We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Centro
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Despite a few negative reviews posted for this hotel, I took a chance with Hotel Centro since I found the published rate online a good deal. Extremely satisfied with my decision as the service I received was excellent. The staff was very nice and accommodating, the room and comfort room were clean and the food was great (try their Buffalo Chicken Burger!).

The location is not bad either. It's just a few minutes away from the airport and famous restaurants such as Ka Lui and Kinabuch, a few steps away from Robinson's mall and is on the way to the northern tourist destinations in Puerto Princesa such as Honda Bay, Underground River and Iwahig sites.

If there's one thing I would ask to be improved on, it would be the variety/number of food served during breakfast. They only serve 3 different dishes per day, rice, arroz caldo, and a minimal selection of bread and fruits.

I will definitely stay here when I visit Puerto Princesa again. Thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacque C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff.

Big thanks for your great review of our Hotel. Rest assured we will address all your recommendations in improving our breakfast line-up. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority. Let us know your next visit, we are willing to assist you on all your hotel needs.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 526 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I are world travelers.
We've been to some of the best and worst hotels around the world spending 6 months of the last 12 months in hotels of different levels.

We stayed at Hotel Centro one night during transit from El Nido.

Reading some previous reviews, we expected some difficulty with the staff but we didn't encounter any unfriendliness.
Reservation, check in and check out was quick and efficient.

Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, plenty of pillows and toiletries.
Towels were clean. (lacked shower mat and wash cloth.)
It's a smaller hotel but perhaps big in Puerto Princessa.
Lobby was well decorated and clean.

Since we stayed during Easter, we did notice the lack of Staff and lots of events but service wasn't lacking.

Only disappointment was the food.
We chose this hotel because of previous reviews stating that the food was very good.
The dinner was an outdoor grill night and it tasted fine but due to lack of staff some of our pork and chicken were raw.
We will NOT eat undercooked Pork or Chicken during travels in the Philippines.

The Breakfast buffet choice was few and when they ran out of eggs, they did not replenish it.
No Omelet station and although they will cook eggs to order, there was no wait staff to ask for the eggs.

Shuttle transfer to airport was free, efficient and No crowding.

Overall, due to location we will stay here again if we choose to travel to El Nido via land again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff.

Rest assured we will address all your concerns on our service staff. We are on a process of upgrading our menu and we will note on your observation to our Grill Nights and Breakfast food line-up. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was really a pleasant experience having chosen this hotel to spend the holy week (March 28-31,2013). At the airport when we arrived in Palawan, I was really expecting to give them a call and tell them we were already there since our flight was delayed for an hour and a half. But to my surprise, their van were still there waiting for us. The driver, while on the road gave us a backgrounder about Puerto Pricesa and we really appreciate it! Upon arrival at the hotel premise, we were welcomed by their staff with a tasteful juice, We were checked in quite a breeze considering that there were plenty of us that arrived also checking in at that time. We were approached by this "very chinese" looking guy (whom I thought was the manager?) and helped us get thru the check in process quickly. In about a few mins, we were inside our room. Below are the PROS and CONS of our stay here in this hotel.

PROS:

1. The hotel exudes a very nice scent at the lobby that is truly distinct. That's the first time I smelled that kind of scent. Some says its rosemary, Is it really rosemary?
2. Staff are nice. They are all very hospitable. Always ready to lend a hand.
3. The entire hotel and the room itself is very clean.
4. I was also surprised to realize that they gave in to my online request of being placed in a room overlooking the amenity and the pool area despite of the heavy volume of guests during those time and to the fact that we checked in very late (around 7PM).
5. Their tour desk (AMIKA) is very reliable. No hidden charges or whatsoever. We enjoyed 3 of their package tours. Guides are very nice and know how to mingle with each one of us.
6. Their breakfast is also palatable. When I read something bad about their breakfast here, it sort of turned me off, so I didn't expect something good about it. But when I experienced it myself, its not bad at all! Its actually good! Food tastes superb and daily variation is excellent!
7. And the perk is, when you present their welcome letter which you can find in their room upon check out, you get a 50% off voucher on your entire hotel stay on your next visit. Isn't it great?! Don't ever forget this one!

CONS:
1. The lift is quite small. It can only accommodate up to 4 persons but they managed this by placing a spiral stairway which you can use as an alternative. But fortunately during our stay there, though there was a huge volume of guests, the lift never became a problem. No long waiting time probably since guests don't use the lift at the same time, all the time.
2. The room itself is also small and somewhat expensive even though we availed of their "FREE ON 3" promo which entitles us for a free room on our 3rd night of stay. It costs us P14,000 for 3 days (P4.6K per night) which is still too high.
3. The place is quite deserted at night time. When you feel you're hungry and you want to snack on something which happened to me at 1AM, you have to travel by tricycle for at least 10mins to get to the city proper to satisfy your hunger. Though Robinsons Mall is just quite near (only 5 mins walk), there were no other establishment which is open from 10pm onwards for your emergency personal needs.
4. WIFI is not reliable. It comes and goes. When it comes, its really freakin' slow. Thanks to my ever reliable unlimited data plan with my telco, SMART. It has a strong 3G signal in this area. I can share my connection via personal hotspot, to my iPad and to my friend's mobile. I was even surprised to find out that this is also the case at their lobby and even at expressions cafe -- VERY SLOW WIFI!
5. The fitness center is indeed small and lacks many facilities for a truly complete workout experience. It is just in a plain room estimated to be around 20sq m. If you are used to working out in a standard class gym, you will just be disappointed.
6. There were instance that when we requested for our toiletries at the housekeeping, it took us 3 follow up calls for it to arrive. And at check out, we never thought that the van which will take us back to the airport have already left us without the receptionist informing us because we were still processing our bill. We were therefore booked to the next arriving van. We were made to wait for 30 mins but when the time we got anxious because our flight will be due within the next hour, they managed to dispatch a van exclusively for us.

Overall, stay here in this hotel is indeed very satisfactory! Though we can never avoid having a little complain which is very understandable.

Room Tip: Nice view from a room facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Marketing Communications Officer at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa last Holy Week. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff. Rest assured we will address all your concerns on our service staff.

We will note on all the observations and suggestions on ways to improve our guest's services and our facilities. WIFI providers are in the process of upgrading all their network sites in Puerto Princesa, we apologize for the all inconveniences we have caused you. We are the only hotel in Puerto Princesa who has a fitness center and offer it free to all guests. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our accommodation was booked through our tour guide. Upon arrival, we were surprised with a higher rate however, a short call to our guide clarified the rate that we were quoted. Though we were not happy with our original room, we were transferred the next day to a better one overlooking the pool. Both rooms were on the small side.We enjoyed the daily breakfast with made to order omelets. We also enjoyed the pool,the poolside bar and the spa massage. Although the massages were great, it could be improved by eliminating interruptions caused by conversations between massage staff and answering phone calls.The housekeeping staff was quick to respond to our additional needs. I also commend Jason, Faisal and the supervisor (not sure if his name is Joel) for their extraordinary service.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool is the better side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home stay in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff. Rest assured your commendation of Jason, Faisal and John will be brought up to their respective managers.

Thank you also for your inputs on improving our spa, we will take note of your suggestions and address your concerns immediately. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We had been traveling for days and staying in low budget inns. We booked Central because it had a pool, we just wanted to hang out for the day before our long journey home. The young woman at the front desk was soooooo persnickety and quite rude.
The pool is lovely. We ate 2x's at the restaurant.
Food was pretty good, better than we expected. Again, another persnickety young woman. This time a server.
We did have a great room!
We had no problems with the airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tandrtravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your accommodation in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff.

We apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you. We will note your recommendations for our Hotel Services guest satisfaction. Rest assured that we will address your concerns to its respective departments.

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel is probably one of the fanciest in Puerto Princesa, it;s big, new, and functional. All these bright and shiny things should give the hotel a very good rating at least, but my oh my - the staff is its biggest downfall! I was not surprised to see reviews before me about how rude the staff are and how they need to treat guests better!

Aside from a very slow check in and check out, our experience waiting for the shuttle to the airport is the most hassle we've been in. They wanted to fit everybody in one shuttle! There were 12 people from different rooms with a lot of baggage and they only wanted to do the run one time. We tried to reason out that it's not going to be comfortable and that we'd rather take the next shuttle, but the staff said oh so matter of factly, "there's another one at 12nn" We could not take that one! We'll be late for our flight. So we cramped ourselves in the shuttle, and of course our bags stumbled and fell in the back.

For the price we paid, I am POSITIVE that we deserve a separate shuttle, geez, I'm sure we deserve 100 different shuttles!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yjgisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your accommodation in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff.

We apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you. Rest assured that we will address your concerns to its respective departments.

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Off the bat, Hotel Centro could use some seminars or workshops on ideal customer handling.

The transport dude was great, the receptionist however, needs one hell of a happy meal.

The rooms are clean, spacious (ask for the corner rooms) and very comfortable. Its a great place to crash after spelunking on Ugong Cave. The breakfast selection is average, ask for eggs if you want since its not on the buffet table, but the dishes are extremely tasty (for asians). Westerners could find the buffet a bit 'blah' since there's no real deli and pastry section.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms. Floor area is much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzymeetstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your accommodation in Puerto Princesa. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff.

We are in the process of revising our Breakfast Menu, rest assured that we will address your concerns to our Hotel Chef.

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.

We hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#15 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#11 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aziza Paradise Hotel
Aziza Paradise Hotel
#18 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
335 reviews
2.1 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#8 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro

Address: San Pedro National Highway, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $46 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Centro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 1.2 hectares of verdant surroundings in the heart of Puerto Princesa, Hotel Centro allows you to relax in and commune with nature. It offers air-conditioned rooms, all of which have cable TV, mini-bar, and coffee/tea maker. Some of its amenities are business centre with high-speed Internet access, swimming pool, and airport and city transfers. While staying here you can visit some tourist spots like Puerto Princesa Underground River, Honda Bay Islands, Ugong Rock Spelunking and Zipline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Centro Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing