We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Relax”
Review of Subli Guest Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Subli Guest Cabins
Ranked #2 of 199 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

It's a nice but simple place to stay and relax after a tiring tour at Palawan. We only stayed here for a night but I wanted to stay longer because I find the place very serene. It is not near the city but it is not too far. You can take a tricycle for only P60 maximum of 4 passengers. Breakfast is pre-ordered the night before, set meal already. The rooms and bathrooms are very very simple. What I like most is their 'duyan' or hammock because you can just lay down and relax anytime of the day. They have a lot of trees and plants around which makes the air smells so clean and fresh. The owner, Nancy was the one who arranged for our underground river tour. They even picked us up from the airport.

With the place and service, you get more than what you pay for.





Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christiane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us, even if it was just for 1 night. We wish you could have stayed longer to enjoy the hammocks and hang out in our reading hut. But there's always a next time. Hope you can return, Thanks a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Subli staff are among the very best you will ever find. We promptly checked in and were asked about our evening and morning meal options. We spent a peaceful night and had a sumptuous breakfast, hot and ready, at the time we asked. Our stay was brief, but beyond our expectations. Here however, is the real test and the reason we hold Subli in high esteem. We'd asked them to arrange our transfer by van to Taytay, upon our arrival. They did so and the van was right on time the following morning. However, the arranged ride was inadvertently booked with the understanding to take us to El Nido. This was an hour farther north than we needed to be. We realized the error finally, once in El Nido. We then had to arrange an expeditied private van transfer back to Taytay, at our cost, 3000 pesos. While en route to Taytay, I called Subli and described the situation. Without hesitation, Nancy was extremely apologetic and wished to reimburse us for the total amount. A week later on our travel back to Puerto Princesa, they met us by motorbike at the PP bus terminal to hand deliver our refund. Bless their hearts! Service like this is rare. Service like this is not forgotten. Our only regret was not being able to spend more time there. Assuredly, Subli will be our first choice on our next visit to Palawan.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieJenny14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

A huge thank you for appreciating our staff! They really try to go the extra mile for all our guests.
As for the El Nido incident, the mess up was at our end so it was just right that you got reimbursed for the unexpected expense. Thank you very much for your kindhearted understanding. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place is really a great find! The comfort we experienced surpassed our expectation. Though we have read from previous reviews, how excellent the accommodation but the first-hand experienced is much more different...The staff are so friendly, warm and kind. The room is so clean. The food is delicious. The ambiance is what we are missing. The place is peaceful and serene, good for meditation and deep reflection. Initially we only wanted to stay for 2-3nights but ended to stay longer than that. We are looking forward to coming back again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_Jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubliPalawan, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

The peacefulness and serenity of our place is a huge blessing from above, and we are truly happy that you appreciated these. And it is so generous of you to say that Subli surpassed your expectations. Thanks a million, Ms. Jet, for all the helpful tips and the friendship. You do have to come back to check out all the new things we have done. So see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Subli Guest Cabins just feels like home the minute we stepped in. Nestled in a quiet area in PP, but not so far away from the city, we had a pretty good time here. Its peaceful, staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The cabin is very clean and there is warm water for shower. They were very considerate to have our breakfast cooked early so we wouldn't be late for our tour pickup at 6:30. A great value for your money. You may even arrange for pick up from the airport.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank whistler0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubliPalawan, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We are very glad that you had a "pretty good time" here at Subli. Our goal is to have everyone enjoy their stay with us, and to have them feel that they are in their own vacation homes. Thanks so much for appreciating all our efforts. We hope to have you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

If you are spending any time in Puerto Princesa then you've found the right place. This gem is far enough away from the congestion of the town/city but close enough if you need to get there. It is on a nice back road and placed on a little oasis of land which makes you feel like you are in nature, and not an urban environment.

The bungalows are very nice, and new! For me it's always how new bungalows are in S.E. Asia because after time they all usually deteriorate. The place is well staffed and they all seem to care about their work. The owner obviously gets it and there is a water cooler, tea, and coffee always available. Wifi strong in the common area and good in the bungalows. Breakfast excellent, and very clean.

Really, there is not anything to complain about with this place. I wish I could find more accommodations like this when traveling.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santenello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubliPalawan, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Firstly, we are very grateful to you for pointing out that we are far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle of the city center but near enough to make it easy to get there if one wishes to do so. Secondly, we are so glad of your description of our location - "on a little oasis of land" - because we truly feel that Subli is our own little oasis! Thank you so, so much! And yes, most of the time, we do "get it", but sometimes, some people are just so hard to figure out! Hahaha! Thanks a lot, especially for the friendship.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Five star, excellent stay! Price is unbeatable for the comfort, location, food, staff, cabins, the lot! This place is incredibly peaceful just outside the city centre. Easily accessible to the main road but no need to worry about transport as the owner of the B&B is more than happy to take you anywhere around the city proper, just take a trike on the way back. All the staff are so lovely and very helpful and will go extra mile to make you feel at home. The seating area under the mango tree and hammocks are just the right stuff you need to relax after a long day trip. Very good connection of Wi-Fi too. Very nice selection of Filipino breakfast. Loved the whole place. If I ever have to stay in Puerto Princesa again, I wouldn't hesitate to book here. To Ms Nancy and the staff, thank you so much for our lovely and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thanks so much! Our staff does try to go the extra mile for all our guests - thank you for the appreciation. And we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and "loved the whole place". We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

It's a simple place that you will want to return to every year. The staff are amazing and will help you with anything you need. I've stayed at some if the best hotels Asia has to offer and let me assure you that they have something to learn from Nancy (the owner) and her staff. I can't wait to go back...the highlight of our stay in Palawan.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great-we stayed in a cabin 1 - but they are all pretty standard and very well kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you so much! Your review is honestly among those that really warms our hearts. What you wrote, "It's a simple place that you will want to return to every year", is what we are and what we wish everyone would feel. We are indeed a simple place, relaxed, laid-back, casual, and without pretensions, a "what you see is what you get" kind of place. But more than this, we truly feel that Subli is a reflection of all our guests - down-to-earth, nature-loving, socially aware. So a huge, huge thank you to all of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.6 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#47 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
49 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#25 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#7 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
336 reviews
1.9 mi away
Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Balay Tuko Garden Inn
#1 of 199 in Puerto Princesa
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Acacia Tree Garden Hotel
Acacia Tree Garden Hotel
#13 of 199 in Puerto Princesa
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Subli Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Subli Guest Cabins

Address: 55 Socrates Road | Barangay San Pedro, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $20 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Subli Guest Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Subli Guest Cabins is a unique bed and breakfast that features bamboo cabins in a peaceful, camp-like setting located in a private cul-de-sac 10 mins from the airport. Each cabin is fitted with its own private bathroom with hot and cold showers, cable television, WiFi service and air-conditioning.Subli prides itself in providing a relaxed, laid-back, family-style atmosphere where guests can swap stories under a century-old mango tree and help the kitchen staff prepare dinner in our one-of-a-kind cooking hut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Subli Guest Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Subli Guest Cabins Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing