We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for seminars and conference”
Review of A&A Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A&A Plaza Hotel
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Reviewed July 23, 2012

our office had a seminar at this hotel. rooms are big even there were already 4 of occupying the room. we will have space to spare. food serve during lunch was good. rooms are clean and bed are comfortable.

Room Tip: during our stay they offer 50% on rooms. choose 3rd floor rooms for lesser noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glenn_Diestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

I and my husband stayed in this hotel for four nights last December 2011 and took the standard room with no window for a very affordable rate per night. For budget travelers like us, we found this hotel worth to stay. Our room was clean and basic amenities were provided. We just had one tricycle ride going from the hotel to the souvenir shop (Php 7.00) and the Ka Lui restaurant where we had our sumptuous dinner with native wooden house ambiance. Moreover, the room was peaceful so we really had great nights sleep during our stay in this hotel.

Though the hotel is offering a tour package too, we booked our various tours on our own through an agent when we arrived in Puerto Princesa. There are a lot of tour operators in Palawan so we were able to bargain the price and get our city tour, Honday bay and Puerto Princesa Subterranean River tours at the lower rate.

Overall, with nice accommodation, friendly staff as well as free buffet breakfast and airport transfer, we will definitely stay in this hotel again whenever there is an opportunity to go back to Palawan.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Malou160612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for a night after coming from El Nido. i especially like the idea that the hotel offers various bed configurations, queen, 2 single beds upto 4 single beds in a room, perfect for families and group of friends sharing a room. The rooms provide basic ammenities and it came with buffet breakfast.

Airport transfers is complimentary, although they have pre-arranged schedules, they can make an exception and gladly bring you to the airport at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iamwanderlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights and 1 week later for 1 night.
Our rooms were very comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the self service breakfast thatw ere plentiful and varied.
The staff were ever helpfull, polite and courteous.
We would use again

Room Tip: De-luxe roms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the service, the staff are very friendly and attentive. From the airport someone was already waiting for us and the van is already there. The driver assisted us with our luggage until we reach the front desk. We arrived as early as 9:00 A.M. and our room was already prepared and ready. They are not too strict about the check in time as long as the room is already available. The negative part is that if you decide to stay here there is nothing to do in the hotel itself so you must really go out on a tour.

The rooms are clean as well as the entire vicinity of the hotel but there is really nothing special.

The rates are reasonable and the hotel is located near the souvenir shops. There is also a convenience store and a drug store nearby in case you forgot to bring any personal things which you might need for your trip. It has three restaurants one on the fourth floor, the other two on the ground floor, one is inside while the other is outside. It is also located near other famous restaurants in Puerto Princesa like Kalui and kinabuch where they serve crocodile meat and other exotic dishes.

Another bad thing is that the air-con somehow malfunctioned because there was only a little amount of air coming out so it's starting to get hot already. It's a good thing we were already about to check out when that happened.

All in all if you are just looking for a place to sleep because you'll be spending most of your time outside then this hotel is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AttorneyVex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I received a graduation gift from parents to have a vacation in Puerto Princesa Palawan. My boyfriend made a reservation at this hotel since the review in this Hotel is 4 stars, so it means it is almost good. Anyway we will not stay longer in hotel since we knew that we will not stay whole day everyday in hotel. We got 4 days and 3 nights accommodation.
This is the story:
1. When we arrived at the airport we saw the A&A hotel to pick us up, for confirmation they asked the name who did the reservation, though we have printed our copy still they need confirmation to make sure. As they checked the list, we are not included in their list. But they made a considerations since we have our print copy
---for 1st day itinerary, we will have our city tour, we don;t have our lunch since our flight is delay----

2. After the city tour, we arrived at the hotel exactly 7 pm, as part of their itinerary, our dinner should have been at Seafront Restaurant, but end up at CHOW NA restaurant, outside A&A hotel since "as what they've said seafront restaurant is already booked". Question here is, how come it is already booked knowing that it is already expected that we will have our dinner as specified in our itinerary.

--so we took our dinner at Chow Na! we can say that it is good restaurant since it is cheap (imagined, highest price is P99.00). After taking dinner, we asked in front desk for pick-up time in our UNDERGROUND RIVER tour (as for our 2nd day itinerary) They told us, they will call us for update. So, we went to our room to take a rest. After, they called us and they said the itinerary for 2nd day will be changed for 3rd day itinerary(which is Island Hopping at Honda Bay). That's fine we agree.

3. During night in our 2nd day after having dinner at their "RESTAURANT" (not good! you can have your dinner after 1 hr of waiting, this is really true, so for those who have this in your itinerary,change it ahead if you don't like to wait TOOOO LONG). We went to front desk to ask our pick-up time for our UNDERGROUND RIVER tour (as our last tour itinerary). "AS WHAT THEY"VE SAID" we CANNOT have our UNDERGROUND RIVER tour since it is already FULLY-BOOKED. They suggest us to change other activity. The issue here is, how come we cannot have our underground river tour and it is already fully booked knowing that we did our reservation last FEBRUARY 2,2012. So, we just realized that on the day they changed our 2nd day itinerary to 3rd day itinerary they already knew that we cannot have our underground river tour (in which, it is the MOST important thing when u are in Palawan). So they told us again to choose other destination which include in the list: Firefly watching, dophin watching, underground tour, dos palmas. At first we said, we will choose DOS PALMAS, they said we need to add charge since the rate per person is 3000 including surchage and in underground tour rate is 1,500 per person. So I suggest half joke,half serious that we will just pay the surcharge and the rest should be paid in their hotel since they made a mistake. But, the assigned personnel didnt agree. But I kept on saying. So he decided to call the agency if we cud still have the tour. It ends with we cannot have DOS PALMAS, since it is fully-booked already. So we suggest dolphin watching, he said "theres no DOLPHIN". The remaining is firefly watching. I told him we don;t like firefly watching since we already have those things in our backyard. So I told him is there any other activity we could do, he said none. So I told him that what do you want us to do tomorrow knowing that we don;t know the place and the areas to visit . I told him to make plan B,plan C for us since we could not decide what other places we will visit (Well, obviously we are not from PALAWAN). (honestly, the management is not good, they will not provide you the exact information, they will keep you expecting). Good thing outside the hotel there is an tour agency (TOPSTAR). They help us where we could visit and spend our last day in Palawan,(actually it is already closed when we visit the agency, but we beg to accept us since that is already our last day). They led us to Ugong Rock (rock climbing and zipline) and to Sabang, that is what they've plan. We are waiting for A&A decision if they could suggest, actually they did. They told us to go beside Ugong Rock since there is zipline and will go to Sabang after. I asked them why we could not go to Ugong Rock itself, they said it is closed. We were shocked coz were just done meeting with TOPSTART regarding UGONG ROCK and how come A&A told us it is already close. I asked the A&A staff many time if he is sure if it is close, he strongly said and "call" the agency in front of us and said it is really close. I told A&A staff to wait, and I went to TOPSTAR and clarify if close or not. TOPSTAR staff verify the information and they siad it is impossible that they will close since it is peak season and they call the Ugong Rock Management and asked if they are close and they answered they are OPEN.
---what we did, we have our tour package at TOPSTAR and we have a great time---
4. After having our 3rd itinerary, its dinner time, when we asked. They said that we cannot go anymore to KINABUCH Restaurant (which is one of the famous restaurant in Puerto, Princesa) since it is already booked. I AM SO ANGRY already knowing that they told us ahead that we will got to Kinabuch before we have our 3rd day itinerary. So they told us that we will have our dinner at Kinabuch at 9pm since there is already 20pax got the reservation. I asked the A&A staff that the reason we could not go there because of 20 pax? She said "YES" (what the hell!). I was SUPER DUPPER ANGRY already. My face and action is already obvious, but the "MANAGER" who is beside the staff didn;t asked our issue. So I guess, from the MANAGER itself, there is no COMMON SENSE.
Additional, the reason why we will have our dinner is because the 20 pax will be done by 9pm.

SO..for those who wants their tour to be at least GOOD. Don;t choose this hotel. This hotel is good only if you like to stay at their hotel. WHOLEDAY.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank CheLou J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Room was not cleaned well. After moving the beds, you could see some trash. Ants were walking on the walls. Bathroom hasn't seen Clorox for sure! The good part was that sheets were clean. Breakfast fatty and served on dirty tables. Service trying to do their best but not professional at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
2.2 mi away
Lola Itang Pension House and Restaurant
Lola Itang Pension House and Res...
#30 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Liberty Park Pension
Liberty Park Pension
#42 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Go Hotels Puerto Princesa
Go Hotels Puerto Princesa
#21 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#48 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
51 reviews
1 mi away
Fersal Hotel - Puerto Princesa
Fersal Hotel - Puerto Princesa
#19 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palawan Uno Hotel
Palawan Uno Hotel
#31 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&A Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&A Plaza Hotel

Address: National Highway cor Wescom Road | Bgry. San Miguel, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $25 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A&A Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A&A Plaza Hotel is quite perfect for business and leisure. Most travelers all over the world come to Palawan to spend their vacation. It is newly constructed hotel with a four storey building the features appealing accommodation facilities that all types of guests look for. It has 86 guestrooms and suites, which provide unmatched comfort and satisfaction. Room amenities include individually-controlled air conditioning, room telephone, hot and cold water shower, cable television, mini bar and complete bathroom convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your A&A Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And a Plaza Hotel
A&A Plaza Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing