We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service”
Review of Matutina Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matutina Pensionne
Ranked #44 of 199 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A home away from home. Very personalized service. Would recommend to my friends and will definitely choose to book here again. Kudos to Ms. Malu. She assisted my sisters and brother-in-law on their first trip to Puerto Princesa.Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bhotd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu0904, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Ma'am Bhot, thank you for the beautiful review! Hope you'll come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were booked at Matutina's from July 9-12, 2013 and reserved their 4-beds room. The room was spacious in spite of the 4 single beds. What we like most was the cleanliness, particularly the towels, which for me is one of the most important thing. The customer service of Malu and her team was superb! We were not disappointed with our stay in this place, everything was made easy because of how personalized the treatment was, Malu and staff were always willing to help in any way they can (e.g. Underground River Tour, Honda Bay, City Tour etc). We will definitely stay in this place again in the near future and we will also recommend this place to all our loved ones & friends who will visit Puerto Princesa because we are confident we will not be embarassed. To Malu and your staff, please keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu0904, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you, Ma'am Lani! We are truly happy to have you and your family as our guests. I do hope you'll come back one of these day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We are a budget traveler who was in search for affordable accommodation with less expectation, and we were truly amazed when we arrived at Matutina, the place was very cozy, budget friendly, and feels like home, the location of the place is very strategic, and accessible to most places. The place is so clean, rooms are spacious, with aircon, cable and free wifi. Management and staffs are all friendly and warm, this is a home away from home, if i will go back to Puerto Princesa, i will definitely stay again with Matutina.

Room Tip: If you are planning to do a Do-it-yourself Tour, matutina is the place to go, easy access to tricycl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu L, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you, Ma'am Janice, for the feedback you left us. It is always our pleasure to make all our guest's stay truly gratifying and memorable. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our stay at Matutina Pensionne was relaxed and comfortable. We stayed one night upon arrival in Puerto Princesa before continuing on to Port Barton. We enjoyed our stay and arranged to stay for a night two weeks later on our return trip. Malu and the rest of the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Malu made reservations for us at a local restaurant, helped us with taxis and answered any questions we had. The staff was always smiling.
Breakfasts were excellent and the place was very clean. I would highly recommend Matutina as the place to stay in Puerto Princesa. It was another highlight of our excellent Palawan vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu L, Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you, David, for the wonderful review. it was our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. We are so glad you had a great time in Palawan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

From our exchange of emails, text messages and phone calls to the day we arrived in Matutina, everything went smoothly and with no hassle...anyone will feel like you're visiting a relative in Palawan...the warmth and friendly smiles of the owners and staff alike are so welcoming...all of our tour packages and dinner/lunch reservations were handled professionally...they went out of their way to accommodate our requests courteously...if you plan on visiting Palawan, Matutina is your ideal B & B place...wether you'll be touring Puerto Princesa or as a stop over on your way to El Nido, Matutina is the place to stay...safe & secured, very affordable room rates, professional service and everything else is just SUPERB!!!

Kudos to the owners/managers, Ayah & Malu, for being so friendly and accommodating and to all the staff, Claire, Joy, Lorna & Apol, HATS OFF to you guys!!! We'll be seeing you soon!!! CHEERS!!!

Rey & Rye

Room Tip: From single, couple, triple, and even a family of 8-10 can share a huge room...set American/Filipino...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rey_and_Rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malu L, Guest Relations Manager at Matutina Pensionne, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful compliment! We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Highly recommended and no hassle guesthouse. The manager was very accommodating and helpful all throughout our stay. A famous pizza place is just a few steps away. If you're looking for peace, comfort, and a relaxed ambiance, Matutina is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good and peaceful location, nice atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff willing to make any sorts of reservations and calls to find out whatever info we needed. Front yard is very nice for just hanging around and the whole area is very calm and has a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Saw a single, twin, and a quadruble room and all of them were spacious with good showers, AC etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
2.4 mi away
Go Hotels Puerto Princesa
Go Hotels Puerto Princesa
#21 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palawan Village Hotel
Palawan Village Hotel
#26 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
164 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#25 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tia Mers Guest House
Tia Mers Guest House
#60 of 199 in Puerto Princesa
25 reviews
2.3 mi away
By the Bay Jacana Bed and Breakfast
By the Bay Jacana Bed and Breakf...
#3 of 199 in Puerto Princesa
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tree House Inn
Tree House Inn
#46 of 95 in Puerto Princesa
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matutina Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matutina Pensionne

Address: 40 Taft Street | Brgy. Kalipay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $13 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Matutina Pensionne 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matutina Pensionne stays true to the premise of "traditional Filipino hospitality". We believe that each and every guest is special, and we make it certain that they are. Come and experience how it feels to be "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Matutina Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matutina Pensionne Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing