.

In the 6 hours we were there you could not see a single guest. The only people you ever saw were the ones who came on the day tour. The resort looked eerily deserted. And to make it even stranger the cheapest rooms sold for $450!! The resort really looked like a 3-star resort. I can't think anyone in their right mind would spend that kind of money at this resort, not when you could get a room at the luxurious Shangri-la in Boracay for the same price. Save your money and take a day trip out to Pandan island for a third of the price!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We decided to take a day trip out to this resort complex for Php2500 each. It is one hour out from Puerto Princesa by boat on a private island. The day did not start out well, as the company forgot to pick us up. After waiting by the side of the road for more than an hour (from 7:00-8:15 AM), we called and they told us there had been a glitch and they would get us three hours after the planned pick up time. They did offer us a Php500 credit to be used when we finally arrived, because of the mix up, and the fact that we would have much less time at the resort.
Upon arrival, the first thing we noticed was that the place seems a bit run down. There is a lot of repair work to be done on buildings that are getting weather worn. We also noticed that the bungalows over the water were closed and not being used. The day tour included a quite well prepared lunch, but the beaches were not that spectacular, so we chose not to swim. They do have a beautiful pool, but they charge day guests to use it. We decided to use our voucher for massages instead. The message was excellent.
One of the reasons for the day visit was to check the resort out for a future stay. We decided that there were better places to stay in the Philippines for Php22,000 per day and decided that Dos Palmas would not be on a future trip itinerary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest South England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days, . My wife and and I were coming to the end of a wonderful holiday in and around the Philippines ,we were travelling with other friends and familly two of which live and work in Manila,and they recommended this hotel as being "very nice, it will be a treat" ,we just wanted to finish off with a few days in luxury on the beach.

First off all we were asked to arrive at Honda bay dock for 12.00 noon for transfer to the island ,then to be told to wait until 2.00pm,go visit the town in 35 degrees. At the price we were paying to stay,I would expect to be ferried across straight away ,this was not forth coming so we had no choice but to make our own way hiring an alternative boat at £35.00 for the pleasure.It then turned out that there was no way my account would be credited for the ferry .

I expected a lot more for £300.00 incl Tax per night , In the philippines this is very expensive. how do they warrant that price,? I must add first of all the food was very good and the staff charming.which was the saving grace of this place .
This hotel is mascarading as something it is not .
1. The hotel was in the middle of re furbishing, not mentioned on booking, It turns out that the rooms on stilts in the water have been taken out of use since 2009!!
2.The eating hall was dark the tables rusting no linen ,very large noisy portable fans all around,mainly to blow all the birds away
3.green tarpauling covering the walk way from the reception .
4.The bar was very tired with a large TV on all day mostly for the staff to watch
5.In the public areas also were two very prominant dart boards a football table and other games ,not the sort of things I would expect to see in this priced hotel
6.I was also very disapointed at the only choice to eat was from a buffet no a la carte restaurant
7.no bar /beverage service around the beach/pool area
8.Sun beds very uncomfortable no sign of mattresses
9.The walk ways around the hotels public areas in desperate need of replacing as most of it was breaking up
10.The advertised lap pool was untiled and deviod of water
and on and on I could go .
All I wanted to do was treat ourselves .
This hotel was shockingly, vastly overpriced for what it actually delivered.My business is in hospitality and in my opinion this hotel should warrant only 3 star at best and half the cost until it can be re-furbished properly and brought back to the standard it would like to portray itself as being.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Friendliest staff always willing to serve you all the time. Rooms are spacious enough to hold 4 adults comfortably. Villas are by beach. Corals are indescribably beautiful. Would suggest more activities at night Food was so good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Penny4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had our company outing last November in Dos Palmas. And I can say that it's a wonderful place to stay in. From our arrival to the island resort to the food to the room to the attractions, everything seems perfect. The rooms are clean, spacious and well maintained, the food is also very delicious. I also ventured into different parts of the island and it's just perfect location to relax and detach yourself from the world. There are activities available in the resort like snorkeling, kayaking, etc. There's also a swimming pool where you can take a dip, if you prefer not a swim in the beach. During our stay, we were also able to have lunch in another island called Puting Buhangin. Do note that Dos Palmas is about an hour away by boat from Puerto Princessa city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerict87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
14.4 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
14.6 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#4 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
7.8 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#15 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa

Property: Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Address: Arrecife Island, Honda Bay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmas Island Resort And Spa
Dos Palmas Island Hotel Puerto Princesa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing