We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skylight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skylight Hotel
Ranked #54 of 183 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

stayed here for three nights and it was definitely amazing. Excellent staff there is. They were very friendly and the initiative to offer assistance was always present. Rooms were just ideal for the given price. It was modern and spacious. I stayed in their deluxe room and it was the perfect place to stretch-out and relax after a day work/tour. The room comes with flat screen TV, telephone, king size bed, and a fully equipped bathroom finished. Plus, I can say that the location was overly convenient since souvenir shops, markets, best restaurants, and must see places for touring were just nearby. And let me not forget, their restaurant!! I highly recommend everyone to try their seafood menu. It's unbeatable and I AM SO HOOKED!!! I mean, the seafood in Puerto Princesa is surely a total hit and a fave to consider for its price and freshness but when it’s cooked the “skylight way”...HAHA the chow down overwhelmingly completes the entire trip. Lights in the restaurant are stunning at night and the display of aquariums with live crustaceans will certainly catch your attention.

Overall, I can say that the place went beyond my expectation and it was a definite place to return to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abby625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
9
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We came to this hotel only for 1 night, the price for the cheapest room that they have was 1300 php with AC and hot water. the hotel is 5 minutes driving from the airport. The room is very clean with good cable TV, and the price for the room including breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eitanmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are spacious. The hallway is quite charming. The hotel layout is quite confusing though. The food on the other hans is quite average. But their chicken inasal and bibingka are interesting. Relatively decent place to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexbonife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location is not bad, since you are accessible to convenient stores and restaurants. But the rooms need major upgrades. The adjacent lobby, transforms to a buffet restaurant at night on weekends. the food are affordable, but so-so in taste. Improve your comfort level please.

Room Tip: Get a room that has an electronic card lock. Other rooms have the traditional room key, that maybe v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got this hotel from a suggestion of a travel agent so I'm not really aware of the price and the breakdown from a package tour. We stayed in a standard room, was clean, linen was changed everyday, clean towels were provided and changed, AC was good and the best thing -the free WiFi is super fast. When it comes to negative, the water from the shower was too bad; too weak that you need a lot of time and need to be patient if you want to have a nice bath.
Location wise 'coz it's in the heart of the busy district. Near the airport, popular restaurants, fast food,bars etc., there's even a sari-sari store in front if you want a mint. One more good about skylight is that they have they're own restaurant. Daily breakfast is included, there's a lot of selections including selection of fruits and a salad bar far from the one I've read from the other reviews or maybe we had a good timing and got lucky! Aside from that they also offer fresh seafoods the so called "ituro mo iluluto ko". For those who don't want to eat outside and can't get a reservation from most of the popular restaurants, you don't need to go far.
Staff were very friendly from the driver to the front desk, housekeeping and waitstaff. Very accommodating and polite. They will do any possibilities if you have a certain request.
Above all what more can I say. If you're going to Puerto Princesa you're day will be filled with fun and adventure. The friendly staff will offer you a tour on your free day that you can't say no otherwise why spend a day in the room? You will only see them very early at breakfast and in the night saying goodnight. So....for you to sleep.... Not bad... I can still stay at Skylight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hon_hon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We chose Skylight Hotel because my mom had already stayed here before so there's no worry about the cleanliness of the rooms. The only remaining question was the price so I called their Manila office and inquired. Well, well, well, they were very affordable! Their budget room for two people costs P1300 and their budget room for three people costs P1980! Imagine that. :) The rooms have a private CR, a telephone, wifi access (though the signal's a bit weak), an A/C and a TV. Towels were also provided for each person. Sulit diba? :) The amount also comes with airport transfers, a welcome drink and a buffet breakfast (hurrah!). I so love buffets. :)

Read the rest of my review here

http://whimsandcapricesinlife.blogspot.com/2012/11/review-of-skylight-hotel-and-kuya-rolan.html

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyssa Loren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Initially not our 1st choice after reading many reviews from various sources. We chose another budget hotel but due to a slip up, the booking fell through. Skylight was the next best for the location and so we booked directly from the hotel. True enough, it was right smack in the centre of the busy part of town yet not noisy. Very convenient to walk about to many known eateries (within 2-10 mins walk), shopping at NCCC (<10 mins) and even to the Baywalk (20 mins). Hotel appearance from outside was not appealing (faded signboard) but when we entered the reception, the big space and friendly reception changed our perception. For the price paid, minimal room facilities are expected but the wifi is free and strong, buffet breakfast was a thumb-up esp. when you need an early start to a long day trip out. Fast and personal services from all hotel staff - housekeeping, driver, frontdesk, etc. Yes, special thanks to 2 persons - Neila (manager) for her prompt email replies to all queries before the trip & for preparing her staff well when we arrived; and Leonardo (F&B) for being attentive to diners and informative in recommending places to go.

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay slightly more, take the Standard room @ P1950, still a good deal for better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WANMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunlight Guest Hotel
Sunlight Guest Hotel
#28 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fleuris
Hotel Fleuris
#22 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fersal Hotel - Puerto Princesa
Fersal Hotel - Puerto Princesa
#23 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#14 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
WE Travelers Inn
WE Travelers Inn
#27 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dallas Inn
Dallas Inn
#7 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylight Hotel

Property: Skylight Hotel
Address: 210-A Rizal Ave, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skylight Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Skylight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylight Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing