We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un-trustworthy staff, and cold showers”
Review of Hotel Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Centro
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Un-trustworthy staff, and cold showers”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I figured I'd want to stay in the best place in Puerto Princesa, so we went for Hotel Centro. The rooms look a little dated and haven't been renovated like the outside, so they're just "okay". I tried to connect to the wifi many times, but it basically never worked. You'd think for such a good hotel they'd have a backup plan. The first night our shower would go from very hot to very cold every 30 or so seconds. Great. Then the 3 other nights, the shower was simply freezing cold - no hot water at all. Fantastic. The first night we were tired and wanted to just eat in, so we ate at the restaurant downstairs. We waited literally for 45 minutes. Finally we asked the manager (Liza) what was happening, and she didn't say anything, she just walked into the kitchen and never returned. Then we asked a waiter, and she finally returned. She didn't provide any reason why it was so late and we complained. When she walked off I saw her roll her eyes, and I could see she later joked with the other waiter. The guards/security were very friendly. We asked them if there was a jeep going to Honda Bay, they said no. We then asked how much a tricycle should cost, they said 450. We were a bit suspicious after we went, because it was only a 15 minute ride away. So we asked 3 locals, and they said 200 peso one-way with a tricycle. However they all said there is also a jeep. The guards/security are obviously locals, and would know this, so it looks like they're ripping off the guests and pocketing a commission. We told the manager at the front desk, and she didn't seem to care or look surprised. Very disappointed...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacksonCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Guest Services Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Warm greetings from Hotel Centro, your top-notch hotel in Puerto Princesa!

Thank you for your review at TripAdvisor dated April 29, 2013. We appreciate our guests taking time to give feedback. We value your comments and suggestions!

We apologize for the inconveniences of the inconsistency in the temperature of your shower. We have already endorsed it to our engineering to look into. We shall also strictly implement a standard tariff for transportation costs, as well as re-orient the service quality of our staff at the Front Office and our Expressions Café.

Rest assured that we shall discuss all points to the upper management so that we may be able to continue to improve our products and services.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope we could do better next time and serve you again, during your next stay at Puerto Princesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    191
    113
    32
    23
See reviews for
129
165
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel 3D/2N, First thing notice by my family members is the FO/GM unfriendliness to young adult(age 24 & 20 my children) and non alertness to guess needs. I have to call their attention to be able to let them know that i help to store my box in their luggage storage area specially the duty manager on 28 April @8-8:30 AM. Really disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmikopath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel. We will note on all the observations and suggestions on ways to improve our services. We apologize for the inconveniences we have caused during your stay in our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our number one priority.

We are looking forward in seeing you again here in Hotel Centro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights because it was the best hotel we could find in Puerto Princesa. The customer service was the best! Everyone was very helpful and polite. The actual room was pretty small. We had booked a deluxe room with the free breakfast buffet which was excellent. There wasn't much space to move around, and the free wifi didn't reach our room, but the beds were comfortable. When we first came in, the bathroom smelled like urine and there were no toiletries. We called the front desk and someone came to clean right away and provide the toiletries. However, the next day no one came to clean at all. They came to replace the towels, but we had to take out our own trash. The pool was great! They had a shallow one for kids and a deeper one for adults. There was also a hot tub and outside shower. As soon as we had set up on one of the lounge chairs, someone came over to provide towels. I would go back here because the customer service was just excellent. I can't commend them enough. We also used their spa services. It was a small but relaxing room, and we got a 90 minute massage as a couple. Either we were really tired or the massage was just really good because we both fell asleep on the massage table. Overall we would go back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbperdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel. We will note on all the observations and suggestions on ways to improve our services in the rooms department.

We apologize for the WIFI connection, our city in undergoing internet tower upgrades for improvement of services around Puerto Princesa and Palawan.

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

We are looking forward in seeing you again here in Hotel Centro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila philippines
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am sure leisure and business travelers are celebrating knowing there is finally a chick hotel in Puerto Princesa where they can stay.And this I mean for both the local and international market.Hotel Centro is a top-notch hotel equipped with elegant rooms and complete with the amenities you need.It is famous for events and conventions.

It's 10 minutes away from the airport and is along the main highway to Honda Bay, Underground River and even as far as El Nido.Shuttle service to and from the airport is free and efficient.Check in was quick so we were in our room in no time.Lobby is well lit s so it feels alive all the time,even during late hours and is spacious so you don't feel crowded even when guests come in numbers.

We stayed in a deluxe room which is rather square-sh in contrast to the usual rectangular rooms in most hotels.It has a sofa set which makes you feel that it has a separate living room area which is usually a feature of family suites.Despite that,I noticed that there is still enough space to go around.That means one can easily set aside the chairs to make way for extra beds.The room is perfect for "big group" or "family" travels.The queen-size bed is not the softest there is but comfortable just the same.I noticed that the lights are dim and it gives an intimate appeal to the room although I think it would also be nice if there is an option to open additional lights should you want the room to be brighter than the intimate setup.Still, the room is nice.Spacious.Elegant.

I am sure the pool is the envy of most accommodations in the city.It is my favorite place to hang out especially at night when it is lit in blue and the grand facade of the hotel is the crowning background.There are plenty of loungers to lazy around.Especially during summer, the water is warm during the night and the fact that it is open until 10pm is perfect for a night dip.The soul bar by the poolside is there if you want to heat things up a bit.

I noticed one weakness though.The food.A hotel this caliber should put up with the intense demand for good food.Some of the food at the breakfast buffet during our stay were plain tasting .I also hope they try to incorporate more local (Palawan delicacies) in the menu.But not the crocodile please!Kidding.Yeah, I think other than the food, Hotel Centro has what it takes to be one of the best hotels in Puerto Princesa.The high occupancy rate of this hotel is of course the obvious sign of this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pusangkalye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff.

We will note on all the observations and suggestions on ways to improve our food and our facilities. Our hotel rooms and hallways are equipped with LED lights therefore environment - friendly.

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigamme, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pros:
Good location
Clean and new hotel
Nice pool and breakfast
Helpful staff
Cons:
smaller room and bath room
Bad wifi (They had a free business center and had to email there)

I would suggest this place to a friend and would def come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff.

We will note on all the observations and suggestions on ways to improve our guest's services and our facilities. WIFI providers are in the process of upgrading all their network sites in Puerto Princesa, we apologize for the all inconveniences we have caused you. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Despite a few negative reviews posted for this hotel, I took a chance with Hotel Centro since I found the published rate online a good deal. Extremely satisfied with my decision as the service I received was excellent. The staff was very nice and accommodating, the room and comfort room were clean and the food was great (try their Buffalo Chicken Burger!).

The location is not bad either. It's just a few minutes away from the airport and famous restaurants such as Ka Lui and Kinabuch, a few steps away from Robinson's mall and is on the way to the northern tourist destinations in Puerto Princesa such as Honda Bay, Underground River and Iwahig sites.

If there's one thing I would ask to be improved on, it would be the variety/number of food served during breakfast. They only serve 3 different dishes per day, rice, arroz caldo, and a minimal selection of bread and fruits.

I will definitely stay here when I visit Puerto Princesa again. Thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacque C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff.

Big thanks for your great review of our Hotel. Rest assured we will address all your recommendations in improving our breakfast line-up. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority. Let us know your next visit, we are willing to assist you on all your hotel needs.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I are world travelers.
We've been to some of the best and worst hotels around the world spending 6 months of the last 12 months in hotels of different levels.

We stayed at Hotel Centro one night during transit from El Nido.

Reading some previous reviews, we expected some difficulty with the staff but we didn't encounter any unfriendliness.
Reservation, check in and check out was quick and efficient.

Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, plenty of pillows and toiletries.
Towels were clean. (lacked shower mat and wash cloth.)
It's a smaller hotel but perhaps big in Puerto Princessa.
Lobby was well decorated and clean.

Since we stayed during Easter, we did notice the lack of Staff and lots of events but service wasn't lacking.

Only disappointment was the food.
We chose this hotel because of previous reviews stating that the food was very good.
The dinner was an outdoor grill night and it tasted fine but due to lack of staff some of our pork and chicken were raw.
We will NOT eat undercooked Pork or Chicken during travels in the Philippines.

The Breakfast buffet choice was few and when they ran out of eggs, they did not replenish it.
No Omelet station and although they will cook eggs to order, there was no wait staff to ask for the eggs.

Shuttle transfer to airport was free, efficient and No crowding.

Overall, due to location we will stay here again if we choose to travel to El Nido via land again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJWKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff.

Rest assured we will address all your concerns on our service staff. We are on a process of upgrading our menu and we will note on your observation to our Grill Nights and Breakfast food line-up. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#7 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#13 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
195 reviews
2.1 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#3 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#15 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#2 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palawan Uno Hotel
Palawan Uno Hotel
#33 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro

Property: Hotel Centro
Address: San Pedro National Highway, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Centro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 1.2 hectares of verdant surroundings in the heart of Puerto Princesa, Hotel Centro allows you to relax in and commune with nature. It offers air-conditioned rooms, all of which have cable TV, mini-bar, and coffee/tea maker. Some of its amenities are business centre with high-speed Internet access, swimming pool, and airport and city transfers. While staying here you can visit some tourist spots like Puerto Princesa Underground River, Honda Bay Islands, Ugong Rock Spelunking and Zipline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Centro Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing