We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"La Charica Inn", great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Charica Inn And Suites
Ranked #147 of 195 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The place was clean and comfortable to stay as well as the staff are courteous, polite, helpful with all our needs. There was a free wifi and the location was accessible. They picked up and drop us off at the airport on time....The disappointing stuff was, breakfast was no good..... and at the restaurant, the food was not that good as we expected, maybe they should change their menu and kitchen staff should be trained properly. the owner herself was accommodating and was so kind too. we really enjoyed our stay there.... !

Room Tip: we stayed at their suite room, it was clean and comfy.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ake09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for La Charica Inn And Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is one of the nicest place we stayed during our whole trip in Palawan, staff was great polite and helpful facilities were perfect room was clean beds are so comfy and great breakfast........

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sydney r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have always loved Palawan, and I have been there a number of times already. This was my first time to stay at La Charica, and sad to say, for the first time, a trip to Palawan wasn't perfect.

The good stuff: the room rates were pretty good, and even the food in the hotel's restaurant was relatively cheap. There was free wifi, and the location was accessible.

The disappointing stuff is much longer. First off, the airport pick-up arrived 45 minutes late. Upon check-in, the staff at the front desk was unaware of the conditions of our booking. Apparently, it was not endorsed properly by the staff who was communicating with me previously. They gave us a twin room (2 single beds), when I actually booked for a double room (1 double bed). When I complained, they moved us to a double room that looked and smelled like a storage room. It was dusty and damp. But I did not complain until I found out that the shower wasn't working!

When I complained about this, the reception staff informed me that nothing could be done because it was late night, and the person in charge wasn't there. After I persisted on complaining, we ended up being moved back to the twin room. It was hopeless.

Information at the reception desk noted that we could order our breakfast of choice by making an advance request in the evening. We did this on our last night. In the morning, our order was not available, because our request the night before was not forwarded to the kitchen. At this point, I nearly lost my patience with their organization, so I reminded the front desk staff about all the problems I've had with them so far. It did not end there.

During the ride to the airport, the driver complained that he was scolded by his boss because I reported that we were picked up late in the airport. He seemed to have taken personal offense that I actually complained about the late pick-up.

While I understand that they probably had much on their hands, and could hardly get everything done efficiently, I think that they are in the business of hospitality and tourism. As such, it is the management's responsibility to deliver what they advertise to offer. I still love Palawan, and I would come back. But most likely, will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Cajsa_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacharicainn, General Manager at La Charica Inn And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

We apologize for the inconvenience. I have investigated on this matter and have learned that the travel and tours agency booked you in a twin sharing room. We did not have direct contact with you so this was overlooked by your tour agency, which is not within our company. Your travel and tour agency usually does not give us your contact details since they are the ones who coordinate with you and us, for business security purpose. Our front office has the policy to make sure that the room needs of the guests will be the ones provided, so this really surprised us. Our front officers have more than 10 years of expert experience in hotels and also from abroad. We do not let these incidents happen to our valued guests who are mostly repeat customers. On your case where the Travel and Tours Agency booked, they usually are the ones who should pick you up from the airport unless they requested us ahead. They should be the ones to pick you up at that time from the airport but we instead offered our ride since your supposed pick up ride from the tour agency failed to show up on time, as our staff were already expecting for your arrival in the hotel. We are fully booked as always and during the time you were here, good thing there has just been a room that became available but was rushly made up. The damage in the shower could have been from past guest which can happen and we failed to have it checked due to limited time in like 15 minutes. It is our fault to still have accommodated you despite the wrong booking and unavailability of double room, we could have avoided to get wrong impression from you and instead returned your money and have the travel and tours agency that booked you move you to another hotel. Still, we understand and apologize. hope this won't happen again in the future. We now have advised our partner travel and tour agencies to give us at least full details of our guests and the rooms they actually need. we cater to more than a hundred guests most of the time (as fully booked) and you as a couple are but as valuable and much easier to accommodate provided were given the right details by the tour agency so we request that please make sure with your agency that you specify the details needed to avoid rushed rebooking and most especially wrong booking. The hotel and staff are also a victim to this due to same incident although it is our pleasure to give the best service despite challenges and errors we hope to cope with. Nobocy's perfect and we can't please everybody, but we believe that the customers are always right and we hope to delight you with what we have. Thanks to our travel and tours agencies and guests who continuously patronize us and for making us one of the most fully booked boutique hotels/inns in Puerto Princesa. Deo omnis gloria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank JiheremK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#27 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
134 reviews
3.5 mi away
Peace Ru
Peace Ru
#34 of 90 in Puerto Princesa
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Papa Albert Inn
Papa Albert Inn
#135 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Puerto Bayview Inn
Puerto Bayview Inn
#63 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
47 reviews
2.3 mi away
Balai Esperanza
Balai Esperanza
#18 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
29 reviews
4.4 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#5 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Charica Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Charica Inn And Suites

Address: 126 Abad Santos St, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $19 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Charica Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Charica Inn and Suites is a four-storey hotel that is conveniently located in uptown city, 5 minutes away from the airport, 2 minutes away to the NCCC Mall, SM Mall & other commercial establishments. Our physical structure is artistically constructed highlighting Filipino and Palaweno culture, with its unique interior lobby as a contemporary work of art using stone murals, inspired and conceptualized by the owner herself. It is tucked in a quiet and peaceful vicinity, making our guests’stay awe-inspiring and relaxing, a perfect base for business or leisure. Our staff also arrange your tours, corporate or private events, catering needs, offering our promptly personalized services to ensure your high satisfaction. We also have function halls equipped with complete audio-visual facilities. La Chari’ca Garden Restaurant offers a beautiful place for relaxation, great place to have a quiet breakfast or afternoon coffee or hang out at night with peers and family. The diverse categories of our well conceptualized air-conditioned guest rooms and suites do ensure to meet diverse guests' customized accommodation needs and planned budget. Thus, making La Charica Inn and Suites the ideal choice for travelling businessmen, families on holiday vacation, bonding couples and honeymooners, and big groups as well. We hope to be of great service to you at La Charica! Thank you for choosing us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your La Charica Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Charica Hotel Puerto Princesa
La Charica Inn And Suites Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing