We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Charica Inn And Suites
Ranked #147 of 195 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Chances are that you're in Puerto Princesa as a launching pad to other places in Palawan, but Puerto has its charm and is worth spending a day or two. We wanted to take a break from flying and traveling and decided to stay in Puerto for a few days before heading to El Nido. La Charica Inn was what we expected for the price and was a great place to take a break from traveling. It is a "value" hotel located just off the beaten path but not far from anything. The hotel staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and there is free WiFi (although somewhat slow and intermittent). For the price I think that's all you can ask for.

We appreciated them writing our names on the welcome board upon arrival. We liked the "welcome drink" even if it was just Tang (it's the thought that counts). Breakfast is simple but they aren't charging you extra for this. We bought some fruit and our own coffee from the market and the kitchen staff was happy to cut up our papaya and let us grab extra hot water for additional coffee so that we had a more balanced breakfast to start our day.

I think the location is great as it is very accessible to the airport but only a 10-15min walk from the main strip of restaurants and the city center.

Its a simple hotel and is priced accordingly. We would stay here again and for us it didn't make sense to pay more (the next step up is a lot more expensive) for a hotel in Puerto. This is exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReyShaunMadolora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for La Charica Inn And Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

A 3-floor hotel located at the quiet Abad Santos Street, but near the center of the city, which is a few minutes taxicle (tricycle) ride to the chain of restaurants along Rizal Avenue and San Miguel Tiangge (souvenir shops) and just near the airport. It's very accessible since there are taxicles passing by the hotel.
The ambiance is fairly fine, it's like you're living in a typical house. Hotel staff clean your room and change your towel everyday. They also have water dispenser on each floor for your clean drinking water supply. WIFI is only currently available on their lobby.
The room I had was just big enough for me and my friends, but I'm not impressed with the furniture designs they have, bed and pillows were just so-so, but nevertheless, it's still a decent place to stay.
For elderlies and disabled, it is better to inform the hotel staff that you'll get the ground floor rooms as their stairs are quite steep that even I, was not comfortable taking it especially we're occupying a room on the 3rd floor.
Their restaurant doesn't always have a complete menu and is always subject to availability, but they serve delicious Filipino breakfast set every morning.
Staff are somehow courteous and friendly especially the 2 staff serving in the restaurant every morning when you are greeted with an energetic "good morning!"
By the way, bring cash to pay for your hotel balance bill as they charge additional 5% for credit card payment.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeSoloTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I had the chance to stay @ La Charica Inn last April 6-8, 2012...The place was quiet and accessible for a ride..What I appreciated more was the warm accomodation of its staff, especially the kitchen personnel headed by maam virgie who despite a lack of workforce would always manage to smile and deliver good services to the clients...i also salute the owner miss chari for her exemplary managerial approaches, showing good public relations...the Lord Jesus Our Redeemer church of Digos City, Davao del Sur would like to say it again..."Thank You very much and may God's richest blessings be upon you always"...Godspeed!!!-from Nilda Aniñon (DavSur PIO)

Room Tip: Higher fllors have less A/C unit noise
Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank nilda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed in La Charica last March 2012 and i found it a very good place to stay in Puerto Princesa especially for first time visitors to the place and those on a budget.

From the time we booked a room at their place a month before our trip, they kept constant communication and were very prompt in answering my queries regarding their services. They made me feel more secure knowing we were understanding each other and I had no worries regarding our stay there. They offer tour bookings and we were booked with Ellen's travel agency who had very punctual and good tour guides. The personnel were very courteous and friendly with ready smiles for the guests. They were prompt in attending to our requests. Airport transfers may not have been in brand new vans but the drivers were very welcoming and even offered tips on where to go.

The inn itself is clean and had a very home-y feel with a lot of personal decors and the lobby and terrace made me think of a family room for entertaining. They had clean rooms with hot/cold bath that were spacious enough for a maximum of 4 people since they have pull out beds. They can give you extra beddings and hairdryers per request. They clean the rooms everyday and change the towels. Breakfast was filling if its ok with you to go for a filipino breakfast instead of a continental one.

The inn is conveniently located about 2 minutes away from the city center by trike and about 5-10minutes away by foot. But its in a quiet enough neighborhood so that you can get a quiet rest without hearing the traffic or noise from neighbors.

Overall, I definitely recommend this place to those who are on a budget but still want to stay in a good place. Since Puerto Princesa offers a lot of activities throughout the day, all you really do is sleep and bathe. But La Charica helps make your stay more comfortable. I really dont think the more expensive places can provide you with better accommodation and service as La Charica can provide all you the comforts of a pleasant stay at a cheaper price. And not to discredit the other establishments but in my tour of the city, the bigger hotels are located in busy streets and tend to be noisier due to the passing traffic and people.

I agree with their statement: A home away from home.

Keep it up! Thank you for making our Palawan trip a memorable and comfortable one!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed for one week at La Charica Puerta Princesa Palawan in March.It is a basic small hotel and cheaper priced compared with some.The rooms are small but adequate to sleep in.The staff are friendly and helpful.There is a TV in each room and air conditioning.The only poor part was the breakfast with 4 halves of small toasted bread and one fried egg (cold the first day).After trying the breakfast for 2 days decided to eat out.It is good for budget travelers and would stay there again.There are a few rooms on the ground floor but check if you have walking problems as there is no elevator on the other floors.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We didn't choose the hotel but our travel agency did. Although I couldn't compare them to a full service deluxe hotel, but their staffs really provided an outstanding level of service. Except for the breakfast, which is the only downside of this hotel. They must replace their bf menu or else, guest must eat outside instead of availing it. Rooms are clean but the amenities are old already. Good location. Overall, our stay wouldnt be that better without their very helpful staffs. Their smiles and hospitality are truly incredible that make this hotel truly special.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaelovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The place was clean and comfortable to stay as well as the staff are courteous, polite, helpful with all our needs. There was a free wifi and the location was accessible. They picked up and drop us off at the airport on time....The disappointing stuff was, breakfast was no good..... and at the restaurant, the food was not that good as we expected, maybe they should change their menu and kitchen staff should be trained properly. the owner herself was accommodating and was so kind too. we really enjoyed our stay there.... !

Room Tip: we stayed at their suite room, it was clean and comfy.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ake09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#27 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
134 reviews
3.5 mi away
Peace Ru
Peace Ru
#34 of 90 in Puerto Princesa
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Papa Albert Inn
Papa Albert Inn
#135 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Puerto Bayview Inn
Puerto Bayview Inn
#63 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
47 reviews
2.3 mi away
Balai Esperanza
Balai Esperanza
#18 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
29 reviews
4.4 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#5 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Charica Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Charica Inn And Suites

Address: 126 Abad Santos St, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $19 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Charica Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Charica Inn and Suites is a four-storey hotel that is conveniently located in uptown city, 5 minutes away from the airport, 2 minutes away to the NCCC Mall, SM Mall & other commercial establishments. Our physical structure is artistically constructed highlighting Filipino and Palaweno culture, with its unique interior lobby as a contemporary work of art using stone murals, inspired and conceptualized by the owner herself. It is tucked in a quiet and peaceful vicinity, making our guests’stay awe-inspiring and relaxing, a perfect base for business or leisure. Our staff also arrange your tours, corporate or private events, catering needs, offering our promptly personalized services to ensure your high satisfaction. We also have function halls equipped with complete audio-visual facilities. La Chari’ca Garden Restaurant offers a beautiful place for relaxation, great place to have a quiet breakfast or afternoon coffee or hang out at night with peers and family. The diverse categories of our well conceptualized air-conditioned guest rooms and suites do ensure to meet diverse guests' customized accommodation needs and planned budget. Thus, making La Charica Inn and Suites the ideal choice for travelling businessmen, families on holiday vacation, bonding couples and honeymooners, and big groups as well. We hope to be of great service to you at La Charica! Thank you for choosing us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your La Charica Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Charica Hotel Puerto Princesa
La Charica Inn And Suites Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing