We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
San Fernando La Union, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good value for your money”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We booked 2 standard rooms bec we have 4 kids(1 teen) but was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a beach front rooms. The room are spacious, clean and the beds were very comfortable and big(queen) 2 in a room. The room has a view of the beach and the glass sliding door opens directly to the beach where a couple of reclining chairs awaits and a hammock underneath the palm trees. The place is very quiet, very private as there are no other resorts in the vicinity. Food was okay. The staff were very friendly, attentive and courteous. Definitely recommended for those who want some peace and quiet vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macben_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    309
    102
    22
    12
See reviews for
278
220
34
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We arrived oct 29 and van was waiting for us at the airport. Took around 30 mins to arrive at the microtel. The room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was big and clean too. What I didn't like was the cable because it only had 16 channels and the food (ala carte) because it's expensive and not that good. You can dine out for cheaper and yummier food. Breakfast buffet is ok. Beach is ok when it's high tide. Pool is ok. Staff is very friendly especially when we ask to clean bathroom and change sheets. Tip: You can call raymund for van rentals very nice and trustworthy - his number is 09164840021.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feline02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Before I share my experiences in this hotel, i want to advice all the group travellers from 5-10 persons to have DIY experience on all Palawan tour, which is sooo affordable. Microtel is located in a secluded place in Emerald Playa, the hotel views are ALL great, some reviews said that the beach is shallow to swim on, but if you walk for 2-3 minutes from the resort, u can reach the beach part good for swimming. Well, they have pool if you choose not to walk. Our room is big but not spacious. They do not put complimentary bottled water for drinking, if your thirsty you have to go to the lobby area or if your room is in the end of second floor u have to get it from the dispenser near the stairs. We are four in a room, If you choose to stay there your two friends must bring their own towels cause they have only 2 towels in a room. Remember to bring your own shampoo and bed slippers, cause they don't have one. Yes it is free wi-fi at the lobby area, but it was too slow, very very slow. If you choose to pay,the cost was double the price in manila. The staff are accomodating but not so trained, most especially those in the reception area, they are just pretty and kind. They say different things, unreliable. Good thing that they have a free schedule shuttle going to city but the schedule is so unreliable, so better get a tricycle for 150.00 only than wait for the pick up. I suggest to them, before guest checks in they have to give them a PRINTED SCHEDULE OF SHUTTLE FOR LUNCH AND DINNER TIME and they should have A PICK UP AND DROP OFF AREA. Cause I think they only have 1-2 vans which is also for aiport transfers. Although, we had a little unnice experience to this hotel, maybe on the next time we stay again, I hope that they already follow my suggestions, cause I still choose to stay here, because of the buffet breakfast they have. so mouth watering. Love the DANGGIT!! and the PANCIT!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lhanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Microtel Puerto Princesa is a newly developed property off the main highway, a good 15 minutes from the city center. This hotel boasts of a beachfront - which has very clear but shallow waters.

The rooms and beds are quite large, although simply furnished. The place has a US-type motel feel to it, with staff wearing uniforms that don't seem to be out of place in fastfood chains. Nevertheless, the service is quite good. Due to the distance from downtown, they provide a regular shuttle free of charge for guests who wish to dine out and explore the city.

The hotel comes with basic amenities. Cable TV is provided, and most rooms have balconies. The rooms with balconies facing the beach are best, and are very pleasant to look at especially in the afternoons when it is high tide and the crystal clear waters come rushing in.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, and consisted of traditional Filipino fare - sausages, garlic rice, dried fish, etc. The hotel does not claim to be a resort, though it tries its best to give such a vibe with its meagre beachfront.

All in all, I would recommend staying in Puerto Princesa. It may not offer the most value, but it's pleasant enough and it does its job.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is a great hotel for family trips or when you're traveling with a large group. We traveled with my elderly parents and the hotel staff was gracious enough to put us in 2 connecting rooms so we'll have easy access to our parent's room. The hotel staff are friendly and very attentive to all guests' needs, from towels, food, dinner reservations in restaurants downtown, airport transfer, city shuttle and even packing your boxes, if needed. The rooms are very big and comfortable, well-lit. It does not have a tub nor ref inside the room but the hotel readily offers free ice, cold drinking water, free coffee in the lobby. Also, the hotel has a small store where you can buy basic items that you need. The hotel boasts of its beachfront which changes depending whether it's high tide or low tide. The breakfast buffet is simple but very hearty and satisfying to sustain you throughout the day's tour. The food in the restaurant for dinner is also great with the fresh seafood and big servings, although a bit pricey compared to the restaurants downtown which is just ok since it would cut you 30 mins hassle going downtown. The hotel is a bit far from downtown but they have scheduled shuttle from hotel to city proper and back. Van leaves at 8 am for airport transfers and at dinner time, van leaves at 6 pm and 8 pm for guests who wants to dine out (Ka Lui's, Badjao Restaurant and Kinabuch recommended). We don't really mind the distance since we were out all the time during the day for the tours. Great time at the hotel when you are tired from the day's tour and you can just lounge around at the beachfront to relax and rest and drink coffee, unlike hotels in downtown area where you are in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city. They have free wifi in the lounge and free daily paper. All in all, this hotel is considered one of the best in puerto princesa city for comfort, friendly staff and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank attyjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMReneSuarez, General Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 26, 2017
Thank you very much for choosing to stay in Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa last August 2010. I'm glad that you and your family had a great stay with us. We really appreciate you letting us know what you thought of the experience. We've made a lot of improvements to the place since then and I do hope that you would consider visiting us again on your next trip to Puerto Princesa, Palawan. We look forward to having you and your family stay again with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We were in a group and looking for fun and relaxation after a hectic MBA program. We booked the "Just for Fun" package for 4 Nights and 5 Days. Honda Bay, Underground river, Kayak rental and City tour were part of the package. All activities were organized very efficiently. The restaurant serves delicious food (much better than the few places in the city). The hotel also organized a bonfire for us on request (for free!!!). The hotel also has free coffee and tea in the lobby. The hotel is a 25 minute travel from the main city place. However, the hotel has free shuttle service to and fro. The most outstanding part of the whole experience are warm and friendly staff. Always ready to help and they attend to any requests promptly. Overall fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarunkagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The bedrooms were large and clean. We booked two rooms with the lagoon view, but we were given rooms overlooking the beach, so the view was nice. However, the bathroom walls were dirty; they clearly hadn't been scrubbed in ages. After we told housekeeping about the bathroom and pointed out the problem, the walls improved.

The staff, from the front desk to the van drivers, was very friendly, respectful, and attentive. There was some trouble on our last day because we'd been told before we got to Palawan that we could have late check out, but on the day we were supposed to leave, we were told by the front desk that we had to check out at 12. However, after we complained about it to the front desk and sent an e-mail to the manager, we were given the late check out after all, and the manager personally went to us to hash it out. Housekeeping responded promptly when we requested for extra towels. Overall, we liked the staff; they tried hard to please us.

The food at the restaurant was much cheaper than we expected. Aside from the free buffet breakfasts, we ate two meals there, and for one meal we got complimentary fruits, and for another meal, we got complimentary bread and soup. The waiters were attentive.

Microtel is quite far from the city center. The hotel has a van service that has scheduled lunch and dinner runs to the city, so going to restaurants like Ka Lui is not a problem. This is free. However, if you want to go to market or church in the morning or in the hours between lunch and dinner, you have to rent the van for P350.

At the front desk, we borrowed beach towels. They allowed us to take the towels to Honda Bay. There was no charge for this. There were free wifi, coffee, tea, and newspapers in the lobby.

Despite some minor issues, our stay was a good one. I would recommend Microtel to those who don't mind not being in the city center.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveGasWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
243 reviews
4.0 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
472 reviews
4.1 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#1 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
558 reviews
3.5 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#2 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
190 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#8 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa

Property: Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Address: Emerald | San Jose, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a taste of tropical bliss at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham - Puerto Princesa, the only international beachfront resort hotel in Puerto Princesa City. Nestled on the white sands of Emerald Beach just 25 minutes away from the city's bustling center, this hotel in Puerto Princesa, Palawan offers you an experience that is both comfortable and affordable. With tastefully designed rooms that have all the necessary amenities to make your stay enjoyable, you'll find it easy to feel right at home. Microtel Puerto Princesa stays true to the Microtel chain's international standards of quality, offering excellent service that is reasonably priced. Combined with remarkable Filipino hospitality, Microtel Puerto Princesa is truly your hotel of choice when in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Puerto Princesa Hotel Puerto Princesa
Microtel Inn And Suites Puerto Princesa
Microtel By Wyndham Puerto Princesa Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing