We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Firefly Watching

Firefly Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.99*
and up
Firefly Watching in Puerto Princesa
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A romantic dinner at the floating restaurant and a magical tour with Firefly.
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
1,448 reviews
637 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 688 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My first encounter with firefly watching was in Malaysia. While the one in Malaysia has better facilities - this one is truly nature at its best. I hope they improve the access roads, facilties etc.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    198
    101
    23
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Something to see at night”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The tour included dinner, could not take pictures once on the canoe. The scenery around the river route is very beautiful and a day canoe tour should be made available.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wondrous!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Really enjoyed this wonderful tour, which started just as the sun was setting over Honda Bay. I had never seen fireflies before, so this was a first and how wondrous it was! The dinner provided during the tour was also wonderful. Highly recommend the tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ditas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sparkly, peaceful, starry sky, trees and water!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

It is the perfect things to do after the huge hassle of the Underground River Permit application we suffered through in the morning. We were taken there by a friendly trike driver we met the day before. It is 30 mins drive from the city proper and it may be dark at night but the roads are generally good. Upon arrival to the site it is well organized, pay for the fee, get a number and wait and then get to the boat, simple as that. The boat is small, fits 3 ppl only so be careful not to rock it. Our boat man is very knowledgeable about the fireflies, the stars and constellations that you can see in the clear sky, as well as the plant and animal life in the river. I had so much fun running my hands through the water to see the bio luminescent plankton light up the water. It is so serene being in the river in the evening, the fireflies are abundant and stunning and I really hope the the mangrove trees there stay for many many more years. Quite unconventional and a definite must-try.

Tip- try to avoid the large groups when visiting as you will wait for a long time since the boats can carry only 3 people at a time and they use only a few boats.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very nice experience”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

the Iwahig Firefly watching is approximately 30-45 minutes drive from the city.

STAFF:
me & my husband traveled with our 2 kids,5 & 3.they said the boat can only accommodate 3 people per boat.we asked them if our 3 yo can come with us since hes still so small,would not occupy any seat & does not have much wait.but despite our plea if our 3yo can ride the boat with us,they clearly siad NO!

As for the boat man especially Vincent,they are very educated people.They really know their stuff. They know the constellations,facts about the planets,the fireflies. They made our experience a very informative & enjoyable at the same time

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dudz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly Watching also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Firefly Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing