We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING and IMPRESSIVE”
Review of Puerto Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Puerto Pension
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Davao City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“AMAZING and IMPRESSIVE”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

i was amazed by the architectural design by the hotel its really native and when i enter the room i was so impressed with the kind of bedding's they have its like your in a five star hotel the bed and the pillow gave us so comfy sleep. but you better choose a room not near to the stairs becoz its a little bit noisy during your sleep the hotel is made up of wood that is why you can hear the steps from out side. but overall it impressed me so much specially the rooftop restaurant. i highly recommend this place because you will really feel that u are in palawan if you check in here . but before i forgot i would give a points also to the staff of the hotel they are very helpful and nice keep up the good work. palawan is a beautiful place and what made it beautiful not just the nature you will see but its lovely and friendly palawaneos.

Room Tip: just ask a room not near to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charcieldavao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    149
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
63
156
41
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

the room rates are reasonable,its location is near the city proper and the baywalk...the staff are willing to serve.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemr0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The hotel is located a little off the main road in a quiet part of the city of Puerto Princesa but still in walking distance from both the harbor and the main market downtown. We were a little surprise when we realized, that the planes arriving in Puerto fly directly over the hotel - but since that's only 8 planes a day and none in the evening or at night it didn't bother us at all. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean, although not very spacious. The deluxe rooms are larger and offer an additional, separate sitting area. All rooms offer a nice sitting area just outside of the room on the porch or balcony, all facing the nice and relaxing court yard that also offers additional sitting space.
The roof top restaurant offers a nice selection of good local and a few international menus as well. The view from the roof top restaurant is probably the best you can get in all of Puerto, overlooking the bay and the bay walk.
The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional.
We enjoyed our stay at the Puerto Pension very much!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I spent one night in Puerto Princesa and this hotel was perfect. I had a deluxe single which was small but had everything. The room was clean and the bed very comfy. The bathroom was great. Hot shower with very good pressure

The setting is great. Its got a very nice feel to the resort. Like you are in a beach resort. The wifi is very good and the staff very helpful. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Great little small pension / hotel in Puerta Princesa & miles better than other places we have stayed for twice the cost on previous trips.

We had a slight problem on arrival in that there was no record of our booking, which the staff explained was because the person who had taken the booking originally had since left the company & somehow forgotten to update their diaries, but they were very accomodating still & put us in a cheaper room at half the rate for 1 night then transfered us to the room we had booked on the 2nd night.

At a more expensive hotel this might of annoyed us, but at a small pension who did everything they could to squeeze us in last minute & were very apologetic, we did not mind at all.

Even the cheaper room was more than adequate for the price.

The superior room we had booked was very nice & again a bargain for the money. Walls are covered with nipa & hot showers too (always a bonus in Palawan!). Beds were also extremely comfy for such a small hotel & the rooms had very efficient air con & ceiling fans.

There is a communial balcony / veranda outside each room, which is great to sit outside of in the evenings or any other time of day for that matter.

The hotel can also organise massages in your room for 350 pesos which is a bargain for an hour's massage & was cheaper & better than the ones we paid for in El Nido.

Good location too as it is slighly out of town so quieter (but still within walking distance of the centre) and also just a couple of minutes walk to the promenade.

The restaurant is also great with polite staff, lovely food (again very reasonably priced) & as others have pointed out, fantastic sweeping views across the bay & surrounding islands.

Absolutely nothing to quibble about here at Puerto Pension & we'd definitely stay there again if we hopefully one day find ourselves back in Palawan!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wunderlust78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I was actually taken by surprise! After a costly wedding in the Philippines, my husband and I only had the funds from our wedding gifts to use for our honeymoon, and so we really tried to 'nickel and dime' from flying out at the cheapest possible date from Cebu Pacific to getting the most cost efficient hotel. In the Philippines, "Pensions" are hotels that are economically priced, somewhat like a motel - We discovered it from reviews here on Trip Advisor. There were many Pensions to choose from, but the decision was made when some night time photos of the tropical like setting of Puerto Pension, softly illuminated by colored lights and native decor captured my imagination.

Jonathan, the contact we had at the hotel offered us a package for 12,000+ pesos, which included a 4 night stay, 3 day tour (consisting of Day 1 Underground River tour, Day 2 - Island Hopping Tour Day 3 - City Tour, contracted with 3B's Tour group). It also included free breakfast each morning, shuttle back and forth from the airport, and a free non alcoholic drink upon arrival.


After almost missing our flight out of Manila to Puerto Princesa (heavy traffic during the 3-5pm rush hour, fortunately our flight was delayed a few minutes) we were pretty tired and emotionally drained from the stress.

When we arrived at Puerto Princesa airport, coming out we were met by different vendors trying to vie for our business, letting us know they offered cheaper rates for the Day Tours , however, we felt more comfortable (safer) just sticking with the vendor the hotel used even if it was slightly more.

we were picked up by the shuttle, and journeyed down the 7 minute drive down to the hotel located on Malvar St.

Puerto Princesa is such a clean, and organized and small town, and along the way the driver pointed out local eateries to try.

Also being members of the Iglesia ni Cristo Church of Christ, we were also happy to see that a locale chapel was only 2 blocks away from the hotel, pretty much walking distance on F.Y. Manalo Street.

It was also next to the Puerto Princesa Baywalk, which sported a mini carnival, ferris wheel, and all night gambling.

As we pulled into Puerto Pension, i was happy to see the images that i saw on the internet matched how the hotel looked, tropical with its bamboo /nipa decor, the tikki torches and landscape lighting. I loved how new age music playing added to the ambience as we checked in at the 'open air' lobby.

I noticed that the front desk clerks wore barong style dresses or polo shirts made of (pineapple fiber) material which gave it an even more native feel.

Im a nature lover, so I was happy to see that it won an Eco Award for being Eco friendly and minimizing carbon pollution.

They served us 'gulaman' sweet tapioca drinks upon arrival and each night of our stay we had to indicate our breakfast preference for the next morning. You get standard free eggs, toast, fruit, coffee or hot chocolate, juice, and it would be 88pesos additional to add an extra meat.

The Pension didnt have elevators, so the only minor setback was having to climb 3 flights of stairs with our luggage, but that's ok because the eco friendly nature of the hotel made up for it. all around we were met by ethnic primitive decor which i enjoyed because i'm into that.

our room was very clean and while the walls were covered with bamboo nipa material (to give it a bahay kubo atmosphere) the bed was a large queen/king pillowtop and it took up most of the room. but outside were patio tables and chairs strewn thru out where guests can sip their coffee, get on facebook w/ their laptops using the free wifi and look down the balcony at other incoming guests.

the next morning, the restaurant on the roof of the hotel (the building is only 4 stories high) gave us a wake up call to inform that breakfast was served.

as we walked up to the rooftop restaurant, we had a 360 degree view of Puerot Princesa, its bay, the mountains and the windows were open so the ocean breeze could waft through.

Our breakfast was waiting for us at a reserved table (talk about service) next to the open window. As i bit into a slice of papaya, and felt the cool breezes from the ocean, for a moment i felt lost , in paradise, and i could almost feel like i was back in Hawaii or Kauai. Though the food itself was minimal, the way it was served and the ambience made up for it. (well what can you say, its a free breakfast!)

Each morning after breakfast we would be met at the lobby by the tour bus that would take us to our adventure of the day, and would bring us back in the afternoon.
For dinner, we would explore a local restaurant, most of which were situated along Rizal St, by hiring a tricycle for 35 pesos. One of the favorite places to eat was Ka Lui's, a native style restaurant, where patrons had to remove their shoes, and were treated to a deliciously native atmosphere, and the seafood and coconut vegetables were just heavenly!

We also ate dinner another night at Balinsasayaw, the name of a night bird local to Palawan, where we tried the famous "birds nest soup" consisting of the said bird's eggs and the edible material used for its nest. But both me and my husband decided that the tuna sisig was to die for!

Other food places we didnt get to try but heard it was delicious was Badjao Seafront Restaurant, and also Tamilok's is famous for its 'mangrove wood worm' specialty, supposedly an aphrodisiac equal if not better than oyster!

Puerto Princesa also has some Tiangge's or night markets where you can get souvenirs, t-shirts and the island specialty -Casoy OR Cashews. My favorite that i wish i'd bought more of is the Cashew Butter, only 80 pesos.

Also it was at the night market where I haggled and got 3 sets of cultured pearl necklaces, matching bracelets and earrings for 180 pesos each set (equivalent to appx $4.25 usd each)

Overall regarding Puerto Pension I can't say that we had any complaints, except for some minor situations where due to a pipe being worked on, the water was not working a couple of the mornings.

But overall, what impressed me was how a budget friendly Pension hotel, could have such a warm cozy feel, a tropical ambience, an eco friendly zone, and 5 star service!
I was describing my experience to the shuttle bus driver on the way to the airport, and the elegantly dressed woman riding with us happened to be the owner Debbie Tan!

During my interview with her, she mentioned that Puerto Pension first was intended to be a boarding home for the students at the nearby college.

Her native style decor was inspired by her fond childhood memories, playing inside of a bahay-kubo , nipa hut. she brought those elements into design, but once she was finished, it wound up being 'too nice' for just a boarding school and the students wouldn't be able to afford staying there. So they shifted gears and transformed it into a Pension hotel - which absolutely worked, as they have garnered many positive reviews during the past years of operation.

Being that Debbie and her family travel frequently, she knows what 5 star service feels like, and strives to offer that same quality of service to her Pension Hotel.

At the airport we discovered we had the same flight going to Cebu. My husband and I had never been there, and we asked her for advice on how to get to the seaport there so we can board the ferry to Bohol Island. It started to rain heavily too and we were doubtful if we could make it on time.

We were amazed, because although we were strangers to her, she even offered to drop us off there as a courtesy, as it happened to be on the way to her own destination. And at that point, we felt so deeply touched and grateful. For owner Debbie Tan, quality service was not just limited within the confines of Puerto Pension, but above and beyond and on a personal level, as she saw to it we arrived to the Cebu seaport in a timely manner.

So overall, Budget Friendly, Eco Friendly, Exotic torpical Ambience, Cleanliness, 5 star service and an owner that cares for its patrons, that is the lasting impression that PUERTO PENSION has made on us! And for Frugalistas such as ourselves, we were satisfied with our decision to stay there!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jkleena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2011

we had stay there for 2 nights, first night was really great, after Honda bay came back to hotel,still can go to the bay for a walk and bicycle,but the second night we transfer to room No.3, (coz they said the room was booked by others,)..was really noise with the steps, because the rooms was make with woods,so when it was 4am in the morning, i could not sleep anymore,so when you choose this hotel must ask for the second floor and above.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manymanyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.8 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#1 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#17 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#8 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#12 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
191 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Pension

Property: Puerto Pension
Address: 35 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Puerto Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Pension Hotel Puerto Princesa
Puerto Hotel Princesa
Puerto Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing