We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel for budget travellers”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Skylight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skylight Hotel
Ranked #58 of 183 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hotel for budget travellers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Visited Skylight a year ago and good location (within city proper). No need to worry about nearby atm machines or fastfood restos. Getting ash tray was quite a process since I had to wait 10-15mins to get one - I dunno if it is because of the smoking policy implement in the city. Breakfast is ok and at least one can a full stomach before exploring Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
9
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

For everybody's sake, I hope the hotel improved since I stayed here 2 years ago. Thank God it was only for one night. During my stay, power supply was cut off for several minutes in the evening. That was fine except that the generator was too noisy, giving me the impression that it was right beside my room or very close nearby. Worse, when the electricty went back on because of the generator, my room still did not have any. The hotel staff said that they couldn't fix the problem as there's no technician on duty! I then asked to be moved to another room but the staff refused because the hotel is fully booked so I spent the night with no electricity and a very noisy generator. It was small relief that the people living near the hotel were already asleep as I can hear them very well in the afternoon when I checked-in.

In the morning, nobody from the hotel acknowledged the electricity problem in my room. I didn't even hear an apology!

The breakfast was not even a consolation. It was very measly and unappetizing. They served dried fish and Filipino sausage that looked like it could have been dried as well.

Oh, and I almost forgot to mention that I was greeted by a cockroach in the bathroom upon my arrival.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WomanWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Princesa hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

The room I stayed in on the second floor is ok. Got to chat with the owner and he is one nice guy. For a budget hotel, the airconditioning is A-OK considering that I was there right smack in the middle of summer. Staff are nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripko4978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of the city and does not exude any kind of welcome in its edifice. The rooms are musty, dusty and full of mosquitoes. The towels are already old and instead of white, it has turned dirty white and almost about to be brownish in color. The bathroom tiles and the rooms in the first floor are full of mildew. The cabinets are dusty. The only good thing is the free wifi in the room.

Room Tip: Their deluxe room are a little better but their standard rooms are terrible, the mosquitoes are ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pr-apl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The place is nice. It's just the negatives overwhelms the positives.

Room
Pro: rooms are nice
Con: they have a kareoke bar in the hotel but it's so loud in the rooms. Some people might want to sleep in the room. Just saying.

Food
Pro: free breakfast buffet and dinner buffet has 32 dishes.
Con: 32 dishes for dinner are left over from lunch and they don't refill. Breakfast buffet is free but it's left over from last night (so lunch from previous day) and no refills. Haven't dared to try lunch here. Found bread but it's crawling with ants.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deity_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed here because our travel agency booked us here without our knowledge. And we travelled in peak season so it may be possible that there were no more available rooms on other hotels. My review: Don't stay on this hotel unless a) you're travelling for business b) you have no choice due to budget constraints. This is not a very good hotel if you really want to enjoy the wonderful island of Palawan, unless if you have a VERY tight budget. Skylight hotel offers a lot of basic amenities but none of them excels.

The rooms are mediocre. The room we stayed at had no cellphone signal so we have to go out to contact people (especially our tour guide / manager). It is clean enough though. But the bathroom has a window that makes the bath area visible from the outside if one peeks into it. This is not much of a room, just a place to sleep.

The location is in the middle of Puerto Princesa city. That is good if you want to travel around the city instead of the beaches and islands of Palawan. The good side is that it is close enough to the good places to eat like Kahlui, etc. Other than that, you cant really feel like you're on vacation if you stay here. I prefer a beach-front hotel.

The food is not bad but not good. Staff is friendly but not the best in service. Overall, a cheap hotel that may be worth your money depending on what you want if you're in Puerto Princesa.

Room Tip: Dont choose a room located at the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joseph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is perfectly located, but the convention center is a ride away, (1KM).
Front-desk is friendly, staff is ok, room service is ok,

Room Tip: Book in advance. This agent is great, http://me.lt/8U1Ae, tell him Dr.Moreno sent you. Skylight hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docM_ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunlight Guest Hotel
Sunlight Guest Hotel
#28 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fleuris
Hotel Fleuris
#22 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fersal Hotel - Puerto Princesa
Fersal Hotel - Puerto Princesa
#23 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#12 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
WE Travelers Inn
WE Travelers Inn
#27 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dallas Inn
Dallas Inn
#7 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylight Hotel

Property: Skylight Hotel
Address: 210-A Rizal Ave, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skylight Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Skylight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylight Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing