We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Pensionne”
Review of Raq Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raq Pensionne
Ranked #39 of 188 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pensionne”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very nice pensionne. Friendly staff. Driver picked us up at the airport and drove us back at the end of our stay. Organized a tour to the Underground River for us. Provided welcome drink and gifts upon arrival and departure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    31
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
26
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

If you plan to visit puerto princesa, you should go to raq pensionne, super cheap, nice people like Shayne and Ate Doris :) all tours has souvenir items, foods for bfast, miryenda are included!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brunski7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed for a few nights and booked a package through RAQ. Everyone in the hotel was exceptionally kind and helpful, and it made the experience unforgettable. I fell in love with the children who live there, and it made the experience feel more like staying at someone's home than in a hotel, adding a personal charm. We stayed during Chinese New Year, and the people at the desk were helpful in finding us accommodations in Port Barton and assisting us with all of our travel needs. The island hopping tour was amazing, and we were able to take a free yoga class during our stay. RAQ really made our trip memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaydily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We were staying at RAQ pensionne for our Puerto Princessa tour (city tour, honda bay, and underground river) and also after our El Nido tour finished (waiting for the flight back to Manila the next day).

The hotel staffs were very friendly. They told us how to get the tricycle (including its fare system), best place in town to get your meal, nice spot in the city to check out during our free time. They also very helpful in scheduling our tours (pick up time, reminder for tomorrow's itenary, morning call) even though they don't organize the tour. They also help us a lot in reserving place in Kalui restaurant (including our free transport to go there), which we are very grateful for it since the restaurant was the best in the city and there's a lot of queue just to get in into the place.

The hotel room is very spacey, with air conditioner, bathroom with hot water attached, TV with a lot of channels (I like to watch discovery/national geo channel after full day tour). The dining room is just outside, shared with other rooms, along with water dispenser. One of the room where we stayed had a noisy air conditioner, and the water heater's temperature cannot be controlled, but it's good enough for us.

The hotel's restaurant had the best 'longsilog' for breakfast and ice lemon tea that I know so far in Puerto Princessa and El Nido.

The hotel location is quite near to the city center (around 20mins walk), and very quite. But it's quite dark outside (no street light) after the night come (which should be fine, since Puerto Princessa is known for its low crime rate). Minimarket with drug store is just few minutes walk to the south.

I like it much for the staff, who makes us very comfortable staying there. For the future, I think upgrading the water heater / air conditioner would be very nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kunilkuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Location –it’s near the airport, bars and restaurants. I had the chance to do my jogging routine because it’s just minutes away from the Baywalk. Feel – I always felt special having first a welcome drink plus souvenir on day one and a variety of souvenirs that surprises me on the succeeding days. It was like you receive gifts everyday of your stay. Room – it was quiet, comforting and fair price for the accommodation we availed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pompouspompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

It was one the most welcoming places of my trip to Palawan.
Staff and owners are really lovely and they do all their best to make you feel at best.
Really stunning availability and friendliness.
A place where you will feel like at home. They lead us back to airport and also provided accomodations when they were full as we arrived one day in advance.
Definitively if I will go again to Palawan I will return here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bungaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati CIty
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2011

RAQ's Pensionne in Puerto Princessa has always been a second home to me. I stayed there for more than a year while working as Area Manager- 5 days every month. At first I thought, it is just a place where i can rest and lie down my tired back after a day's work..but eventually as days go by I begin to appreciate their homey environment, friendly and accomodating staff, very respectful...i love the simplicity of the decors esp the hanging work of art on the walls, the early morning breakfast outside the room overlooking the greeneries of Palawan, the great tasting "lamayo" which I never grow tired ordering every breakfast- wow! the personal services rendered by the owner, a young couple Mae and Steph, and a smile from their pretty daughter, Tiffy.

The only thing that made me stay there in my more than a year stint as Area MAnager for Palawan is the honesty of their staff, I've been leaving my jewelries, sometimes money, and my laptop in my room, and haven't experience any incident of lost, or similar stories like that. IT IS LIKE A HOME. the atmosphere and the friendly staff around, you will never be homesick while enjoying the feel of the forest inside the City...not to mention expploring the beauty of nature in Palawan...there is no right place to rest after sight seeing than RAQ's Pensionne. I am really proud to recommend this pension house, the simplicity of the place is JUST PERFECT!

Elle O. Fernandez, RN
elynfernandez1019@yahoo.com.ph

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elynfernandez1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
0.9 mi away
Ellei's Place
Ellei's Place
#110 of 188 in Puerto Princesa
1 reviews
1.2 mi away
Remari Pension
Remari Pension
#122 of 188 in Puerto Princesa
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rodolfo Royale Hotel
Rodolfo Royale Hotel
#186 of 352 in Palawan Island
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Audissie
Audissie
#131 of 188 in Puerto Princesa
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne House)
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne ...
#125 of 188 in Puerto Princesa
14 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grace Park Tourist Inn
Grace Park Tourist Inn
#93 of 188 in Puerto Princesa
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raq Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raq Pensionne

Property: Raq Pensionne
Address: 361 Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Raq Pensionne 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAQ Pensionne provides budget traveler a place to stay in Puerto Princesa, Palawan. Accommodations are reasonably priced compared to other hotel with its accessible location and private atmosphere.This pleasant hotel offers a total of 21 rooms which are categorized into Double Deluxe, Double Regular, Family, Garden Cottage, Single Deluxe and Single Room. Rooms are with single / double beds, air conditioning, private toilet and bath, cable TV, hot and cold shower, internet (WI-FI) and intercom.Guests can also enjoy home cook dining, body massage therapy, mailing service, transportation service, Palawan nature tours services, internet roaming signal and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Raq Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raq Pensionne Hotel Puerto Princesa
Raq Pensionne Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing