We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, novel and interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firefly Watching

Firefly Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Firefly Watching in Puerto Princesa
Ranked #1 of 23 Tours in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A romantic dinner at the floating restaurant and a magical tour with Firefly.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fun, novel and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I love attractions that are a little bit different like this.

Going out in a small, intimate group (just me & my girlfriend plus a guide) on a dark tropical river surrounded by mangrove alone would have been fun. Add to that the firefly, and the clear view of the night sky full of stars and it makes for a very special trip.

The organisation is relaxed but efficient, waiting times are short. Despite being so close to nature and out on a river at night, it is perfectly safe and isn't physically demanding at all.

I'd recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterJohnCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    190
    96
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

well worth doing, many tours available including dinner and transport. Make sure moey oes back to the eco community.

Well organised at the site. boats of 3 people with great guides take you out along the river telling you some amazing facts and showing the fire fies. Just like xmas trees!

Top tip: cover up and wear bug spray!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank McSpawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a sparkly tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Another very popular place - well worth the visit. We went out on a paddle boat so it was very serene. The trees looked like they were lit up with xmas lights and as the night was clear there were plenty of stars. Our guide was quite knowledgeable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuBee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Appreciating nature at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This tour actually replaced our Mangrove Paddle Boat tour w/c was cancelled due to conflict w/ the time of our Underground River Tour. But I enjoyed this better since we also got to do both Mangrove paddle boat and firefly watching plus a free dinner at Baker's Kitchen w/c is a very nice restaurant. The road leading to Iwahig was quite creepy - dark and full of trees on both sides. As we reached the place, we didn't have to wait long before it's our turn to ride. I was quite hesitant at first. Riding a paddle boat in the water at night? But as we started, I got to appreciate the ambience - quiet, calm, and watching hundreds of firefies is just amazing.

Our boatman filled us up w/ info the whole ride and was very nice to answer our questions. We tend to take fireflies for granted or just see them as fun lighted insects to play with but we don't get to appreciate their real beauty. I feel close and respectful to nature after this trip. This is worth trying when you come to Palawan.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank serendipity1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Overall, i enjoyed the fire flies watching session.

Dinner is included as part of the tour. It was a nice experience to have dinner on a boat. My only negative comment for this tour is the crab they serve on the boat. Personally i don't recommend this because first it is difficult to eat the whole crab and secondly everybody need to wash their hands and all the water goes to the river - the oil and detergent.

Would be good if you serve food that is without bones and easy to eat to avoid people washing hand or you could ready a basin for everyone so that all the water will not go into the river.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank limjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly Watching also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Firefly Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing