We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service =)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kookaburra Travel Lodge
Ranked #69 of 185 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Service =)”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The family room (for 6 pax) we booked was very comfortable, clean and huge. This is very near the airport around 5 mins travel (free from noises, and the busy street since it is not on the main Rizal road and with free airport transfers. The staff was very accommodating and very friendly. We were able to met the owner and he is very kind and accommodating as well. They even allowed us to have late check out free of charge! Will definitely book with them again. =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thengpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Their service was really great from the time of our reservation to the day we left. To start off, we booked months before our trip and so we were able to avail the discount. When we arrived at the airport, their driver (Von - who was also very nice) was already there waiting for us. It was a short trip going to Kookaburra. We were greeted at the reception by Minard [not sure of the spelling but it sounded like that :)], settled our balance and immediately given our welcome drinks.

We occupied the Suite room # 207 (triple sharing) which was nice and clean. It has a great view of the side going to Pristine beach and parking entrance. I have to say, though, that there isn't enough space to move around especially at the built-in cabinets. We weren't able to maximize its use. The doors are also somewhat defective - both main and bathroom. They just wouldn't stay closed unless you really push (bathroom) or pull (main) them really hard, let alone lock them. The bathroom was clean and was supplied with towels, soaps, toothpaste, toothbrush and shampoo. One of the first things I look for in a bathroom is the bidet which they don't have. It would have been more...hygienic.

We always had our breakfast in our room. The food was good and was served hot. I LOOOVVVE THEIR DANGGIT! So tasty! So don't forget to ask for it for your breakfast. You'll always be reminded of the time you will be picked up for the tour. You can also request to make-up your room every day. Along with this is a new supply of toiletries and towels.

On our last day, we missed our flight back to Manila. Not our fault though. This was the time when CAAP suddenly decided that there'll be no more night flights going in and out of Puerto Princesa. AS ALWAYS, the airlines didn't shoulder the expenses and damages even though they didn't notify us as soon as they heard the news. And so we had to stay for another night at the lodge. Sure enough, when I tried to ask if they can give us a discount, I wasn't disappointed.

Room Tip: Suite 207 is a corner suite so you have a good view of the road going to Pristine beach and parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverIn1Place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The room we stayed was clean and the bed was comfortable. Location is good and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't like is the water pump just outside our room - I'm not a light sleeper but it really disturbed us during the night. They gave us a room on the first floor - near the reception area so we often hear noises when people are loud. If you're planning to book here, I suggest you request a room away from the water pump (upstairs maybe?) and far from the reception area.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the water pump (upstairs maybe?) and far from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overall, a nice place. I think a bit on the expensive side for the Philippines, but the room was decent size and clean with beyond-basic furniture. Location is near the airport (with free pickup), so in that way, it is convenient (it was super nice to have their driver waiting for me on my arrival). And not too far from 'downtown' (maybe 30 pesos), but sometimes have to wait a bit to find a trike going to there. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Short walk to the beach, but definitely not your classic, tropical beach with white sand. You basically have to do a Honda Bay island hopping trip to see good beaches. I recommend Pandan island ... one of the better beaches with snorkeling/reef right off the shore and lots of seafood choices for food so you don't need to worry about bringing your lunch if you are doing a DIY trip.

One

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvastag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for only one night after travelling from El Nido. Chose it because of its proximity to the airport and their complimentary airport transfers. Didn't get to visit the beach nearby but we did go to a restaurant at their recommendation - Badjao. Very thankful for their information as the meal was spectacular and the sunset view a highlight. They also drove us to the restaurant in their van - very appreciated. We occupied the family room - HUGE and spotlessly clean. Our first hot water shower in 3 weeks (having had a week in Coron, a week on a Tao expedition and a week in El Nido) and relished this perceived luxury! An early breakfast before our airport transfer was also arranged. While their location is a little way out of town their willingness to provide transport when they can more than compensates this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xingming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderhoof, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

i found kookaburra travel lodge here in trip advisor. there are other affordable travel lodges/inns but thanked God, I chose the one I didn't regret! the room is good enough for two (since i just chose a couple room). It's clean and so the bathroom inside. the free breakfast is tasty even if it's simple. their dining area has a captivating view. i love the ambiance while i eat my breakfast! i am happy that they helped me to find tour packages that made my trip memorable. the people of kookaburra are very approachable, accommodating, hospitable and helpful. if i will visit Puerto prinsesa once more, i will stay here again. I am even recommending my friends and family to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arwen_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

OC that I am, I browsed as much online reviews of possible lodging options as possible. Gut feel made us book with Kookaburra. Since I wanted this to be a real vacation for us, I wanted everything in order even before we arrive. The manager, Butch, was very kind in helping us achieve this. He was quick in responding to our queries, which were a lot since we were still weighing our options then. Booking was very smooth and they only required 20% downpayment. They even gave us the itinerary before we got to Palawan.

Our flight arrived 30 mins early. I expected that we will need to wait for our driver but we were glad that our ride was already there. We were met by a very courteous driver (sorry, I forgot his name!) who gave us a brief overview of Puerto Princesa. We really loved the location of the lodge. It may be a little out of the way, far from the usual noises of the city, but it's near and accessible enough to go to and from the main avenue (it's just a kilometer away from the airport). The place was so peaceful. Checking in was a breeze. We were greeted by Butch and the receptionist King, who kind enough to assist us in securing reservations with the restaurants, particularly KaLui's. The girl receptionist (sorry, I wasn't able to get her name) who was on duty at night was also very accommodating.

We booked the suite room at the top floor. The room was way bigger than what we expected (considering the price). It was very clean and spacious. It was fully equipped with amenities. A downside though was the outlet near the sink in the restroom. It smoked whenever we used the shower. But the management was quick in addressing this when we brought it to their attention. Even if we have a full schedule everyday, we never felt tired since as I said, the place was so peaceful and relaxing and we would always get a good night's rest.

Before we end our day, we would be oriented what to expect the following day. What will we be having for breakfast, what time will the tour begin, etc. Breakfast was served in the room which was very welcome. The quality could be improved though since they tend to cook sweet foods for breakfast. They readily provided us with clean towels when we went for the Honda Bay and Underground River tour.

There was a tricycle on standby that we took going to and from the restaurants. We would only text the driver when we're done and he will fetch us. Fare was a bit steep though, at 120pesos (roundtrip) but I guess this was acceptable since it was late at night and it was more or less a special trip already.

All in all, it was an excellent vacation for us. We highly recommend it to everyone. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank niedlich24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.3 mi away
Lola Itang Pension House and Restaurant
Lola Itang Pension House and Res...
#26 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#24 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Purple Fountain  Inn
Purple Fountain Inn
#6 of 185 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palawan 502 Pension
Palawan 502 Pension
#64 of 185 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deep
Deep
#19 of 185 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Lagan Place Palawan
Orchid Lagan Place Palawan
#7 of 80 in Puerto Princesa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Travel Lodge

Property: Kookaburra Travel Lodge
Address: Abueg Road | Bancao-Bancao, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kookaburra Travel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kookaburra Travel Lodge...your home by the sea in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan, Philippines. Kookaburra Travel Lodge is ideally located in quiet and tranquil surroundings of Puerto Princesa City , Palawan , Philippines . Just a 5-minute ride from Puerto Princesa City Airport and walking distance to a nearby beach.It consists of fifteen (15) well appointed guestrooms that would make a selective travelers feel special and comfortable. It’s professional and friendly staff complement its excellent facilities and services.Our spacious Montezon and Katrina rooms open on to a private furnished balcony and overlooks the beautiful Puerto Princesa City Bay , a perfect way to relax and watch the magnificent sunset over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Kookaburra Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Travel Hotel Puerto Princesa
Kookaburra Travel Lodge Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing