We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money Saver!”
Review of Puerto Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puerto Pension
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Money Saver!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hello fellow trip advisor members! We stayed at Puerto Pension for a week. It was lovely. We had free hotel transfer to and from the hotel (was only a 10-15mins ride due to the location being in the city). Upon our arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink (yummy native gulaman drink) and immediately was taken to our room. We stayed on the 3rd floor room 22, nice view (the restaurant had a better view) but stairs was a bit steep and our room was right next to the stairs. Therefore, you can hear people walking up and down the stairs heading to the restaurant. Also when the kitchen opened in the morning, you can hear footsteps above the room.. Good thing we're early risers for which it wasn't too bothersome for us.

Room service was excellent. We only went to the restaurant twice for their free breakfast, but the rest of the time we had our meals at the balcony. More romantic that way :) Food and price was acceptable, but the portion could have been bigger. They have really small portions for their meals. They had a mini bar downstairs, but it's nothing to brag about. I ordered a pina-colada and it did not taste like a pina-colada at all. **Mint coffee drink is a must try!! (non-alcoholic)

Our room was always clean and had fresh towels everyday. Altho, they can invest on some newer ones (towels are thinning out). The wash room was small, but fairly decent. Loved the shower head! Our bed was pretty comfy and when the AC was turned on it was even better. There was a small boxed T.V. with cable hanging from the ceiling which was ok bc we didn't watch alot of television since we were mostly out.**You can't get wifi inside the rooms! You'll have to step out to the balcony in order to get signal.

The morning front desk staff was very accommodating, altho we couldn't say the same for the night shift staff. We inquired about the Underground River tour during the evening, and we were informed that there wasn't any available tours, but will notify us if they can squeeze us in. When asking why not and why aren't they able to accommodate us, they couldn't give us the proper information to "why not" and wasn't thorough with the explanation and plainly said we'll see what we can do.

Well, here is the answer to the "why not"---->**word of advice, if you want to do the Underground River Tour, book in advance! They have a limit to how many people they allow on the island per day. You will also have to apply for a permit to get on the island, and those permits have time slots for which you are scheduled andare allowed to go on the island.

With that being said, we did not find this out until AFTER a couple days later. The night shift front desk had called our room. Her name was Princess, she had told us that if it was ok for her to contact another agency to get us on the tour. Of course being desperate in seeing one of the seven wonders of the world we said yes and wondered why she didn't do so in the first place.. Well, we did NOT know that this other agency was NO WAY affiliated with Puerto Pension. Which we also didn't find out until a couple days after we met with the travel agent. The night we met with the travel agent, it was at the hotel lobby, she gave us information to how much it would cost and what the tour provided. She also took our information down, and was told she will contact us when the arrangements are final. She then asked for our passports, but we did not give her our passports since it sounded kinda irrelevant (we've done tours before in P.I. and not once were we ever asked for our passports). She insisted we needed identification in order to receive a permit so instead we gave her our driver's license I.D. When we asked for her contact number, she simply informed me that the front desk will have it. So entrusting the front desk, we didn't think twice about it since we've heard many good reviews about the staff (and thinking that this was usually how the process goes). We had quiet a scare bc she did not contact us that following day. We had to go to the front desk the next morning and asked what was going on bc this travel agent still had our I.D.'s and had not made any contact (we did not give any cash or deposit down, thank goodness!). An elderly lady at the front desk was so confused, bc she informed us that Princess did not write any notes down, and the agency that Puerto Pension was affiliated with had no clue what we were talking about either. So we then proceeded to contact Princess to get the other agency's contact number. Needless to say, when we got everything straightened out. Which turned out to be that Princess had a friend who she knew worked in a different agency, who she contacted but was not affiliated with the hotel. Altho we are thankful we got to do the Underground River tour, it was still quiet a scare. The staff member shouldn't have done that bc it was very unprofessional knowing that as a front desk concierge, she knew she was NOT supposed to have contacted a different agency other then the specific ones affiliated with Puerto Pension . Also night shift front desk should be more knowledgeable of the the tours and services they offer, just like the morning staff members do.

**Other than that mishap, I would recommend this to those who are looking for a cheap place to stay with comfy beds and hot showers!

P.S.
The location of this hotel is only a few minutes of walking time to the Wharf. There you can have a nice romantic walk along the waters or go rent out bicycles for only 50php per hour! They also have food vendors if you wanted to have marienda (snacks in between meals)

Room Tip: We had room 22, on the 3rd floor next to the stairs. Try to get a room away from the stairs. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyandMaria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    149
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
63
155
41
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean. The walls are covered in lovely, colorful woven mats. The bathrooms are mediocre and we had to keep turning off the hot water heater to avoid being scaled, but this was a minor inconvenience as there was HOT water. The wifi was great as were the ocean views from the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emailbrookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karaikal, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We got surprise initially, because we inquired by sending a mail to Peurto Pension. We got reply saying rooms were available and we can pay once we checkin there. Then when we reached Puerto Princesa airport, we saw the representative holding Puerto Pension board, and our names were written in it, because of the e-mail we have sent. And then they took us to Hotel by Jeepney, such a wonderful jeepney we have ever seen.
Rooms - We stayed in Ground floor Rooms, not spacious, but still its very good. Floors were look like country side, feels like we are in village hut.
Food - We had breakfast, it was delicious, they serve continental and filipino cuisine. We also ordered tuna & pork sandwiches for in-room dining during evening, both were good.
Service - They were very friendly, helped a lot in telling locations and how to proceed for sight seeing places.
Overall, it was a very good experience staying here and enjoyed a lot, though it was a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed here several times already and every-time I go back this pension doesn't disappoint me. Upon arrival your guide will greet you with a big smile and lead you to the big air-conditioned jeepney that will bring you to Puerto Pension.

At this pension expect that the food is good, room and bathroom is clean, bed and pillows are comfortable, friendly staff, cozy garden and an awesome view of the Palawan bay during breakfast at the Tribu Restaurant. Free breakfast is just continental breakfast. Upgrade of breakfast is charged at a minimal amount.

The room has refrigerator, phone, cable flat screen TV which wasn't there last December. I'm glad they replaced their old bulky TV. The room also has at least 3 power outlets, bring your own adapter. Fresh towels are provided daily. The bathroom has hot shower, liquid soap and shampoo.

Room Tip: Book the superior room as this is a lot bigger compared to the Deluxe A &B if you are particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cresil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Don't have any hesitations about staying here; Puerto Pension is great!

Things that stand out: Great value for the money, clean/comfortable rooms (especially the bed!!), lots of outdoor common areas, wifi throughout the pension (they have three password-protected signals so you never lose connectivity), restaurant is good, and they have the most helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

On our first night in Puerto Pension, it was a valentines day. We were fetched by an airconditioned jeepney and the driver/tour guide gave us a rundown of what to expect in Puerto Princesa. He even suggested some places to visit, restaurants to go to and food to try (though we haven't tried the tamilok)

When we reached the place, we headed straight to the receptionist to check in. The driver then handed me a stem of rose since it's a valentine day. The receptionist told us to give them a few minutes for last minute touch ups on the room. We booked a superior room since there are no deluxe room available.

We decided to take dinner on their cafeteria which was located on the 4th floor of the pension house. It was overlooking the bay which is a delight to see on your first night in Palawan. We ordered Sinigang na Maya Maya and fresh mango juice. The waiter then came back and handed me another rose, my 2nd on the night. The food was great. The soup was still hot and the fruit shake is delicious!

Then we proceeded to our room afterwards. And surprise! There's a 3rd rose on our bed.
The room is equipped with a couch, a mini ref, hot and cold shower with complete soap, shampoo and shower gels. Towels are also provided. The room is spacious and not cramped.

The complimentary breakfast is also delectable. The night before, you will be asked your choice of breakfast (i.e coffee or tea, fried or scrambled egg, etc) and I like this instead of giving guests a set meal.

Overall, i highly recommend this pension house for first times in Puerto Princesa. Expect quality service all throughout your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d3niss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location of PP is very convenient; as it is slightly off the Rizal Avenue (which runs through the town, and all the restaurants, bars, money exchange, almost everything is on it), so everything is accessible and yet you are located at a quieter part of it. The bay walk is only a minute away-round the corner.

The view from their roof top restaurant is awesome, it’s open from 3 sides, and you get a very scenic view of the bay at the breakfast along with the ocean breeze-which is when I only ate there. The complimentary breakfast was basic but I wasn’t expecting more except if they had real coffee instead of the instant one, it would have been better. I think the view and the breeze made up for everything. One could always pay a few cents and add an extra egg to the breakfast.

I paid about USD 40 a night for single occupancy room with a queen sized bed. As a bed & breakfast I think it was value for money. I expected a clean air-conditioned room and a clean washroom (with a hot shower). PP offered all of that. The room was basic otherwise (a small TV with international content; but who cares to watch TV. The bed was comfortable not luxurious), but then I never planned to stay in the room except for a good night sleep, and except for the little noisy staircase-I got it.

The staff was very helpful and courteous; I had them arrange the Honda bay tour for me at the last moment, and it turned out extremely well.

Overall the place has an extremely nice feel to it. You feel welcomed and at home.

Room Tip: The rooms besides the staircase leading to the resturant can get a bit noisy quite early in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waqm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.8 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#1 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
555 reviews
0.8 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#12 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#6 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
310 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#10 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Pension

Property: Puerto Pension
Address: 35 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Puerto Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Pension Hotel Puerto Princesa
Puerto Hotel Princesa
Puerto Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing