We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“lovely stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Microtel for our anniversary. In general, I think the people of Palawan are kind, hospitable and generous. The hotel staff was very very friendly and helpful. We didn't have to worry about anything. The free shuttle to and from the popular restos was very helpful and encouraging for tourists to visit nearby destinations.

The facility itself was clean and nicely designed. It was very relaxing either to stay by the hotel lanai facing the sea or on the beach itself. The beach though, has a very wide shore. Since I don't actually like swimming in the beach, instead just like sun-bathing, then it was perfect for me.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to people who'd want a quiet and relaxing stay in Puerto Princesa. I will likewise stay in Microtel again if I go back to Palawan.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwapa214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing these pleasant reviews. We appreciate your thoughts on how hospitable and accommodating our staff is during your stay and that you felt welcomed and was accommodated very well. We hope to meet you again soon in one of your visits here in Puerto Princesa City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    304
    101
    20
    12
See reviews for
274
217
32
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Microtel offers great services.

Pick-up and Drop-off to the airport are free, and you can have a lunch and dinner drop-off/pick-up for free as well.

The hotel is a bit fas from the town, but a tricycle will get you there for 150-250 P. We used their driver a lot.

The swimmingpool is nice and clean. Rooms a spatious and the beds are wonderful. Breakfast is very Filipino orientated, but ok.

Toilets next to the pool very never cleaned. Probably the only error I've noticed.

They arranged the trip to the underground river for us in advance, and that was also well done.

All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Restlezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for the nice reviews posted. We are delighted to hear that your short stay was made enjoyable. Also, we appreciate your concern on the maintenance of cleanliness of our shower area which is a public area. We hope you could visit us again to show our improvement on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the hotel & the excursions they offered! Went island hopping and enjoyed it so much! Nice clean island so different to manila.. No polution great seeing the phillipines in a different light! Would absoloutely go again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetSinCouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us has been enjoyable and that you had a wonderful break here in Puerto Princesa City. We would like to thank you for it is our delight to give our guest the comfort and the refreshing ambiance during their short vacations. We hope we could see you again soon here in Microtel Puerto Princesa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I'm not much of a beach person (I hate the feeling of sand and sticky beach water after-feeling). So I didn't mind that the beach heads into low tide at some points of the day. But hey, they have a swimming pool if you really want to swim.

Pros: Free flowing coffee all day and all night, the rustic blue painted furniture, decor, shuttle to and from the city at certain times of the day, comfortable rooms, scenic (make sure you get the room that faces the beach).

Cons: Wifi in room didn't work on our 2nd day, far from the city, rough road about 4 minutes leading to hotel.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the beach for a scenic treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were delighted of the hotel's services and amenities. We hope we could welcome you again soon on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

just sad to know that low tides made the water that far...1km (seriously). i thought i could jump into the beach. :(

they have free flowing coffee in the lounge area. good news to take away my dismay of the beach. the swimming pool is clean and wide enough to accommodate the guests on that day.

our room is neat, well-lit and ac works properly. it has a door on the other side for easy access of the pool and the beach.

the problem with the hotel is that it is far from the main road. thus, you are dependent to their vans/cars. unlike other hotels in the area where travelers can easily call on a tricycle and transport them into nearby souvenir shops and their choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for posting these nice reviews. We regret that the water was too far during daytime throughout your stay though the tide normally changes weekly. We are happy to hear that our amenities and facilities fitted your room accommodation needs and were pleased with your short vacation. We hope we could hear from you soon for your next visit in Puerto Princesa City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pros:
Beautiful hotel set in a wonderful location on the beach. Nice clean rooms with comfortable bed.

Cons:

Airport Pickup – After reserving my room with this hotel, I received an email from reservation desk confirming my reservation, and how the airport pickup/transfer to the hotel will work. Once my flight arrived, there was no Microtel Rep waiting for me. I called the hotel and they stated they couldn’t find my reservation, they will look for it, and give me a call back. I waited 30 min in the hot sun, and ended taking a trike to the hotel. However, the hotel did reimburse me for the trike ride.

Room Service – No 24hr room service at hotel; the hotel is far from the city, and is not within walking distance to any restaurants, stores, or bars. With lack of room service you are left stranded and hungry in the late hours of the night.

Ripped off by trike driver/hotel staff - Tried to get food delivered to my hotel; the hotel receptionist quoted one price, but when the food arrived, the driver wanted double the original price. The hotel receptionist did nothing to help, even though he knew the price was doubled and way too much for the delivery service.

No beach towels allowed of premises – Had an island hoping tour from the hotel. The hotel staff refused to give out a beach towel for the trip, stating a new hotel policy; even though the tour guide stated that the hotel does give out towels. You can’t even rent one from the hotel either. Poor service to guests..

Poor Internet connection - Internet connection was out for more than a day, when I ask the reception desk about the problem, the receptionist stated he was sorry, but there was nothing that can be done because no one knew how to push the reset button on the wireless router. Not a hard task at all...

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a deluxe beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelQ1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micr0telPalawan, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Your feedback is valuable to us as it assists us in our continuous effort to improve our services. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

It seemed like we only got there and had to leave. The grounds at the Inn are beautiful, simply put. The breeze that blows through the palm trees in back blows through the spacious lobby and through to the mangroves in front. The result is to feel that you're never far from nature. There is no clear division between inside and out; the cool ocean wind keeps you in constant contact with the sand and surf outside.
The staff were friendly, efficient and accommodating, which is something I've not only come too expect from the Filipino people, but I quite appreciate, and enjoy. Even with our numerous concerns about tour schedules, requests for towels and bug repellant, we were never a bother, and always received prompt attention and smiles.
The room (PAY EXTRA FOR THE BEACH VIEW- it's worth it for the sunrise, if nothing else) had a front door framed by native vegetation,, which gave way to the well-kept sand. Between the palm trees in direct view of our patio door was the hammock of my dreams. From here, you could drift off in a matter of minutes, listening to the wind in the palms, watching the tide wander around the mangroves.
The restaurant is semi-detached, and overlooks the wonderful pool area. The food was great, the beer chilled, and the water excellent. This is an area of no complaints for me, and much of what little free time I had at the Inn was perfectly wasted here. Thanks, Ivan and friends at the restaurant for a job well done.
If ever I return to Palawan, I'll be looking for that hammock

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthrenSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene S, Manager at Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review of Microtel Puerto Princesa. While nothing gives us more pleasure than to be of service to all our guests, reading a review such as yours is music to our ears and motivates us even further to constantly improve our facilities and services.
Our president and CEO, Mr. Mari del Rosario, coined a term -- "guest-centric" service -- that everyone in Microtel's 11 properties (and growing!) in the country all try to embody and I am glad that our staff in Puerto Princesa was able to live up to this expectation, contributing to your positive experience.
Again, thank you for choosing Microtel Puerto Princesa and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Your hammock awaits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#5 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
229 reviews
4.0 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
457 reviews
4.1 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
183 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#1 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
555 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#7 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa

Property: Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Address: Emerald | San Jose, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a taste of tropical bliss at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham - Puerto Princesa, the only international beachfront resort hotel in Puerto Princesa City. Nestled on the white sands of Emerald Beach just 25 minutes away from the city's bustling center, this hotel in Puerto Princesa, Palawan offers you an experience that is both comfortable and affordable. With tastefully designed rooms that have all the necessary amenities to make your stay enjoyable, you'll find it easy to feel right at home. Microtel Puerto Princesa stays true to the Microtel chain's international standards of quality, offering excellent service that is reasonably priced. Combined with remarkable Filipino hospitality, Microtel Puerto Princesa is truly your hotel of choice when in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Puerto Princesa Hotel Puerto Princesa
Microtel Inn And Suites Puerto Princesa
Microtel By Wyndham Puerto Princesa Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing