We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great food and excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Centro
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our whole family stayed at Hotel Centro from January 7 to 9, 2013, booking three separate rooms. It was very clean, with numerous complimentary amenities. They arranged our underground cave tour which required us to leave the hotel between 5:30 to 6:00AM. Because the breakfast buffet does not open until 0600, we requested a boxed breakfast for the six of us. Surprisingly, they opened the whole breakfast buffet spread for us at 0500 plus offered us boxed breakfasts.
The restaurant menu as well as the breakfast buffet were delicious. The staff were all friendly and gracious as well. In addition, the swimming pool had a great setup with lounge chairs and bar access that our adult children truly enjoyed. They were even able to order appetizers from the restaurant to enjoy poolside. We highly recommend Hotel Centro and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home here in Puerto Princesa City. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 531 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Palawan is an upcoming destination in the Philippines, combining pleasures of the water with an old world charm, a throwback to a more leisurely way of life. It’s capital Puerto Princesa is no different, small, but cozy, unpretentious and comfortable. The hotel reflected this charm, a halfway house between a resort and a hotel.

The hotel is quite close to the airport, and just off the road. There is a Robinson’s Mall very close, though I imagine that is not the reason to go to Palawan! It is easy to get around from the hotel, and the hotel arranges transport too. The pristine white exterior contrasts well with the rich tropical hues around. The white theme is carried over the lobby, and the look is relaxing, and welcoming after a flight.

The room was comfortable, well lit, bed and bath were standard. The breakfast buffet was very limited, and did not inspire us to try any other meal at the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home here in Puerto Princesa City. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for one night for Puerto Princesa tour. Hotel is clean, small lobby but plenty of sofas to seat. Nice and friendly staff. Nice and clean Swimming pool, kids had a great time swimming. Rooms are a bit small, but clean nonetheless. Location is good and convenient, very near Robinsons Mall, and the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home here in Puerto Princesa City. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Jessica and Elcer the Manager went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. They had a closed circuit TV broadcast of the Manny Pacquao fight with lunch included in the price of admission. Although the fight results were not what we had wished for our adopted country of The Philippines we still had a good time. The pool is great, also try the Margaritas at the bar swimming pool. The bartender even made it in the shape of a Christmas tree for the Holiday season. If you are doing the Underground River and other tourist activities, STAY HERE. This will be an oasis in the tourist area that Puerto Princessa has become.

Room Tip: Pay more for the higher rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRC761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home here in Puerto Princesa City. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff. We are glad Jessica and Elcer assisted you well. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

You will not find five-star hotels in Puerto Princesa, and this is probably the most modern hotel you'll find in the area.

Positive first.

Great rooms and amenities. The beds are comfortable, with fluffy pillows and blankets. We stayed in the Family Suite which has a queen sized bed and a twin bed in the "master bedroom". It also has a living room with two sofas (love seat and a three-seater) with its own TV, divided only however, by a sliding glass door. Pool is great. The lobby has more than enough sofa sets for all waiting guests. The welcome drink, lemongrass tea, was refreshing! The toiletries are complete. The lighting is bright so it doesn't give you the feel of an old hotel at all. It has a gym with a treadmill and a sit-up bench. I don't remember though if they had weights. Great furniture, finishing to boost a 4-star hotel ambience.

Taxi-Tricycles are readily available outside the hotel. These are hotel "accredited" tricycles whose drivers attended tour guide seminars c/o the City government. So they are knowledgeable about the town and are known to return items you would probably leave inside their ride.

Of course, how can I forget the airport shuttle service.

The Negatives.

Bad overall service. Receptionists are not knowledgeable of their pricing, nor do they know how to take initiative. We had problems with the extra person charges. In total, we could already have afforded another room, so we got ourselves another room instead. The receptionist didn't offer a solution.

The breakfast buffet is probably the worst I have experienced. The choices are limited. Mostly Filipino dishes. 3 Filipino viands (e.g. Tocino, dried fish, longganisa) with garlic rice and plain rice. On another table, you have a choice of arroz caldo, or another day, beef noodle soup. Then you have bread (3 types of bread: dinner roll, focaccia, french bread), choice of 3 local jams (mango, pineapple, watermelon). A bowl of fruits and salad. Poor foreign guests, I saw a couple who were only able to eat the bread and butter for breakfast. You have the toaster area covered with bread crumbs. The floor near the buffet table was sticky. The coffee percolator was crudely refilled manually using a drip coffee carafe from the kitchen, the same way with the arroz caldo warmer which was refilled bringing out the "caldero" and pouring the porridge into the warmer.

Come in as a second batch of diners, tables are not bussed, not set with utensils and glasses, and pieces of bread under the table. Expect to be the one to look for staff to set your table for you and sweep the floor.

These neglects are somewhat mitigated by the smiling, patient and polite staff members.

Oh, and there was one night we wanted to eat dinner at the hotel, but we were rejected because according to the waiter, they were "fully booked". There were just two long tables of big families inside and two tables of small families. Mind you, there were tables outside still, but we were rejected. We ended up eating at Robinson's Place which thankfully was near the hotel.

Despite the bad service, I'd still give it a very good rating for the restful (though a bit stressful) stay. I think their bad service is negligible because it's not an international hotel anyway we were staying in. There were some staff members also who made our stay very pleasant like the one in-charge of making sure their guests get a decent ride, and the shuttle driver.

Tips when booking this hotel to make your stay pleasant.

1) Ask for extra person charge. The family suite only has 2 adults free, and a child free. If your "children" are already adults, they are charged, so ask for charges for extra adults. Oh, and expect to pay "incidental" fees.

2) Don't expect from a local hotel. It's not international standard in service. The first statement should be your mantra.

3) Fill in the feedback survey form when you leave. Make sure you put down everything you think the hotel should improve in. I made sure I didn't leave anything behind.

We just made a mistake expecting a lot from this hotel. Had we known all these, we could have been more ready, and appreciated our hotel stay more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teachertwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home here in Puerto Princesa City. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff. Rest assured that we will address your concerns. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The place is amazing when it comes to convenience, it's 15 minutes away from the airport so no need for you to cram to pack your things. When it comes to customer service I can say kudos for the wonderful experience. They are very thorough explaining the facilities and it's a plus that they can still recall and call us by our last name despite the number of visitors they accommodate everyday. However there's only one thing I've noticed, our bathroom has this huge pillar and it has a very odd space.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home here in Puerto Princesa City. We have read your review about the hotel as well as the staff. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write about us, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'm not really the person who loves to swim but definitely their pool is worth it. Though the room we had is so small no space to walk into. They have transferred us the day after into a bigger room with 2 beds but theres more..... A big post between our beds:( The bathroom is clean, but ther running water in the shower is so "bitin" you'll end up feeling uhm is that it?

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenu2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentroPPC, Manager at Hotel Centro, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for choosing Hotel Centro as your home here in Puerto Princesa City. We have read your review about the hotel room and facilities. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to inform us with them, as our guest’s satisfaction is our priority.
We are still on the phase of improving our services so that our guest will have the same delighting experience that you had. We are also looking at other things that may improve the experience of our valued guests like you.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again here in Hotel Centro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.6 mi away
Aziza Paradise Hotel
Aziza Paradise Hotel
#16 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
343 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#5 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#7 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#15 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro

Address: San Pedro National Highway, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $48 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Centro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 1.2 hectares of verdant surroundings in the heart of Puerto Princesa, Hotel Centro allows you to relax in and commune with nature. It offers air-conditioned rooms, all of which have cable TV, mini-bar, and coffee/tea maker. Some of its amenities are business centre with high-speed Internet access, swimming pool, and airport and city transfers. While staying here you can visit some tourist spots like Puerto Princesa Underground River, Honda Bay Islands, Ugong Rock Spelunking and Zipline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Centro Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing