We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but dishonest owner”
Review of House of Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Princesa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of Rose
Ranked #97 of 189 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but dishonest owner”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

House of Rose is a beautiful hotel and have the loveliest Philippino staff, but the owner proved to be the most dishonest, so I would not recommend this hostel unless you want to pay more than the rate you agreed upon!
Indeed, we had to change the date of our stay and emailed the hostel to make sure they understood that the dates had been changed. The owner answered personally that it was fine, but when we got there he pretended never to have received the email and charged us more to cover parts of the other nights as well.
He was very rude and aggressive, which is very sad given that the Philippino staff was very nice, helpful and embarrassed by the situation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aure l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
2
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here before going to another destination,Everybody in this little cozy place is just passing by.the rooms are clean and comfortable not pricey.there is a swimming pool billiard all you need to relax.The staff was very friendly and helpful.even lent us the laptop to ck other hotels.Food was very good.i recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourot ethier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

we became friends, Andy and myself, and he's the most relaxed person I've met in Palawan.
he has a cool way of moving around as if he attained paradise and doesen't need to hurry anymore and look for it somewhere else.
I stayed at house of rose a month, and at night, we sat drinking some rhum-coke, cracking funny jokes as the night advanced, and at no time I've heard him say anything against gays or lesbians. indeed Raffi, his buttler, is gay, and Andy is the most conciliate person there is, always thanking him for his services.
he drove me to the airport and I was kind of sad to leave as I really felt he is a genuine friend, someone I could rely on in case of problems.
"just try to be good", he said, as we shook hands and said goodbye, and I thought that he was already doing good in life, and needed to take care a little more care of himself, as he was heading for Manila the very next day for a check-up.
Thanks for the ride, Andy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vartan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights. The place is clean, and the owner [Australian], friendly, and has advice on local attractions. The food is fresh and a good menu. Large TV in the bar area. Its a quiet place, with a pool, a good place to relax. Away from the city, but easily commutable.
Mike [UK]

Room Tip: Room are similar, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The good things about this place? It's fairly chilled out, fairly quiet and fairly friendly. It's not the cleanest place I've stayed in however it doesn't cost much money to stay here. The food was pretty good and they have a bar and free internet that works. It's a bit off the beaten track, but that's why I went there.

However, the australian guy (married to a local woman) said to me one night "I [--] hate queers". The fool didn't realise he was speaking to a gay man.

If you are gay or lesbian, or have gay or lesbian friends, please avoid this place. That man does not deserve our hard earned cash.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flyingscotsman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Princesa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
2.1 mi away
Tia Mers Guest House
Tia Mers Guest House
#83 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
23 reviews
33.7 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
34.4 mi away
Xtravelers Place Palawan
Xtravelers Place Palawan
#63 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#7 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
507 reviews
23.1 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#14 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Rose

Property: House of Rose
Address: Abueg Road | Bagong Sikat, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a guest house in a quiet relaxing area close to town and the airport. The local beach is only 5 mins walk away. We offer clean rooms restaurant wifi billiards swimming pool. Our friendly staff are only too pleased to help you and make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of Rose Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing