We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach Side retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beach Side retreat”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Free pick up airport efficient. Check in was easy and a small bottle of cold water supplied.

Our room opened onto the sand beach and had a pleasant outlook. The room was clean, well serviced and included a small fridge which meant we were able to self supply beers, small snacks and fruit.

Mothers day occurred while we were there and a small gift was given to us all. Lovely idea.

Our stay of 4 days was pleasant and the free shuttle to the city area restaurants (lunch and Dinner) good in helping to vary our food experiences.

The hotel was occupied by a number of local family groups and thus a bit noisy at times. Locating family groups away from singles and couples may be an option to consider in managing occupancy.

The buffet breakfast was included, good value and quality especially the freshly cooked omelettes. Lunch and diner menu was good with a small selection of local foods that we enjoyed trying. We like the sizzling fish and vegetable curry.

The hotel arranged our tour to the underground cave and this was efficient. Early booking of this tour a must as numbers are limited.

A very comfortable stay in pleasant surrounds but a bit out of the way

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from family groups with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the very nice review. Knowing that you have enjoyed your short stay with us is pleasing to hear and it is our pleasure to provide small tokens of appreciation to our guests especially on events such as Mother’s Day to make it memorable for everyone. In behalf of Senordamla Restaurant, we thank you for enjoying your dining experience with them and we will extend your pleasant reviews. We hope to serve and meet you and your family again soon here at Microtel Puerto Princesa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    295
    98
    20
    11
See reviews for
268
212
31
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My family and I are currently staying at the Microtel Pureto Princesa location in Palawan. We are a native Filipino family and we know the area and native language (Tagalog), yet there was still way too much miscommunication by the staff. Although the staff is generally helpful (to be expected of a Filipino service) and the location is mediocre, we expected the service to be excellent. This was not the case, we had not one but TWO cases where the staff essentially screwed us over.
The first instance was when we were told our trip for the Underground River shuttle pick up would be at 9am. Somehow we get a call at 7:15am telling us that our tour guide was here and that if we don't hurry we would miss our tour. The 2nd incident was when we booked reservations for a neighboring restaurant. The staff booked the reservation, but when we arrived they informed us that our reservation was incomplete because the hotel staff did not note our food selection and the chef had already gone home.
When we confronted the Microtel staff about the incident, all they did was apologize and we were forced to eat at the hotel's restaurant even though we really did not want to. IT WASN'T EVEN COMPLIMENTARY. NOT EVEN A DISCOUNT. Ridiculous. They tried to compensate by giving us a cheap bottle of wine.
As we're preparing to leave I can't wait to tell everyone NOT to go to this location. I don't think we got our money's worth for the poor service and lack of customer satisfaction and attention. Sorry Microtel Palawan, you just lost my business. Never coming back here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gord G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your room accommodation requirements. We regret to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay due to miscommunication problems. Our Front Office Team has been helpful and accommodating in facilitating requests and various tours which unfortunately became a stress on your case involving your proper pick-up time. Regarding the restaurant incident, the dinner reservation was indeed reserved at the neighbour restaurant and was advised of how many person and what time the guest would arrive. We have made reservations in the same restaurant in the past and was not advised to inquire our guests of what they wish to order because their chef will be leaving early. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience these have brought you and we still wish that you may give us a chance to improve on your next visit to Puerto Princesa City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Microtel for our anniversary. In general, I think the people of Palawan are kind, hospitable and generous. The hotel staff was very very friendly and helpful. We didn't have to worry about anything. The free shuttle to and from the popular restos was very helpful and encouraging for tourists to visit nearby destinations.

The facility itself was clean and nicely designed. It was very relaxing either to stay by the hotel lanai facing the sea or on the beach itself. The beach though, has a very wide shore. Since I don't actually like swimming in the beach, instead just like sun-bathing, then it was perfect for me.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to people who'd want a quiet and relaxing stay in Puerto Princesa. I will likewise stay in Microtel again if I go back to Palawan.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwapa214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing these pleasant reviews. We appreciate your thoughts on how hospitable and accommodating our staff is during your stay and that you felt welcomed and was accommodated very well. We hope to meet you again soon in one of your visits here in Puerto Princesa City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Microtel offers great services.

Pick-up and Drop-off to the airport are free, and you can have a lunch and dinner drop-off/pick-up for free as well.

The hotel is a bit fas from the town, but a tricycle will get you there for 150-250 P. We used their driver a lot.

The swimmingpool is nice and clean. Rooms a spatious and the beds are wonderful. Breakfast is very Filipino orientated, but ok.

Toilets next to the pool very never cleaned. Probably the only error I've noticed.

They arranged the trip to the underground river for us in advance, and that was also well done.

All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Restlezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for the nice reviews posted. We are delighted to hear that your short stay was made enjoyable. Also, we appreciate your concern on the maintenance of cleanliness of our shower area which is a public area. We hope you could visit us again to show our improvement on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the hotel & the excursions they offered! Went island hopping and enjoyed it so much! Nice clean island so different to manila.. No polution great seeing the phillipines in a different light! Would absoloutely go again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetSinCouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us has been enjoyable and that you had a wonderful break here in Puerto Princesa City. We would like to thank you for it is our delight to give our guest the comfort and the refreshing ambiance during their short vacations. We hope we could see you again soon here in Microtel Puerto Princesa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I'm not much of a beach person (I hate the feeling of sand and sticky beach water after-feeling). So I didn't mind that the beach heads into low tide at some points of the day. But hey, they have a swimming pool if you really want to swim.

Pros: Free flowing coffee all day and all night, the rustic blue painted furniture, decor, shuttle to and from the city at certain times of the day, comfortable rooms, scenic (make sure you get the room that faces the beach).

Cons: Wifi in room didn't work on our 2nd day, far from the city, rough road about 4 minutes leading to hotel.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the beach for a scenic treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were delighted of the hotel's services and amenities. We hope we could welcome you again soon on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

just sad to know that low tides made the water that far...1km (seriously). i thought i could jump into the beach. :(

they have free flowing coffee in the lounge area. good news to take away my dismay of the beach. the swimming pool is clean and wide enough to accommodate the guests on that day.

our room is neat, well-lit and ac works properly. it has a door on the other side for easy access of the pool and the beach.

the problem with the hotel is that it is far from the main road. thus, you are dependent to their vans/cars. unlike other hotels in the area where travelers can easily call on a tricycle and transport them into nearby souvenir shops and their choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for posting these nice reviews. We regret that the water was too far during daytime throughout your stay though the tide normally changes weekly. We are happy to hear that our amenities and facilities fitted your room accommodation needs and were pleased with your short vacation. We hope we could hear from you soon for your next visit in Puerto Princesa City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
3.5 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
163 reviews
4.1 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
226 reviews
4.0 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#7 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
182 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#1 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
543 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aziza Paradise Hotel
Aziza Paradise Hotel
#19 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa

Property: Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Address: Emerald | San Jose, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a taste of tropical bliss at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham - Puerto Princesa, the only international beachfront resort hotel in Puerto Princesa City. Nestled on the white sands of Emerald Beach just 25 minutes away from the city's bustling center, this hotel in Puerto Princesa, Palawan offers you an experience that is both comfortable and affordable. With tastefully designed rooms that have all the necessary amenities to make your stay enjoyable, you'll find it easy to feel right at home. Microtel Puerto Princesa stays true to the Microtel chain's international standards of quality, offering excellent service that is reasonably priced. Combined with remarkable Filipino hospitality, Microtel Puerto Princesa is truly your hotel of choice when in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Puerto Princesa Hotel Puerto Princesa
Microtel Inn And Suites Puerto Princesa
Microtel By Wyndham Puerto Princesa Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing