We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed with the service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunlight Guest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunlight Guest Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Washington DC
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very impressed with the service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We received some of the best and friendliest service in any hotel from this place, and considering its price range, it's really hard to beat. We were generally impressed by the people of Palawan, and looking back now, seems good service comes naturally. Also stayed in an El Nido Resort after here, and while service there equaled the staff here, the small staff in this hotel were more consistently good.

Our pick-up from the airport was a few minutes late, but he turned out very friendly. The front door guards were very nice. The exterior of the hotel didn't look promising, the reception area was also nothing special. But we were very satisfied with our room: spacious, clean, nice décor, clean and spacious bathroom and with a balcony with a view of the bay. The view was beautiful and also shows Puerto Princesa everyday life. Left a tip for the maid the first day we were there, and found the money on top of the night stand when we came back! So, just left a bigger tip on our check-out. The room could use more pillows on the bed and more and better towels in the bathroom.

We dined in their restaurant several times and found the food delicious, generously portioned and fairly priced. The service was welcoming and friendly all the times we were there. It was hot in the restaurant, and saw mosquitoes, we didn't get bitten though. As I mentioned earlier, front desk staff were friendly and helpful- they (Jay) helped us make and cancel restaurant reservations (independent restaurant).

I've checked many tour companies for prices, and theirs is very good value, plus very convenient. I corresponded with Lecil many times before arriving and she responded very timely and was very nice. We booked our Underground River Tour and city tour with them. Anne who was the tour guide in the Underground River Tour was great!

The hotel is in a busy area of Puerto Princesa: drugstore, a mall, chain restaurants are all walking distance. We also walked around the market and bought some delicious bananas and mangoes. The baywalk was 5-10 walking distance away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonJonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    35
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
52
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The other reviews do a good job of describing this place, I got exactly what I expected.
- Location isn’t near restaurants or much of anything interesting, but having grocery store and small mall attached is convenient for drinks, cheep clothes or spa treatments.
- Room and bathroom are very nice but had a view of a wall (you can pay for ocean view). BED IS VERY HARD and towels seemed old and stained.
- Breakfast is good, nice variety of filipino dishes, breakfast meat and eggs cooked to order.
- Lunch buffet is 300 and good, otherwise the restaurant is pricy and not very good .
- As others pointed out, WIFI is very slow. But I think that goes for most of the area.

Overall nice hotel… but unless you are here on business or quick stopover for airport, you might wonder what you are doing here in Puerto Princesa. Lots of better places to spend your time in the Philippines.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNL-LAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaarLouis, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was my second time here at the hotel. I choosed it again because of the comfortable, quite rooms. After two years they renovated the rooms they looked different. The bed seems so much harder than at my last visit. The view from the balcony at the harbour and the Baywalk is still nice.
In the evening there is just still this nerving loud techno music from one of the bars or what it is at the baywalk. With earplugs walang problema. The buffet at lunch and breakfast is still ok.
The hotel is above the UnitopMall. At december the traffic outside stucks...its the christmas month and everyone is very busy. It is almost impossible to move because 100 of trycicles on the street and the small pedestrian paths are overfilled with people and parked bikes. Means after leaving the hotel you feel like in a ant nest. But before two years was at a january and it was quiter. Just the bad smell from a channel in front of the hotel is still the same.
the hotel has also a rooftop and a souvenir shop.
The wifi works not everywhere in the hotel and since two years they still dont get it under control.
You can also book tours to HondaBay or the UndergroundRiver. They pick you up at the front desk of the lobby in the morning.
The hotel is still ok for the price and with 2 years not to old. But maybe next time I would look for another accommodation in Puerto Princesa

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KurisuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel building is not pleasing from the outside but we were surprised to check it out inside. The staff were accommodating, it has an OK atmosphere, the rooms are elegant, the buffet was also great but you can't find any special facility except it's inside a shopping mall that is. But, it was definitely a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel is nice, but not a wow. The staff are very helpful so that's important. We did not eat here but we only stayed 2 nights. We went to the under ground river and to be honest it was a bit disappointing it's nothing wow but the journey is interesting. Palawan is lovely and natural and not yet affected by tourism so it was really cute all the kids wishing us a happy Christmas. We also got the most amazing foot massage there, sadly forgot to take the name but think if you walk out of the Tiki Resto bar and take first left and it's on the left a little off the main road. The hotel is placed in a good location and we walked home both nights even from Kalui restaurant. Our room was clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeprachaunKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our family of five stayed two nights in two separate rooms. The hotel pick up service was ridiculously slow. We waited 1 hour until the van was completely full. You can take a tricycle for a fixed rate of 50 peso and save the time lingering. The check in was also painfully slow.
The rooms were dreary. No windows. The "back of the room" opens to another hallway. Terrible if there was ever a fire. One of our rooms was horribly smelly. Like a dead mouse.
The hotel is on the fourth floor of a department store and across the street from the public market. The congestion and noise is terrible.
If you are seeing the underground river; then you will be waking up early. That means you cannot eat the buffet breakfast. They will pack you a sandwich and bottle of water.... What a joke for a sandwich. You are better off buying something in the town before going on the boat to the river.
When you come back from the underground river? No pool to relax. Just a dark room. Or walk the chaos outside in the market.
The only good value.. The buffet breakfast was excellent.
I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We went there for four days before the new year.
The room was ok, not small, pretty clean, easy bathroom.
Internet wi fi does not work in rooms, only in the hall or restaurant.
Breakfast wasn't particular good.
The staff was really bad organized. They clean room very very late (one day we arrived at four pm and the room wasn't still ready). They organize many tours all around PPS, but I've heard that others companies give you more with the same money. Give a look around before booked! They hardly make more than they have to do so if you need something, ask and ask and ask without fear to bother them!
The hotel is not in the main road but it's not a big problem, there are tricycle everywhere and they are very cheap. Pay attention to some of the drivers, they will try to cheat on the price of the ride (not everybody !)
Fair value for your money, nothing more.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BandMaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.5 mi away
The Legend Palawan
The Legend Palawan
#19 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#37 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleuris
Hotel Fleuris
#20 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#12 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ipil Suites Puerto Princesa
Ipil Suites Puerto Princesa
#21 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.5 mi away
One Manalo Place Hotel
One Manalo Place Hotel
#17 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Guest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Guest Hotel

Property: Sunlight Guest Hotel
Address: Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 05300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunlight Guest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunlight Guest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlight Guest Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing