We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I thought for the price paid !”
Review of Skylight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skylight Hotel
Ranked #37 of 203 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Initially not our 1st choice after reading many reviews from various sources. We chose another budget hotel but due to a slip up, the booking fell through. Skylight was the next best for the location and so we booked directly from the hotel. True enough, it was right smack in the centre of the busy part of town yet not noisy. Very convenient to walk about to many known eateries (within 2-10 mins walk), shopping at NCCC (<10 mins) and even to the Baywalk (20 mins). Hotel appearance from outside was not appealing (faded signboard) but when we entered the reception, the big space and friendly reception changed our perception. For the price paid, minimal room facilities are expected but the wifi is free and strong, buffet breakfast was a thumb-up esp. when you need an early start to a long day trip out. Fast and personal services from all hotel staff - housekeeping, driver, frontdesk, etc. Yes, special thanks to 2 persons - Neila (manager) for her prompt email replies to all queries before the trip & for preparing her staff well when we arrived; and Leonardo (F&B) for being attentive to diners and informative in recommending places to go.

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay slightly more, take the Standard room @ P1950, still a good deal for better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WANMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 58 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel located in a good location that you can walk out and find places to eat easily. Also offer free shuttle pick up from airport. It is a simple hotel. The room is not so big, no complomentary water or coffee in the room. We asked to borrow hair dryer one time but all was lent to someone else and we never asked for it again. Breakfast is quite little and not seem to be refill until more guests coming and not lot of choices. The second night was very noisy from group of people and all of the hotel can hear it cause on the corridor had made holes that people can see from top floor to ground floor. We have called to complain for that cause it was very late night.

Most of staffs are friendly but if compare the price with all hotel services, i think it is quite high. So what we have seen.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TKoeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Visited Skylight a year ago and good location (within city proper). No need to worry about nearby atm machines or fastfood restos. Getting ash tray was quite a process since I had to wait 10-15mins to get one - I dunno if it is because of the smoking policy implement in the city. Breakfast is ok and at least one can a full stomach before exploring Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

For everybody's sake, I hope the hotel improved since I stayed here 2 years ago. Thank God it was only for one night. During my stay, power supply was cut off for several minutes in the evening. That was fine except that the generator was too noisy, giving me the impression that it was right beside my room or very close nearby. Worse, when the electricty went back on because of the generator, my room still did not have any. The hotel staff said that they couldn't fix the problem as there's no technician on duty! I then asked to be moved to another room but the staff refused because the hotel is fully booked so I spent the night with no electricity and a very noisy generator. It was small relief that the people living near the hotel were already asleep as I can hear them very well in the afternoon when I checked-in.

In the morning, nobody from the hotel acknowledged the electricity problem in my room. I didn't even hear an apology!

The breakfast was not even a consolation. It was very measly and unappetizing. They served dried fish and Filipino sausage that looked like it could have been dried as well.

Oh, and I almost forgot to mention that I was greeted by a cockroach in the bathroom upon my arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WomanWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The room I stayed in on the second floor is ok. Got to chat with the owner and he is one nice guy. For a budget hotel, the airconditioning is A-OK considering that I was there right smack in the middle of summer. Staff are nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripko4978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of the city and does not exude any kind of welcome in its edifice. The rooms are musty, dusty and full of mosquitoes. The towels are already old and instead of white, it has turned dirty white and almost about to be brownish in color. The bathroom tiles and the rooms in the first floor are full of mildew. The cabinets are dusty. The only good thing is the free wifi in the room.

Room Tip: Their deluxe room are a little better but their standard rooms are terrible, the mosquitoes are ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pr-apl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The place is nice. It's just the negatives overwhelms the positives.

Room
Pro: rooms are nice
Con: they have a kareoke bar in the hotel but it's so loud in the rooms. Some people might want to sleep in the room. Just saying.

Food
Pro: free breakfast buffet and dinner buffet has 32 dishes.
Con: 32 dishes for dinner are left over from lunch and they don't refill. Breakfast buffet is free but it's left over from last night (so lunch from previous day) and no refills. Haven't dared to try lunch here. Found bread but it's crawling with ants.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deity_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunlight Guest Hotel
Sunlight Guest Hotel
#26 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#9 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#4 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fleuris
Hotel Fleuris
#27 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#48 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
51 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#29 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylight Hotel

Address: 210-A Rizal Ave, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 203 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $22 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skylight Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Skylight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylight Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing