We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, feels like your in your own home!!!”
Review of Raq Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raq Pensionne
Ranked #37 of 192 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place, feels like your in your own home!!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Definitely recommended to others, great hospitality, helpful staff, breakfast is ready when you wake up in the morning. Nice and clean hotel. Comparing to VICTORIA GUEST HOUSE, that place was really bad.... ants, roaches name it, so SMY travel moved us to Raq Pensionne and hoorayyyy we had a great sleep and well rested.
That was our first time in Palawan and our experience was awesome, the tourist guide from SMY travel was great specially our tour guide Dean.He's been very helpful and very supportive.
Definitely going to book again with SMY Travel next year when go we back to visit Philippines. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unknown147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan24, Guest Relations Manager at Raq Pensionne, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear valzapanta,

Thank you for staying with us at RAQ Pensionne. We appreciate that you took the time to give us some feedback from your stay. We were pleased to hear how well your weekend went and that all of our employees gave you five star service. Thank you for visiting our bar and enjoying the tours of SMY. We hope to see you in the near future, and thank you again for staying with us.

At Your Service,

RAQ Pensionne Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    31
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
26
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando La Union, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

it is quite an experience staying here, with the warm and hospitable staff that assist u from the moment u step out of the airport until going back to the airport, going to the sites with funny and polite guides that will accompany you thru the way, and making sure you'll have the best vcation ever, the best choice for travelers wanting to enjoy the place at a budget friendly price, i am recomending this to my friends, families and to travelers wanting to stay in palawan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryanguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Samar 6408
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We arrived just this morning. first time in Puerto Princesa and booked a package tour thru ZEST AIR. We relied upon in good faith that the hotel at least has good services. All right there are souvenir items but there's no sufficient stand by power when there is a power interruption. There's no advisory even that there is no electricity for around 30 minutes. No intercom where one can resort to in case of anything that need be inquired from the front desk. The switch of lights not fixed like you might be electrified as some wires are exposed. The HOTEL MANAGER CANNOT EVEN FACE THE COMPLAINING CLIENTS OR AT LEAST APOLOGIZE FOR THE INCONVENIENCE CAUSED. Sigghhh...Gggggrrrrrr!!!! This poor services definitely will not attract more first timers to come back ever again or least recommend to others to pay a visit. AND? Never rely on posted pictures. The rooms looks good in pictures but in for real no! It is best to ask referrals from reliable pals.

Room Tip: Never rely on posted pictures. The rooms looks good in pictures but in for real no! It is best to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Einalef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Friendly and hospitable staff, you are never lost because you know they are ready to assist you. With clean rooms and good service, it is a bargain and a practical choice for vacationers, wanting to experience the tours along the island and by the end of the day, coming to a place that feels like home. My best choice yet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MeandmyHabibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

RAQs is a hole in the wall inn without pretensions. It provides the basic needs of backpackers: clean air-conditioned rooms with bath, plus good service. Book Palawan tours with them, it's worry - free, hassle-free and fun!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelchoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandang sora
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just been there recently, may 2012. It's a two star hotel and did not expect anything great about the place, besides you could not have a great deal out of 2t/night for a family room. Mattress not so comforting, as it is made of foam, the bathroom fixtures needs a complete replacement, some were broken and it's a bit absurd considering it's a hotel, doesn't matter if it's a two star, if something is broken somewhere, they should fix it first before they advertise it for rental.
Overall, The place is ideal for those practical travelers who only need a decent place to sleep after a long and exhausting day from exploring Palawan. also the location is in the heart of palawan it is closeby to every travelers comfort, it's a 20 minute drive to airport, few nice and reasonable resto
is close - Kalui, kinabuchs , Tiki bar, to name a few.



I

Room Tip: Never choose to stay in the ground floor rooms its quite small and little smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iammelesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Palawan was a really great place and with raq‘s customer service made it more memorable. Their tours were worry free. I am not sure if the other hotels offer free souvenirs but i raq they do. Its like free souvenirs from the start of our stay until we check out. :) its location is just near downtown its just a few minute tricycle ride. Overall, it was a fun and amazing experience. thanks Raq.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zarjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
0.0 mi away
Rodolfo Royale Hotel
Rodolfo Royale Hotel
#185 of 361 in Palawan Island
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Remari Pension
Remari Pension
#124 of 192 in Puerto Princesa
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne House)
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne ...
#127 of 192 in Puerto Princesa
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Westville Tourist Inn
Westville Tourist Inn
#43 of 90 in Puerto Princesa
1 reviews
1.2 mi away
Purple Fountain  Inn
Purple Fountain Inn
#6 of 192 in Puerto Princesa
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Belina
Casa Belina
#62 of 192 in Puerto Princesa
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raq Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raq Pensionne

Property: Raq Pensionne
Address: 361 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Raq Pensionne 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAQ Pensionne provides budget traveler a place to stay in Puerto Princesa, Palawan. Accommodations are reasonably priced compared to other hotel with its accessible location and private atmosphere.This pleasant hotel offers a total of 21 rooms which are categorized into Double Deluxe, Double Regular, Family, Garden Cottage, Single Deluxe and Single Room. Rooms are with single / double beds, air conditioning, private toilet and bath, cable TV, hot and cold shower, internet (WI-FI) and intercom.Guests can also enjoy home cook dining, body massage therapy, mailing service, transportation service, Palawan nature tours services, internet roaming signal and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Raq Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raq Pensionne Hotel Puerto Princesa
Raq Pensionne Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing