We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay in PP at hotel Centro”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Centro
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
washington dc
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Stay in PP at hotel Centro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights at Hotel Centro & very pleased with the choice. Excellent service from airport pick-up & check-in on. We arrived early (9 am) & sprung for the early check-in (600 pesos). Very attentive staff helped with restaurant reservations & trike taxis. Booked nighttime fire-fly tour through the hotel (worthwhile if looking for something to do one night) and had the breakfast buffet included as part of our room. Breakfast was good, with omelet station one of the two mornings we dined.

I think we had an upgrade from the standard room, giving us a little bit more space. Overall the facility was nice, we had been staying at a couple of other hotels in the provinces were hot water was deemed an unnecessary luxury, so the showers were a welcome surprise. Pool was large, warm &well-designed(good area to swim laps); hotel also has a small but good exercise room (another thing missing from other hotels).

Recommended restaurant is Badjao - great seafood on the waterfront. Hotel well set up trike taxi for you, 500 pesos for there & back (about a 15 min ride).

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wiscomilker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hello Wiscomilker!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa for 2 nights. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. One of our hotel's pride is our Travel Concierge, they arrange dinner reservations and tours for you. Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We shall treasure your good review.

We hope to see you again at Hotel Centro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    178
    105
    31
    20
See reviews for
117
158
29
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My family and I were planning on staying in Hotel Centro but we changed out minds as we couldn't get a decent reply to our inquiries via email! The hotel's constantly changing shifts of employees makes it difficult to maintain good lines of communication! If you have other options for your stay in Palawan, it's best to explore those instead of this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jamesong1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello Mr. Jamesong1969!

Thank you for taking the time to review about us. Our deepest apologies for the hassle we caused you. It is our fault that we were lacking reservations officers these past months. But we are addressing that concern already, we hired great reservations officer to assist you well. You may directly call us with our mobile 0917.599.1912.

We hope to see you when you visit Puerto Princesa again!

Josephine Fabello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel interiors are above average since it was just a new hotel during our stay. Services are very good. They are very warm and attentive. The pool is okay since I think you would prefer to stay on the beach in Palawan. Great base hotel going Honday Bay and Underground River Tours. The hotel also organize these tours. Rooms are very nice except those with columns at the middle of the room. So beware of those. I suggest you specify your request not to bunk you on those rooms because its a little disturbing. Breakfast is very good. Diet is a nonsense. Overall it a very good hotel despite its location is a little outside the city center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyph08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello Panopioa,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as you home stay in Puerto Princesa. Indeed our hotel is just 3 years old, yet we bank on great customer service and satisfaction. One of our best pride is having our own concierge, who can arrange all other things for you, aside from arranging tours for you, they can also arrange a dinner for you at other restaurants in the city.

As for the rooms, we have 6 different room categories that people can choose from. From a standard to a Honeymoon suite. All with buffet breakfast for you and your kids when availing our promo.

Thanks again for taking the time to write about us. We hope to see you again at Hotel Centro.

Jo Fabello
Marcomm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2nites.. 6-8Feb2014.. Location was ok as it is near the mall. Hallway to our room was a bit stinky..probably poor ventilation.. Room was alright ..you just have to switch on the aircon to drive away the room smell..Though not too many choices with the breakfast but it helps start your day an average Filipino breakfast. Staff were helpful and courteous. We have an issue with our checkout which I am currently verifying with our tour agent in the Philippines, We spoke to the hotel manager (Mr Duenas?) and he ascertained that once the travel agent (South East Asia Travel Agent) has remitted our payment the hotel will not charge my credit card. I have given them my email address but have not receive any updates with regards to the Travel agent issue. Bingo, checked my account recently and looks like we have been double charged by the hotel. To the Hotel management, please provide update, I assume you know my details..If not checked your records between 6-8 Feb 2014.
Overall, this hotel is not too bad...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Ms. Espie!

We apologize for the incident regarding your travel agent. I already sent a communications to the Hotel's reservations and front desk to give you feedback on your concern. It appears you dealt with a bogus travel agent, until now we are calling the travel agent regarding your booking. We are deeply sorry about this concern. In spite of that, we thank you for taking the time to write about us at TripAdvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and booked two day trips through the hotel. Communication before our arrival was excellent and our permits for the Puerto Princesa Underground Rover tour were confirmed in advance (we were advised by the hotel to do this a month in advance to guarantee the day that we wanted). We used the free airport transfer and were greeted by a friendly chap called Ricky who was waiting for us at the arrivals terminal (tiny airport - it certainly won't take you long to spot the hotel representative!). He immediately gave us water, a map of the city and recommended restaurants and things to do as he drove us to the hotel. The staff at the hotel was polite at all times and tried hard to meet all our needs. We ate at the hotel one evening and the staff was equally as pleasant. The food was nothing special but that's a question of personal taste! Breakfast was plentiful and was served from 6am, which is brilliant if you've to be up early for a day trip. Unlike other reviews, we thought that variety of food at breakfast was okay. It was at times busy but we found staff to be attentive and friendly.

The hotel offers free WiFi and although our room was a bit poky, was clean and comfortable. The shower room was also good and was especially welcome after a day exploring different places in Palawan. Complimentary water was given to us each day and the amenities in the bathroom were lovely. There was a safe in the room was well. Unfortunately, it was at times a little noisy at night as we could both noise from the corridors and from outside the hotel as well.

The location of the hotel is great - seconds from Robinson's Shopping Centre and a short 40 pesos trip into town (Puerto Princesa is a tiny town so it won't take you long to get around!). There was always a tricycle ready to take us to wherever we wanted to go and the friendly security guard was always extremely helpful explaining to the drivers where we wanted to go as well. The concierge helped us make dinner reservations etc. It may not be a 5 star international branded hotel but that is one of the charms of this property. This is definitely a good hotel to stay at in Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello UKonthego!

It is our pleasure having you and your company in our hotel. Our hotel is located at the heart of the city, where hospital, mall, and police station is just a walking distance. We appreciate your excellent recommendation of our hotel. Our travel concierge is one of our great pride.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write about us. We hope to see you again at Hotel Centro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Quoting the tour guide, this is the safest hotel in town - being just blocks away from the town hospital. The hotel layout is good, and the ground floor interiors are well designed, and the staff are friendly. The corridor leading to our rooms needs some more illumination, but the rooms are adequate. I would recommend to the hotel, to add more night stands on the side, instead of one night stand shared by two beds.

The breakfast menu is fine, but needs to appeal to foreign visitors. The fried fish Danguit, which is one of my favorites needs a better presentation. Variety is what the breakfast menu lacks if you're staying more than a day. All of these are just minor flaws that I have observed.

Now for the catch: on my room on the 4th floor, at the end of the corridor, there's a daily meeting or activity near one of their halls nearby. We can hear the clapping and singing from our room. Then as the crowd pass by (exiting through the same lobby?), some of them would try to jiggle the door knob.

The final catch - as we're checking out, one of the hotel staff would accuse us of taking a towel and consuming Sprite from the room's mini-bar. Of course, we denied it, but they ask me to sign a waiver. That just eliminates two stars from my four star rating for this hotel. Sorry that wasn't appealing for a return stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the end of the 4th floor corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdS90041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello EdS0041,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We apologize for any inconveniences we have caused you. Every sunday, there's a function in our conference area wherein they worship.

Thank you for taking the time to write about us, we hope to see you again at Hotel Centro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 10-13 Feb.

The good stuff:
Friendly and helpful staff
Good pool
Very good room rates
Free airport shuttle
Quiet

The not so good stuff:

Disgusting shower with loads of mould growing - yes it is the humid Philippines but the extent of the mould was just inexcusable.

Poor breakfast - pretty limited choices - no brown bread, no yoghurt, and the "hot" food was nearer to cold than lukewarm. Breakfast was open til 10, but at 9.15 one morning the live egg station had been removed, the fruit platter was virtually empty and was not refilled. We found the coffee pretty unpalatable too.

Weak wifi in the room. You had to stand by the door to get a decent signal some of the time.

A better breakfast and a cleaner shower would have resulted in 5/5 as we were happy with everything else about the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank benmychree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Benmychree,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We read about your concern with regards to our shower head. Since our hotel is already 3 years old, our rooms are all under renovation. the city's water system produces sediments more than the rest of the provinces. We apologies for any inconveniences we have caused you. As for the breakfast line up, we acknowledge your recommendation of adding pastries, breads and yoghurt.

Puerto Princesa is an island, therefore, wifi is weaker and didnt have enough capacity to supply internet to all guests. We are thinking of a proper solution regarding that matter.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.6 mi away
Aziza Paradise Hotel
Aziza Paradise Hotel
#19 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.1 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#7 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#10 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.9 mi away
One Manalo Place Hotel
One Manalo Place Hotel
#16 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro

Property: Hotel Centro
Address: San Pedro National Highway, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Centro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 1.2 hectares of verdant surroundings in the heart of Puerto Princesa, Hotel Centro allows you to relax in and commune with nature. It offers air-conditioned rooms, all of which have cable TV, mini-bar, and coffee/tea maker. Some of its amenities are business centre with high-speed Internet access, swimming pool, and airport and city transfers. While staying here you can visit some tourist spots like Puerto Princesa Underground River, Honda Bay Islands, Ugong Rock Spelunking and Zipline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Centro Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing