We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm so at Home I cried when i left”
Review of Villa Saturnina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Saturnina
Ranked #65 of 192 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“I'm so at Home I cried when i left”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been reading reviews on this Hotel months before my own Palawan Trip, anst d the time came for my Vacation. I stayed last July 3 to 6 and it was a different experience. Its like I'm at Home. The owner "SAM" is in Manila while i was in Palawan but the stuff "Evelyn and Joel" never failed to take care of us. The Rooms are just right. AC and Heater and Good for 5 guest per Room. The Breakfast is just simple, but hey for the Room rates and Tours Inclusion, I cant thank them enough for the Breakfast and Coffee it is actually a Freebie. The City Tour and all the other Tours were properly arranged and they even brought us to the market to buy Sea Foods because its a bit pricey for us "big eaters" to eat kilos of Prawns and Crabs at the resto so we decided to buy and cook back at the Hotel which Joel and evelyn was so happy to help "we even exchange recipes". The garden was great specially with the afternoon rains so it made the place even cooler aside from the AC room. I will definitely go back to this hotel and like what i said, even it is 30min away from the City its ok. taking a public jeep or "space" trike is so easy. I would not want to stay downtown were all the vehicles are afterall this is vacation right. somewhere outside the city. To Joel, Evelyn, and SAM. you are the BEST...

Room Tip: Morning till 8PM you can take a public baby jeep for only P25 per pax to the city "JUNCTION&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrawnJoeBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam N, Owner at Villa Saturnina, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello Russell!

I'm happy to hear that you guys had fun during your stay in Puerto Princesa. I will make sure to let Joel and Evelyn know about your positive feedback. I truly appreciate the positive feedback and the great recommendation. Hopefully, I will be here the next time you visit us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Summer break for my kids start at the end of June and by this time, rainy season has already started. Surprisingly though, Palawan isn't bad at this time of the year. Choosing to stay at Villa Saturnina was indeed the best decision I made for this trip. This homey B&B is perfect for relaxation and your sight seeing plans. Its owner, Sam, prepared an itinerary which allowed us to see the best parts of Puerto Princesa. And he drove us around, too! How cool is that?

But more than anything, it's the food that got me. There are a lot of places to eat around Palawan (can't get enough of the authentic Vietnamese place) but my inner pig is most happy with the breakfast served at Villa Saturnina. It almost made us miss our flight back. Uh huh, it was that good.

Room Tip: There are only a couple of rooms available and all are fine :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoeniginMutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam N, Owner at Villa Saturnina, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
HI! I am glad you and the kids had fun during your trip. You're right, rainy season isn't so bad here in puerto princesa, and we still get to see a lot of sunshine from June to September.

Thank you so much for putting out a good word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My Palawan trip was awesome! My friends and I wanted to experience something new so we decided to visit the famed Underground River. The owner was able to book us our tours with short notice, and was able to create a great itinerary that included Honda Bay, Firefly Watching and Dolphin Watching. Thanks to Villa Saturnina for very warm accomodation and for planning all my tours. I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckyBudoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam N, Owner at Villa Saturnina, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the nice feedback, Bucky. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Puerto Princesa. I appreciate your endorsement to your friends; comments like these make all our efforts worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

It's a break i need after the may elections. Thanks villa saturnina for the quiet and comfort of home. The pre ordered food was really out of this world.. Delicious, tasty, divine, sugar crush! ! The chef was sam himself and his dad. Juny the only brod of sam readily offered his service to drive, andres likewise provide city tour with joseph. Ann, joel, elmer and nonoy join the staff. Tomorrow Back to reality...

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam N, Owner at Villa Saturnina, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Maria,

A good escape for rest and relaxation is definitely what I would prescribe to hardworking individuals such as yourself. I am glad that we were able to make you feel at home here at Villa Saturnina during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARLAC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

my family and i stayed at villa saturnina last june 6-8 2013. we had a great time and sam, the owner organized so well our itinerary. rooms were spacious, breakfast is great, staff were very friendly and most of all, very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DONTarlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam N, Owner at Villa Saturnina, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We appreciate your positive feedback! I am glad that you and your family had a great stay in puerto princesa. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a 'no frills bed and breakfast" accomodation..It is really a home away from home..parang nasa bahay ka lang talaga, with the staff and especially Kuya Amor and his wife( the owners ) getting out of their way to make us feel comfortable..The garden setting and the orange painted house is very similar to our home,,Although we decided at the last minute to go on the Honda Bay tour, there really was no problem because the Honda Bay wharf is walking distance from the place. we just went there, arranged a boat just for ourselves and I believe at a cheaper price, than if we had it arranged by a tour/travel agency..If you want peace and quiet, away from the hustle and noise of the city, I definitely recommend Villa Saturnina..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ymmij41263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam N, Owner at Villa Saturnina, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Jimmy!

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you had a restful vacation here in puerto princesa. You are correct, our guests save a LOT because of the cheaper honda bay tours that we provide. We are able to substantially cut down on costs (such as van rental), hence offer better value to our customers.

We are looking forward to seeing you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I would have booked in a local hotel which charged me 11,000 per person (that would make 33,000 for the three of us). When my sister saw Villa Saturnina as THE NUMBER ONE here in TripAdvisor, we tried to communicate with Sam who gave us around only 40% of what the hotel was offering. Our PACKAGE included airport transfer (hi Andres!!! [sam's driver]), breakfast, accommodation, city tour, honda bay tour, and underground river tour. CAN YOU IMAGINE?

Since we really wanted to get to El Nido, Sam recommended a pension house there which was also great since we get to go to the beach in five minutes by foot. We were to get back to Puerto at 12 MN. Sam sends a SMS saying "I've arranged for Andres to pick you up at FilOil". AT 12 MIDNIGHT??? Call it Filipino Hospitality!

Villa Saturnina is much away from town proper. But who needs town proper when you've already got the Pasalubong during the City Tour? :) When we REALLY needed something from town proper (bayan), Sam again offered "Andres can take you to bayan". It wasn't airport transfer... :)

THE ICING ON THE CAKE when staying at Villa Saturnina is it's VERY near Honda Bay! So the vans pick you up last [meaning you get the front row seats and you don't have to wake up early since other guests will be picked up first]. The same also applies for the Underground River Tour!

Thank you Sam, Joel, and Andres!!! We had an EXCELLENT vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doldolTHEtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam N, Owner at Villa Saturnina, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. It was our pleasure to make sure that you had a memorable and convenient stay in puerto princesa. I will make sure to extend your feedback to Andres and Joel.

I also like how you mentioned that you didn't have to wake up as early as guests from other hotels. That is, indeed, one of the perks of staying at our location :)

Thanks again and hope to see you in palawan soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
8.7 mi away
Nitivos Beach Resort
Nitivos Beach Resort
#59 of 192 in Puerto Princesa
25 reviews
29.0 mi away
Palawan Mangrove Resort
Palawan Mangrove Resort
#9 of 192 in Puerto Princesa
69 reviews
9.0 mi away
Butterfly Totem Guesthouse
Butterfly Totem Guesthouse
#22 of 192 in Puerto Princesa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Cooper's Beach Resort
Cooper's Beach Resort
#47 of 192 in Puerto Princesa
73 reviews
17.0 mi away
Villa Leonora Beach Resort
Villa Leonora Beach Resort
#94 of 192 in Puerto Princesa
44 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tojo Tourist Inn
Tojo Tourist Inn
#123 of 192 in Puerto Princesa
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saturnina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saturnina

Property: Villa Saturnina
Address: Honda Bay Wharf, bgy Sta. Lourdes, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Saturnina is a bed and breakfast located near the islands of Honda Bay in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan (12 kms from the airport). Tourist sites such as Honda Bay and Underground River are easily accessible from this area. A Chinese Temple has been built right across the street. This used to be an ancestral home that was transformed into a homey bed and breakfast. Accommodations include airport transfers and free breakfast. Rustic setting, rural and friendly environment. Hot shower and airconditioning available. Water and electricity availability subject to local utility company services (brownouts and water interruptions are beyond our control). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Villa Saturnina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saturnina Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing