We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vegetarian food, slow service”
Review of Ima's Gulay Bar

Ima's Gulay Bar
Ranked #12 of 168 Restaurants in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
Description: Http://www.imas-vegetarian-restaurant.com/menu.html
Restaurant details
Description: Http://www.imas-vegetarian-restaurant.com/menu.html
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food, slow service”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I found it an easy place to find. From the centre , locate Capitol admin building and go down Fernandez street and it is on the right after a few hundred metres. I didnt think it was so small or dark personally, it looked attractive inside and the waitress was friendly and eager to please. It looked as you would expect a vegetarian restaurant to look. Nice chairs but oh manmade tablecloths that looked good but were cheap and felt poor.

Have i mentioned the time it takes to get your drink or food, or anything , yet ? It was an epic length of time before i was served, maybe another cook is required in the kitchen? But that, of course, is a blessing in disguise really, it means the food is cooked fresh, or (unlikely) kitchen blunders.

I ordered the house smoothie, a thick carob peanut concoction that tasted good although would be better AFTER the main course not before. Then came a long long long long wait until i actually received my food. It tasted good, there are many mexican items on the menu, presumably because the blandish vegetarian food can be spiced up. Two dishes arrived together typical of Asian restaurants, the food looked like the photo ( which was colourful ). It tasted good too, well cooked, strong sauce flavours with the vegetables. The tortilla was excellent accompanied by a sweet dip.

There are no alcoholic drinks served here, i had a very watery calamansi juice. The prices for this westerner were cheap, but the drinks not so cheap.

The dessert broke the records for slowness of serving despite the restaurant being empty for most of the wait. It was a fresh fruit halohalo that tasted ok, not sweet.
Overall, the food was good, the bad points were the cheap tablecloths and SLOW SLOW time to receive the meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BackyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    51
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegetarian / Vegan Restaurant in the heart of Puerto Princesa”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been eating at Ima's over 5 years traveling to Puerto Princesa several times a year. We look forward to eating there every time we get to Puerto. The place is strictly vegetarian and has vegan options. The food is really fresh and has great flavor. Love their fresh guacamole (in season), mexican food, and great hot sauce. The atmosphere is very simple but clean and it is open to the tropical air. The staff is very friendly and helpful, but expect to wait a long time for your food as things are made from scratch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thurston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Not a vegetarian myself I was delighted with the food provided. Great veggie options, good service, great atmosphere. It is quite a small place so go early... service good and a very friendly cat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank McSpawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian restaurant in Puerto Princesa”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Perhaps the only legit vegetarian restaurant in town, Ima's is a favorite of ours. It's a quaint little place perfect for everyday healthy diet, though I wish the serving was a little bigger. But that said, the food is great. We love their Jambalaya (beans, tomatoes), Italian classic (pasta ---I always ask for salt as I feel they under-season it); eggplant basil roll, and their banana shake.

The atmosphere is very laid back, but it does get quite hot especially on summer. The place has no A/C and is by the road so it can be very noisy.

The service is always good! Their servers are always smiling, ready to explain the food, and the owners/cooks are also very accommodating.

Everytime friends are in town, I make sure to bring them here to introduce them to good vegetarian food. :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank keshie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Vegetarian excellence”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

As a vegetarian of 22 years it is often difficult for me to find decent vegetarian food at restaurants (ie. something with flair and better that I'd cook myself). Once we discovered Ima's on our second day in Puerto Princessa, we only ate elsewhere once or twice. The young man who does the front-of-house was lovely and adjusted things to suit my children when asked. And the food was delicious, wholesome, and extremely well priced. I think the owners are Seventh Day Adventist so there is no alcohol (on one visit some other restaurant goers got a bit angsty about lack of beer) but as I was travelling with kids I was happy with it's low key, quiet and safe atmosphere. One tip though - for dinner get there early or you won't find a table!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerberas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ima's Gulay Bar also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Ima's Gulay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing