We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salute to the POW's”
Review of Plaza Cuartel

Plaza Cuartel
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.99*
and up
Half-Day Puerto Princesa City Tour
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Salute to the POW's”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Plaza Cuartel is the place were American Soldiers are burned alive during WWII by the Imperial Army of Japan.. History wise it will give you goosebumps while our tour guide tells the story to what really happen to this place.. I agree to my fellow tourist that came here, that the underground tunnel beneath this park must be also visited.. But still a salute for the brave soldiers who fought in WWII..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AaronCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    75
    86
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nothing to see”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

the plaza cuartel could be a nice tourist spot if the people can see & relive what the cuartel was like before the war.it would also be nice if they can rebuild the tunnel so tourists can experience it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dudz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Goose bumps adventure”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Upon entering the small well kept plaza we got goose bumps and a cold feeling was very evident. So I immediately asked the tour guide what's the history of the place. The tour guide told us during WWII , the Japanese soldiers burned alive the POWS-American soldiers. However, a few managed to survive by swimming towards another island. We felt so uncomfortable that we asked to leave the place in just 10 minutes of stay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank karrie_b888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“small but listen to your guide for some interesting history”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The place is very small with two monuments, one for fallen American soldiers who perished during WW2, believed to be burned alive by the Japanese and the other for those survived. My guide tells me that the real story happened underground in the tunnel which is closed to the public now. You can peek at the entrance to the tunnel on the right side of the gate going out. No entrance fee.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank alephxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nothing much to see, but it does have some history. It's right in from of the Immaculate Conception church, so if you're in the area, then might as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OuterScene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Cuartel also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Plaza Cuartel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing