We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first time in the Philippines was amazing thanks to Remari Pension.”
Review of Remari Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Remari Pension
Ranked #122 of 188 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
1 review
“My first time in the Philippines was amazing thanks to Remari Pension.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The atmosphere at remari pension is like being at home but better. Everybody was very polite and took care of all my needs. I would go back in a heart beat and would recommend this place to everybody I know.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinD500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Randomly picked out Remari Pension place after we landed at PPC airport. We had an okay stay, rooms were satisfactory.

I'd suggest getting this place if you literally just want somewhere to sleep. The place is located quite conveniently near the city, without being in the busy/noisy heart of the city. It was quiet enough for the most part. There are motorcycle rentals just outside, so that's helpful.

Walking distance is a lot of really good food places, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I would highly recommend Remari to anyone in terms of service and location. It had the most wonderful vibrant city vibe and the room itself was comfortable and the service was friendly and efficient. However all of this had very little effect on our stay due to the fact that the pension had 3 monkeys tied to chains about a half a meter long and a eagle in a cage which I would not wish for the most docile parrot in the world. I understand that there are enormous cultural differences between the Philippine culture and our western cultures but I still find this kind of animal cruelty unacceptable in a country that promotes itself to tourists as a country that is starting to take being "green" serious and who is trying to conserve the wonderful nature that they have. I strongly believe that if Remari wants to continue focusing on the foreign market, that they should release these animals to a sanctuary that could take proper care of the animals. In my short stay in the city I have learnt that the crocodile sanctuary is a possible group that could assist with the rehabilitation of these abused animals. NO wild animal in a small cage or on a chain is NOT abused! PLEASE REMARI! We would have LOVED our short stay with you if it hadn't been for these poor animals. Please take them to a safe place where proper care can be taken of them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nish1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Although we generally enjoyed out stay at Remari, we were very upset by how they treat animals. We found the rooms to be very clean and, although small, quite comfortable. We only spent one night there and enjoyed the buzz from the people on the street and liked the atmosphere. The staff was helpful and very friendly and the breakfast was good too.

But it was very upsetting to see how they treat animals. There is a cage in the garden (where you have your breakfast) and an eagle is kept inside. The cage is so small that the poor bird cannot spread his wings, never mind fly. Then there are two monkeys chained to the outside of the cage. Their chains or not even a meter long which means that they too have to sit still all day. The monkeys would get so board that they would jump down from the cage and swing on the chain - obviously very frustrated because they cannot do anything else. Another monkey is chained to a tree closer to where the people sit and also cannot move around much. The animals were obviously put there as an attraction for foreigners which makes it even more upsetting. No foreigners would find this remotely cute or entertaining.

If you like animals, or are a decent person at all, you would not stay here. There is an animal sanctuary in Puerto Princesa. I honestly hope they will not let this cruelty to animals go on any longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HEJoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Princesa hotels

Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent 4 days in Remari Pension.
The room are confortable and clean at a very cheap price.
The hotel arranged everything for us: excursions to the underground river, permit, zip line, city tour...
They also gave us good advices on shopping area and restaurants.
The staff is very friendly and the owner, Rene, is very nice.
In addition, the location is perfect: close to the shops and nightlife.

Best location, best staff, cheap price. I will definitely recommend it!

Elsa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsa_assouline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights only from November 17 to 18, 2012. The staff were very accomodating, clean rooms, working hot and cold shower with cable tv and wifi. The rooms facing the garden were actually refreshing. It is also within the city and very near the airport and most recreational establishments. A walk away from major kinabuch and jollibee. It has also a convenience store downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webwatcher88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed in one of their economy rooms - this was recommended by the receptionist when I called so I took it - and it was nearly terrible. Yes, that was an economy room and the rate was less than a thousand pesos per night but regardless of the amount, there should still be a value on every purchase.

The economy rooms are on a separate wing from the other, better, rooms. The structure was made of wood and I always had the impression that it may collapse any time! The room faced head-on with the might sun in the morning. The shower was broken, the water bucket was very dirty that I had to scrub it first before using to make it tolerable for use, water supply was weak, and believe me, the entire rest room vibrates everytime I have a heavy step! The aircon's knobs/control panel was intentionally tampered - I assume to control its power usage.

Their semi-open air restaurant/bar downstairs was dirty. Dust in the table, flies, and 2 monkeys tied to a cage on one end. There's also a big bird - a specie of an eagle or falcon I guess. That is a sanitation crime. The food was also below average. Prices of goods are overly priced. Take note that just outside there is a small grocery store.

What I only appreciated in here was their good internet service. Though you have to stay at the lobby to connect. Another thing was the friendliness of their staff. I can't say that they are professionals because that would be an overstatement but they are friendly and accommodating nevertheless. And they have a free airport service. Lastly, the pension house is located in the center of the city proper.

Room Tip: If you have no choice or deliberately choose to stay here, please don't take the economy rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mang_Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
1.9 mi away
Ellei's Place
Ellei's Place
#110 of 188 in Puerto Princesa
1 reviews
1.0 mi away
Orchid Lagan Place Palawan
Orchid Lagan Place Palawan
#7 of 86 in Puerto Princesa
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Audissie
Audissie
#131 of 188 in Puerto Princesa
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rodolfo Royale Hotel
Rodolfo Royale Hotel
#186 of 352 in Palawan Island
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne House)
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne ...
#125 of 188 in Puerto Princesa
14 reviews
1.2 mi away
Raq Pensionne
Raq Pensionne
#39 of 188 in Puerto Princesa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remari Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remari Pension

Property: Remari Pension
Address: 331 Rizal Avenue, Junction 1 | Bgy San Miguel, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Remari Pension 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Remari Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remari Pension Hotel Puerto Princesa
Remari Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing