We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent vacation spot in Puerto Princesa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 183 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jaen, Nueva Ecija, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation spot in Puerto Princesa”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My brother and I chose Palo Alto B&B for our 3 nights stay in Palawan. He was attending a convention in the city proper and Palo Alto is just a good 10 minutes away from the city proper. The best things about Palo Alto:

LOCATION and AMBIANCE : Since it was tucked away from the city (yes, the road to the B&B is bumpy), it allowed you your well-deserved vacation. The place was tranquil and serene. Every morning, you'd wake up to the sound of the birds and everything was just so peaceful. Going to and from the location is easy even if you have to commute via tricycle at 1 AM in the morning. :)

TRANSPORTATION: You don't really have to worry about the accessibility to the city proper- if their van cannot take you there, they can call a tricycle for you and fees are around PHP20-50 a ride. For our 4 days stay in Puerto, the van was almost always able to take us to our destinations. At night, they'd take us to restaurants where we'd have our dinner and pick-up will be at 9 PM at the ABCd store (meet-up place).

THE STAFF: Thumbs up to to everyone, absolutely everyone in the B&B (Ms. Joy, booking officer; Ms. Girlie and another one from the front office; Kuya Mervin, one of the drivers; the housekeeping, the security and the staff at Salakot Cafe)! The staff will surely make your stay pleasant. The people at the front office will assist you from the tour coordination to transportation, and even in packing your pasalubong! On our last night at the B&B, we were able to meet Mr. Guido Ylaya, the owner. We had a good conversation with him while swimming and it just goes to show how the B&B makes you feel right at home and will extend assistance to make your stay enjoyable (the pool supposedly closes at 10 PM but Mr. Ylaya allowed us to swim past that, haha!).

THE FOOD: They have big servings! Breakfasts are enjoyable, you get to choose a day before what you want your breakfast to be like and boy, are the breakfasts delish! There were times I can't even finish my meal as I was already full. Must try would be their MOTHSI, their take on the halo-halo.

ECO-FRIENDLY: The bath is solar-powered. The rooms need an electricity card plugged in to turn on the electricity. This means if you are not staying in the room, then there is absolutely no electricity running (unless you have something in the fridge which you need cool by the time you arrive, you may request the staff at the cafe to keep it first). The place has NO mosquitoes!

THEY WON TRIP ADVISOR'S TRAVELLER'S CHOICE FOR 2013!

Probably, the only improvement I could suggest is the room size. We were booked on a twin deluxe room, the size is convenient enough for my brother and me but could improve still. :)

So if you're looking for a place where you could rest and really take a breather, you could definitely book at Palo Alto. You could disregard all the previous reviews that the place is far from the city-- it isn't. After all the touring, eating and shopping, at the end of the day, nothing beats to going home knowing you could rest and reenergize for the next day's activities. I wouldn't think twice in booking this B&B the next time I'm in Puerto Princesa. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coeli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    71
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
84
96
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iloilo City, Phils
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Love the quietness of place. Staff were helpful and nice. Rooms are clean but quite small. Comfy, firm beds but also small, wish they have queen or king sized bed. H&C water working well. Shower area is too small. No other issues aside from those, well.. that's why it's B&B! But still love the place. Thanks for the chocolates last Vday. Good service. Keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to be away from all the busy city activities/traffic but yet not compromise on quality stay. Secluded place but easy to locate. Its like finding paradise after travelling on 5-7 mins of village road. Calling for a tricycle is easy and the hotel will gladly do that for you. Costs us max-to-max pesos.50 per trip only (for 2 of us). Its about 5 mins drive to Robinsons Place (shopping mall). Only thing the hotel should try to improve is their variety of items on their menu at the restaurant. There are less than 10 items on the menu and probably need to improve on variety.

In overall, Room was very clean, Service was excellent (always with a big SMILE!), Breakfast was very good with quality!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 2nd floor! As I heard from other guests that the rooms on the first floor tend to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ylayapauline, General Manager at Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Palo Alto B&B. Since we've opened in June2011 majority of the public transportation as well as Palawan locals now know how to get to Palo Alto making the commute to Palo Alto easy.

As a Bed & Breakfast we offer the basic burgers, sandwiches, pizzas and pastas. Should our guests want something heavier for their meals we have a different menu filled with Filipino dishes which they can order a few hours beforehand because we don't stock up on the ingredients because we want them to be as fresh as possible so will have to go to the market. :)

Thank you for calling our attention towards the "ant invasion". That might have been due to guests leaving food in their rooms because we actually use probiotics, an alternative to pesticide, which usually takes care of unwanted invaders. But we'll still look into it.

Very truly yours,
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Whenever we go to a place for a “real” vacation, we always look for a “homey feeling” where we can really feel relaxed and free from worries & stress and that’s so far we got from PALO ALTO. The place is a nature-inspired resort. Made from wooden structures & lush tropical greeneries.

Room is clean though quite small and simple, very basic. Bringing your own toiletries is an advice. They provide toiletries but I guess not enough for your stay.

Plated Breakfast is pretty ok & better to try different Filipino breakfast everyday, from Beef Tapa to Danggit, I highly recommend you to taste “Mothsi” their own version of Halo-Halo I guess.

Staffs are helpful and courteous. They will help you organize your trips & also help you to book for your dinner reservations at any restaurant you want and will also recommend you the best places to eat.

The downside is the rough road from the outside, which needs a big improvement especially now that Palawan’s underground river is already One of New Seven Wonders of the World. So expect more and more visitors all over the world.

But overall, the place is a sure hit!

Kudos to you and your great staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DNG6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ylayapauline, General Manager at Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you felt at home in Palo Alto. It was my dad's dream to build something that was one with the environment and we try really hard for everyone to feel at home during their stay with us.

We provide shampoo and soap for all of our guests but since we're not a hotel we don't automatically restock/make-up guest rooms without the guest's permission. We tell our guests to put up the "please make up room" sign whenever they want us to clean their rooms and along with that, restock the toiletries. Other guests who don't want to have their rooms made up just ask for more toiletries :)

I'm sorry that you feel that the rough road leading to Palo Alto is a downside. My dad actually chose to build Palo Alto away from it all because he wanted it to be an adventure.

Again thank you so much for staying at Palo Alto and we're glad to have been of service!

Very truly yours,
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glinde, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beginning of February 2013 we stayed a night at Palo Alto to catch a next morning flight to Cebu. Arriving in the evening in darkness from Sabang a taxi drove us to the "middle of nowhere" and we we were very amazed what to see after arriving at the B&B - and unexpected oasis. With the Palo Alto a Filippino civil engineer realized his dream to built a hotel only from wood in a fabulous and very creative design.
The service of the Palo Alto team was excellent, free shuttle service into the city centre and from/to the airport is provided as part of the accommdation rate. In essence , we can only support any of the positive Tripadvisor comments of the past and highly recommend to choose the Palo Alto if travelers to Puerto Princesa would like to enyoy an outstanding accommodation. We booked a standard room which was fine for a night but would choose a suite for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ylayapauline, General Manager at Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay in Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast. It really was my Dad's dream to build a place like Palo Alto and constructing the place took almost 2 years because he wanted it to be exactly how he imagined it to be.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again one day!

Very truly yours,
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
In general, this place is good;
Friendly staff and owners;
The breakfast was really nice;
The room was clean when we got there.

Cons:
We booked 5months in advance. Apart from being very excited to have a vacation in Palawan, we want to be assured of the accomodation and tours. Our booking was on January 2. They contacted us just through email (being on vacation, it was lucky enough that I even checked my email that day) on December 29 (Saturday), informing us that they were not able to secure Underground River tour permits for us. It was a dismay because we are on vacation and we shouldn't be worrying about such stuff...and the Underground River is the main attraction in Puerto Princesa!..and worse, the following days (Dec30-31 and Jan1) would be non-working days for their booking office and we wouldn't be able to do anything about it. We were even hoping they would somehow make up for it, but no..they insisted there's nothing they could do about it or that it was not their fault. Luckily, my fiance's brother-in-law and sister helped us to secure the said permit.

Also, as I said, we exchanged emails and that included me requesting for a room on their second floor 'cause I have read somewhere that outside the rooms on that floor are its own lounge areas. It was just not nice to hear from the owner herself to tell the frontdesk staff to "check" the emails as if she's doubting I did so. We heard it very clear 'cause she said it aloud.

Though our room was not messy, we asked for it to be cleaned on our third day...ofcourse that would also mean changing linens/beddings right?! Coming from a stroll somewhere, we were welcomed with a clean but foul smelling room with linens and beddings not as clean as they should be. We had to ask a staff, and she said they replaced it but maybe the problem was with the laundry shop that washed their linens. So we just asked her to have it replaced, which she did immediately and asked us to check. Nice of her, but I was hoping we didn't have to ask again.

As indicated, this place is good, but like others there is always a space for improvement. Cons seem longer than the pros but it doesn't mean it was that bad. I just wanted to explain our experiences with them. :D

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ylayapauline, General Manager at Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review for us. We're still very sorry about the Underground River permits and we've explained to you why it happened.

But for the benefit of other readers here's a brief summary: A few months ago the Underground River Booking Office only allowed travel agencies to secure Underground River permits for their guests a month before the guests arrived meaning even if somebody booked 1 year in advance, travel agencies cannot do anything but wait a month before the arrival to get the permits.

Once we're already allowed to line up for the permits it doesn't matter if we're the first one in line, we draw lots to see who gets served first. We got a really bad number and by the time that it was already our turn all the slots for the date of your stay was fully booked. I apologize for not informing you about the process and the situation beforehand. We had no idea that it would be that difficult a process when you booked 5 months in advance.

When we informed you that we were not able to secure your permits in advance we offered you an alternative which was to go in as a walk-in guests which required your personal appearance. You wanted us to guarantee the permits which we could not do because we have no control over the permits and since we could not guarantee it your fiance's brother-in-law demanded that we refund your airplane tickets and give your rooms for free as a way to "make up for it". Sorry, but as a business we could not do that.

We assisted a few guests of ours who stayed the same date as you and who also didn't have permits as walk-in guests when they arrived and we were able to get them their permits very quickly.

About your check-in my mom was at the front desk when you arrived and she was not doubting your request, she wanted to find our who received the email and why they didn't endorse it to the people in charge of room assignments. I'm sorry it felt like she was doubting what you said, she just wanted to know who was accountable for the oversight.

Since your stay there has been a lot of improvements in Palo Alto as well as at the Underground River Booking Office.

1. The Underground River Booking Office has made a few changes to their policies and now they allow us to secure permits 6 months in advance which is very helpful to all.

2. We stopped using that Laundry Shop because not only did they return our linens smelling bad but sometimes they return it stained and sometimes with holes. We now do our own laundry so we have proper quality control.

3. We now inform all of our guests through emails and our website the status of the Underground River Permits. Anyone can now check whether or not the dates they want are still available or not.

Again we're really sorry and we're happy that you still enjoyed your stay despite of all the things that happened.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your experience and we'll continue to strive for excellence and make sure everyone has a great experience at Palo Alto.

Very truly yours,
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place is amazing. There is free shuttle service to/from hotel. The front desk' girls were very kind. they booked for us the restaurants for the nights, the underground river tour and the van to reach el nido.
Everything was perfect.

The room was clean and cute, the breakfast was very good.
the whole b&b was into the nature. there was also a swimming pool just across the little street in front of the hotel (private swimmingpool) near the great hall.

I'd like to send A very special thanks to paulina (the daughter of the owner) she was so kind with us.

We went there during the last christmas holiday and we enjoyed a lot this place!

You can't miss it!! Belive me!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisa0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ylayapauline, General Manager at Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello Ms. Elisa,

Thank you for taking the time to review Palo Alto B&B! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay! It was really nice to meet you and your friends! If ever you guys or your friends/family ever find themselves in Palawan sometime in the future remember that you have friends here!

Very truly yours,
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.3 mi away
Aziza Paradise Hotel
Aziza Paradise Hotel
#19 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#10 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#11 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
493 reviews
1.8 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#12 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast

Property: Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast
Address: Kawayanan Street, Libis Road | Barangay San Pedro, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palo Alto is only 15 minutes away from Palawan Airport and 5 minutes away from BM Beach and the soon-to-be-opened Robinsons' Shopping Complex. Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast consists of mostly wooden structures combined with other materials, such as Capiz shells and Abaca fiber, designed to aesthetically enhance the beauty of wood. It nestles harmoniously with Palawan's natural surroundings of lush tropical greeneries and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palo Alto Bed And Breakfast
Palo Alto Hotel Puerto Princesa
Palo Alto Bed & Breakfast Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing