We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome awesome awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puerto Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puerto Pension
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome awesome awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Any body that gives puerto pension below 100% does not know what they are talking about and have definitely not travel enough to know what's good and bad accommodations....the staff was friendly....the massage was great and I recommend this hotel to anybody traveling to palawan......it's close to baywalk where you can choose your fish and they cook if for you while you wait.....and don't miss tiki bar,

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank johann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    149
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
63
154
40
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We flew into Puerto Princessa late in the evening and were promptly picked up by their cheerful pickup service. On the way to Puerto Pension the driver pointed out restaurants and places of interest that we might like to consider for the duration of our stay. Upon arrival we were greeted with a cold drink and we checked into our rooms right away. The decor is very rustic and charming all throughout and the rooms were quite generous. We liked the fact that the hotel was eco conscious and the staff were extremely curteous and helpful at all times. We quite a few of our meals at the in house hotel and while the selection wasn't huge the portions were well presented and was delicious. I particularly enjoyed their breakfast menu which included both continental as well as local fare. It is close by to a main market where we were able to food supplies as well as departmental stores and restaurants. We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here only one night, but could have easily stay much longer. Upon arrival, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. They took our breakfast order for the next morning and gave us a welcome beverage (which was delicious).

The room was very spacious and comfortable. There was a real HOT shower, which felt fantastic. The bed was extremely comfortable, making it hard to leave the room. I felt that it was in a great location, a short walk to restaurants, bars and shopping.

The restaurant has amazing views all around.


You wont be disappointed at all if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Puerto Pension for one night on a return trip from El Nido. The staff was extremely welcoming after the long day of travel. I had a room on the first floor and took advantage of the hammocks outside. The room was spacious and cozy. The bed was one of the more comfortable I've slept in. Breakfast is generous and served on the top floor with beautiful morning views.

The guidebook lead me to believe that Puerto Princesa is a transit hub with not much more to see than the underground river. I completely disagree. My only regret was not staying in the town, and at Puerto Pension, for a much longer stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jooliecoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have stayed here quite a few times and always have a good feeling about the place. Its different to most as its been designed and built in the Nippa Hut style, meaning lots of natural wood, bamboo and leaf roofs. The rooms are set around a central courtyard where you can sit on the veranda or in the gardens. Waiter service for drinks and food. Very clean, amazing facilities to European standards, hot water, air con, welcoming drinks, nice helpful staff. The downside is its a good walk to the center and the prices have seemed to be hiked up a fair bit recently

Room Tip: One of the single rooms has an outside toilet/bathroom so check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This Hotel is very good for its price.

+ rooms are clean,
+ service is excellent,
+ hotel itself is beautiful
+ Good bathroom
+ authentic atmosphere (it feels like Philippines)
+ comfortable beds

Minus:
- can’t see any drawbacks

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_The_Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

They welcome you with a drink which is really nice. I liked the native decoration and how they encourage you to save energy. The shower is solar powered and they have recycle baskets. AC stopped working so they moved us to a better room inmediately. Very nice experience.

Room Tip: Pay 88 php for unlimited eggs for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugorodriguez9210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.8 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#1 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#10 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#12 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#5 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Pension

Property: Puerto Pension
Address: 35 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Puerto Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Pension Hotel Puerto Princesa
Puerto Hotel Princesa
Puerto Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing