We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home”
Review of Raq Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raq Pensionne
Ranked #38 of 195 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We go to palawan just to visit the amazing Underground River, one of our friend book us in one hotel along Fernandez St., To my dismay even though they provide us complete service my husband & i can't still sleep at nyt, then one of our friend who extend one nyt stay in Palawan to meet us over dinner recommend where he stay i easily agree since we have 3nyts & 4days ahead & to kindness of our friend he personally book us in RAQ PENSIONNE & We immediately move, after check-in can't comment anything at all... The hotel staff are all so nice & very accomodating...clean, big & comfortable room..Highly recommend to stay in very reasonable price..The service all worth it... Now we can enjoy our stay in Palawan with all the help of the friendly & smilling staff of RAQ & the travel agency inside this hotel... All worth it..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yinyang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Raq Pensionne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at RAQ for our honeymoon. Our 7 nights at this gem of a B&B was unforgettable. They were so accommodating and met our ever request and even went above and beyond what we asked for. One of the days we asked the receptionist if there was a movie theater at the mall and how to get there. He not only provided us with a map but brought us a print off of the movie schedule for the showings that day. We are avid tea drinkers and drink it English style with milk so the also made sure for breakfast to provide us with milk along with our tea. BTW the breakfast was great and several of the days they even offered pancakes along with our eggs instead of toast. We always travel with our own tea bags so when we came in we would request hot water and milk and they were always quick to bring it to our room and I was shocked to find out when we check out that they didn't charge us extra for this service. We went on two tours: underground river and Honda Bay island hop and booked on the first floor with their partner travel agents. They gave us a discounted rate and both tours were wonderful experiences. But what really amazed me was the amount of "tour guide" help they offered for free. We got updates on events in the area and they even had their driver take us to a local event which ended up being about 30 minutes away. They gave us restaurant recommendations and made reservations for us for dinner several times. We even went back to one of the places a second night since it was so good. If we are in Puerto Princesa in the future I would not choose any other place to stay even if I hit the lottery and was not on such a tight budget. The quality of service doesn't compete with fancy 5 star hotel amenities and I used to work for Hilton.

The room was simple but the a/c worked great and the cable TV was nice (except the remote didn't work- we didn't bother to ask them to fix it though since we could manage it manually). everything was clean and the hot shower in the bathroom worked well. It was decently sound prof and only a few times we would hear noise from the hall outside our door.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tokyosonshins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Palawan is our favorite place. We've already been to Puerto Princesa in February 2012 and June 2013..and during both times we chose to stay in RAQ Pensionne. I have to say it's the authentic Pinoy service that RAQ Pensionne is outstanding for. In every tour package booked with their partner travel agency (SMY Travel) they give snacks for guests to munch on while on the way to the destination. Plus, they also give souvenirs after every tour. Another thing I liked most about their service is their free land transfers within Puerto Princesa as long as their hotel vehicle has no scheduled trip. They are flexible in the package quotes that they give, and they will consider all your suggestions from breakfast serving time, check-in and check-out time, leaving of baggages beyond check out time, coordinating flights with tour schedules, to make your vacation hassle-free.

Cable TV, toiletries, WIFI, hot&cold shower (even towels during island hopping tours) are provided for in the rooms. It is strategically located within Puerto Princesa's center, and it is easy to ride a tricycle from RAQ to get you anywhere within the city. One thing which we didn't like during our latest stay was since day 1 we complained about the weak flow of water from our shower but the staff was not able to fix it. I just hope they have already fixed this. Nevertheless, I'd still recommend RAQ Pensionne to barkadas, families and couples who want a worry-free Puerto Princesa vacation without having to spend too much.

Room Tip: If you want good wifi reception, choose the rooms in the main building. If you want a room with more...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

For one who takes pride in customer service due to the industry where i belong, Raq Pensionne, as I have aptly titled my review impressed me with theirs- from the owners/managers Stephen and May Yee to their front desk personnel Jay (who is a treasure btw) Shane and their other staff. Despite an early arrival (830-9am) our group were given enough rooms to freshen up and rest. Our itinerary were well thought of and worth every penny so to speak.

Prior to our arrival, Jay have arranged everything and made sure we are updated with our arrangements such as tours, dinner, among others. I agree with the others who took time to write a review that May truly "walks the extra mile" and the same comment goes to her personnel notably Jay.

Our stay was comfortable, hassle free and an experience worth sharing.

Thank you RAQ for making our trip truly a pleasurable one. You certainly rock!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor would be better only because it will not take much effort from the lobby to g...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for three days two nights at Raq's Pensionne. It was great trip indeed. Staff and Tour Guide were so accommodating, hospitable and kind. We were provided a great city and underground river tour. We enjoy the trip so much though it's raining.
Thumbs up to all the Staff and Tour Guide - Jay and Shane thank you so much for attending all our needs during our stay. For the tour guide Job and Dean thank you so much for being so friendly, you don't just do your job as our tour guide but beyond that. God bless to all of you guys!!!!
To the management may I request if it is possible to change towels daily instead of every after two days. Thanks and God bless.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

RAQ Pensionne amazed us all with how they treated us as if we were the only guests of the house. It was my second time at RAQ and I am more certain that the best experience they offer their guests is their standard. It is excellent, thanks to Ms. May for "walking the extra mile" with us. She has a personal way of surprising her guests. Kudos to staff, especially to Rein, Shane and Dean. You're all wonderful guys and you simply give us so many reasons to like Palawan and yearn to go back.

Mike Veneracion
Cabanatuan City, Philippines

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Was picked up from the airport when we arrived. Because my friends and I didn't plan ahead and booked the necessary stuff we needed for our trip to the underground river, we had to make some last minute changes and changed our flights accordingly. The staff were kind enough to chauffeur us to and fro and also dropped us at the mall when we needed to do some shopping.

They also worked with a tour agency and were able to help us arrange our tours around Puerto Princesa. It was really convenient and helped us save a lot of work. The staff there are all really friendly and I would definitely stay here again the next time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thehuimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
0.9 mi away
Ellei's Place
Ellei's Place
#111 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
1 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westville Tourist Inn
Westville Tourist Inn
#44 of 90 in Puerto Princesa
1 reviews
0.6 mi away
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne House)
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne ...
#129 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rodolfo Royale Hotel
Rodolfo Royale Hotel
#183 of 368 in Palawan Island
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Bulwagang Princesa Inn
#234 of 368 in Palawan Island
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Remari Pension
Remari Pension
#126 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raq Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raq Pensionne

Address: 361 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $12 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Raq Pensionne 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAQ Pensionne provides budget traveler a place to stay in Puerto Princesa, Palawan. Accommodations are reasonably priced compared to other hotel with its accessible location and private atmosphere.This pleasant hotel offers a total of 21 rooms which are categorized into Double Deluxe, Double Regular, Family, Garden Cottage, Single Deluxe and Single Room. Rooms are with single / double beds, air conditioning, private toilet and bath, cable TV, hot and cold shower, internet (WI-FI) and intercom.Guests can also enjoy home cook dining, body massage therapy, mailing service, transportation service, Palawan nature tours services, internet roaming signal and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Raq Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raq Pensionne Hotel Puerto Princesa
Raq Pensionne Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing