We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the day trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Avoid the day trip!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We didn't stay at this resort overnight. We took the day trip the resort promotes. At a cost of $150 for two adults and a 2yr old the price is equivalent to a day pass at Disneyland. Although the buffet lunch was good you would not enjoy it if you didn't like seafood. The resort appears neglected. Everthing needs to be repainted. The children's playground looked rundown and the steps leading to the slide was completely broken off. The beach chairs made of wood had no cushions on them. The pool had no bar.

In the 6 hours we were there you could not see a single guest. The only people you ever saw were the ones who came on the day tour. The resort looked eerily deserted. And to make it even stranger the cheapest rooms sold for $450!! The resort really looked like a 3-star resort. I can't think anyone in their right mind would spend that kind of money at this resort, not when you could get a room at the luxurious Shangri-la in Boracay for the same price. Save your money and take a day trip out to Pandan island for a third of the price!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    213
    63
    16
    7
See reviews for
145
179
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guam
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We decided to take a day trip out to this resort complex for Php2500 each. It is one hour out from Puerto Princesa by boat on a private island. The day did not start out well, as the company forgot to pick us up. After waiting by the side of the road for more than an hour (from 7:00-8:15 AM), we called and they told us there had been a glitch and they would get us three hours after the planned pick up time. They did offer us a Php500 credit to be used when we finally arrived, because of the mix up, and the fact that we would have much less time at the resort.
Upon arrival, the first thing we noticed was that the place seems a bit run down. There is a lot of repair work to be done on buildings that are getting weather worn. We also noticed that the bungalows over the water were closed and not being used. The day tour included a quite well prepared lunch, but the beaches were not that spectacular, so we chose not to swim. They do have a beautiful pool, but they charge day guests to use it. We decided to use our voucher for massages instead. The message was excellent.
One of the reasons for the day visit was to check the resort out for a future stay. We decided that there were better places to stay in the Philippines for Php22,000 per day and decided that Dos Palmas would not be on a future trip itinerary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest South England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days, . My wife and and I were coming to the end of a wonderful holiday in and around the Philippines ,we were travelling with other friends and familly two of which live and work in Manila,and they recommended this hotel as being "very nice, it will be a treat" ,we just wanted to finish off with a few days in luxury on the beach.

First off all we were asked to arrive at Honda bay dock for 12.00 noon for transfer to the island ,then to be told to wait until 2.00pm,go visit the town in 35 degrees. At the price we were paying to stay,I would expect to be ferried across straight away ,this was not forth coming so we had no choice but to make our own way hiring an alternative boat at £35.00 for the pleasure.It then turned out that there was no way my account would be credited for the ferry .

I expected a lot more for £300.00 incl Tax per night , In the philippines this is very expensive. how do they warrant that price,? I must add first of all the food was very good and the staff charming.which was the saving grace of this place .
This hotel is mascarading as something it is not .
1. The hotel was in the middle of re furbishing, not mentioned on booking, It turns out that the rooms on stilts in the water have been taken out of use since 2009!!
2.The eating hall was dark the tables rusting no linen ,very large noisy portable fans all around,mainly to blow all the birds away
3.green tarpauling covering the walk way from the reception .
4.The bar was very tired with a large TV on all day mostly for the staff to watch
5.In the public areas also were two very prominant dart boards a football table and other games ,not the sort of things I would expect to see in this priced hotel
6.I was also very disapointed at the only choice to eat was from a buffet no a la carte restaurant
7.no bar /beverage service around the beach/pool area
8.Sun beds very uncomfortable no sign of mattresses
9.The walk ways around the hotels public areas in desperate need of replacing as most of it was breaking up
10.The advertised lap pool was untiled and deviod of water
and on and on I could go .
All I wanted to do was treat ourselves .
This hotel was shockingly, vastly overpriced for what it actually delivered.My business is in hospitality and in my opinion this hotel should warrant only 3 star at best and half the cost until it can be re-furbished properly and brought back to the standard it would like to portray itself as being.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Friendliest staff always willing to serve you all the time. Rooms are spacious enough to hold 4 adults comfortably. Villas are by beach. Corals are indescribably beautiful. Would suggest more activities at night Food was so good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Penny4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had our company outing last November in Dos Palmas. And I can say that it's a wonderful place to stay in. From our arrival to the island resort to the food to the room to the attractions, everything seems perfect. The rooms are clean, spacious and well maintained, the food is also very delicious. I also ventured into different parts of the island and it's just perfect location to relax and detach yourself from the world. There are activities available in the resort like snorkeling, kayaking, etc. There's also a swimming pool where you can take a dip, if you prefer not a swim in the beach. During our stay, we were also able to have lunch in another island called Puting Buhangin. Do note that Dos Palmas is about an hour away by boat from Puerto Princessa city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerict87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Outstanding all inclusive vacay spot. If you want to have some relaxation and far from civilization, this is the ideal location for you. No need to worry about meals and attractions. Though, there are no tv in the villa still worth getting disconnected from the world. Staff are extremely courteous and ready to give a big smile and help. I recommend a three day and two night stay- they offer lunch in an island that is breath-taking and worth every Kodak moment. They offer guided snorkeling and Manny was very helpful to the beginners and the non-swimmers. Josh our guest relation officer was helpful and provides value and some trivia. Worth the car ride, plane and boat ride. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripin_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The staff was friendly. Everywhere you go within the resort, they will greet you. We stayed there last December for three days and two nights. As friendly as the staff are in the resort, our Guest Relations Officer was of no use. She only offered us options that would suit THEIR schedule and didn't even bother to make a schedule for our group of thirteen.

The rooms are kind of old, but they are renovating some rooms. What I hated most about this trip was taking a bath. After a long day out in the beach, or in the pool (where the water's salty as well), you just want to take a bath in fresh and clean water. In the three days that I was in Dos Palmas, I did not feel clean AT ALL. The bath water was almost the same as the sea water, and worst of all, even the faucet water was salt water! I had to brush my teeth with the bottled water they gave us every day.

Food is so-so but you don't really have a choice since you're in an island. The diving staff are very nice and helpful, you should try intro diving. The staff in the spa, well, they're nice but you have to book early because they only have 10 or less people there for an island that can have about 100 guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neekelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
14.4 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
433 reviews
14.6 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
163 reviews
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#7 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
226 reviews
7.8 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#14 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
186 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa

Property: Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Address: Arrecife Island, Honda Bay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmas Island Hotel Puerto Princesa
Dos Palmas Island Resort And Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing