We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget accommodation in the heart of the city”
Review of Raq Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raq Pensionne
Ranked #40 of 189 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good budget accommodation in the heart of the city”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Raq Pensionne is a good choice for budget travelers in Puerto Princesa City. The service was great! They even had welcome drinks and souvenirs for us. The staff was friendly, accommodating and efficient.
We had an early 6:00 AM tour the next day and they took note of our breakfast orders the night before. They made a wakeup call at around 5:30 AM with our breakfast already laid out and ready.
I also loved its location because it wasn't along the busiest streets of the city but very accessible.
The room and bathroom were clean. And we loved the free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ibyangerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    31
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
26
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

we stayed at RAQ Pensionne for 4 days and we were pampered. The office of SMY travel, where we had all our tours, is located in the pensionne so everything was well-coordinated. The receptionists were both accommodating; not forgetting to give us towels before leaving for our tours and they've also managed to reserve us a table in Ka Lui.

The place is clean, homey and few minutes away from drugstores, etc.

Stephanie, the cute kid, is so sweet and adorable :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whelorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabanatuan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

our stay is only for 5 days (april 8-12) but the memory will last for a lifetime! The sight is something to behold (underground river, honda bay, iwahig penal center, crocodile farm, etc) but the accommodation given by RAQ pensionee is a blast. The whole time when so fast but each day is kept memorable by the excellent services given by the staff. We are moved, touched and felt so great by the VIP treatment. Each day is like a gift which unfolds before our naked eyes. And we simply love it. Given the chance 44 of us will come back and stay with you again. You made us feel at home. And you made a dent in our simple small hearts. We love you guys! Keep up the good work. Puerto Princessa is incredible because of EACH AND EVERYONE OF YOU whose team effort is SIMPLY AMAZING. GOD BLESS!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms will help you exercise. IInner rooms are much quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elmer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for only two nights since we booked our trip late, but the accommodation that we received from Raq was superb nonetheless! Miss Belle, the one who fixed our booking, was really accommodating and approachable. One time she decided to go overtime and waited for our breakfast just to inform us regarding our underground river tour and to give us an itinerary for our city tour. The breakfast that they serve is really big and will leave you full enough until noontime. They served us their specialty, the danggit, for our first breakfast and we ended up wanting for more. In the end we ordered 2 kilos of their homemade danggit a day before our departure to Manila. Miss Marianne, the manager of Raq was really welcoming, too. They are easy to talk to and very nice. I read from reviews before our trip that their service was of a 5-star hotel and it was really true! We booked our tours with SMY Travel and Tours which is associated with Raq and we never regret that we did. The tours are well-organized, on-time, and gave us a lot of freebies. It really seemed that we got more than our money's worth. They were also very willing to provide free transfers through their van when we transferred to another inn. Their vans are really comfortable and clean. Our stay in Palawan is really memorable because of Raq Pensionne and their accommodating staff. Until next time!

Room Tip: The room spaces that they provide are more than enough for the max head count that they assign to ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krissy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

me dennis and my wife redgs are fortunate to be in this hotel. we were there last week enjoy our 1st wedding anniversary,actually this is our first trip there at PPC. the staff are very helpfull specially to SHANE thanks for taking good care of us the place is clean neat and the staff are friendly!! we will see soon before christmas this year.. this is definitely recommended hotel in PPC! THANKS again for a good experience!! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denz_redgs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

BobWoods.My wife and i together with the other members of our party were fortunate enough to stay in this hotel for 3 nights in Jan this year(2013).I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone planning a visit to Puerto Princesa.The staff are extremely friendly and helpful,the hotel is very clean and well situated for the various attractions in and around the city.No negatives whatever,this hotel is a must for our next visit to Puerto Princesa.Well done Raq!!!

Room Tip: Just choose any room,they're all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

i've been using raq pensionne for more than 3 years now for my clients and they never let me down on how they look after my clients, everytime they go back to mnl they were very happy on their service,anyway just got back from my trip to pps and stayed here for 3 nights, excellent service that's all what i can say, THANK YOU ( to all the staff especially to Sir Stephen and ms Mae ) for the best service....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgrace0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
0.9 mi away
Ellei's Place
Ellei's Place
#111 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
1 reviews
1.2 mi away
Remari Pension
Remari Pension
#123 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rodolfo Royale Hotel
Rodolfo Royale Hotel
#185 of 354 in Palawan Island
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Orchid Lagan Place Palawan
Orchid Lagan Place Palawan
#7 of 87 in Puerto Princesa
14 reviews
1.0 mi away
Audissie
Audissie
#132 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne House)
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne ...
#126 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raq Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raq Pensionne

Property: Raq Pensionne
Address: 361 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Raq Pensionne 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAQ Pensionne provides budget traveler a place to stay in Puerto Princesa, Palawan. Accommodations are reasonably priced compared to other hotel with its accessible location and private atmosphere.This pleasant hotel offers a total of 21 rooms which are categorized into Double Deluxe, Double Regular, Family, Garden Cottage, Single Deluxe and Single Room. Rooms are with single / double beds, air conditioning, private toilet and bath, cable TV, hot and cold shower, internet (WI-FI) and intercom.Guests can also enjoy home cook dining, body massage therapy, mailing service, transportation service, Palawan nature tours services, internet roaming signal and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Raq Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raq Pensionne Hotel Puerto Princesa
Raq Pensionne Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing