We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just OK”
Review of Duchess Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duchess Pension
Ranked #94 of 195 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If your looking for a budget place to stay at, with clean rooms and near the city proper, you can stay at this place. Rooms are affordable, but everything needs to be paid of, like used of wifi including hot water which you need for a coffee. We check in at night, but no one ever assisted us with our bags because the front desk man said, he is alone and so he just watched us brought our bags upstairs.

If you know other place to stay with more accommodating stay, better stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minet512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Duchess Pension
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 28 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Duchess Pension was first referred to me by my Dad when he went to Puerto Princesa alone. Upon my arrival this January, I found out for myself why my dad was so ecstatic about this place. The service was first-rate, and the rooms were excellent. We had a little issue during the storm (when a small section of the floor became flooded due to the water coming in), but was immediately remedied after we called the attention of the staff. The people were very respectful and kind, even offering help for a lot of things. But what makes this place so amazing is the value that you will get for all that service. If you are travelling alone or with a partner and want to feel the natural breeze of Puerto Princesa, you best take the 250 php or 350 php rooms. For those who want to have air-conditioning, a price of 850 php at least can be paid for a doubles room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

good pts on:

1. our friend's child is free
2. i think the cheapest stay in Coron
3. personnels gave us privacy bec they dont care a lot (as if we arrived wet with sand fr island hopping or too late at nyt)
4. a 20 min walk fr the food chains/market
5. no deposit, no hidden charges

however:

1. seems personnels dont want to help guests. I asked if they have hot water available for my morning coffee.The men on the phone (fr Duchess Pension) said, twice, they have none. But I found out they have it in their pantry. I just wished they should have said 'just pay for it, it's not free' instead of me going out the place imagine just for a mug of hot water.

2. clean, aside from a clogged drain in our shower room

3. some noise at night coming from a videoke nearby store.

4. no welcome drinks/rain caller gift (fr a website info, they have these.but none)

5. curtains are undersized, sunlight made the aircon room hot.


over-all:
anyway if u just looking where to sleep in Puerto Princesa but most of your time will be spent outdoor, then avail Duchess Pension...

Room Tip: other here says choose room at the back away fr the street
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laarni397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place has simple amenities for solo and group travelers: Simple double deck or queen sized beds, clean sheets and good ventilation. I tried the fan room. I remember I paid P800 for 4D3N there with three more friends. You can verify if this is still true via their website.

Good wi-fi connection. I need this when traveling. They also have friendly staff who attend to your needs. We ate our breakfasts here - though not all for free - and they pretty much accommodating on any requests we made.

They offer tours, but we didn't avail them. It's a good location too because from here we were able to visit different nearby villages. I can go back here anytime I go PP again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manila-Citizen_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

They keep improving the place. Always painting and now new Wi-Fi router for an even faster internet. they constantly up grade the place. Saw a rather unfair review...Guests experiencing issues, can simply inform the staff who will fix them immediately, unless it's the middle of the night...but they will try, anyhow. Pics of the Duchess give the reader an accurate of the facilities. Most guests like me highly recommend this cozy Puerto hotel, that has a great location!

Room Tip: Discuss with the front desk what you are looking for in a room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

if you're looking for a place that you just need to sleep in when you're done touring for the day, then this place is pocket friendly. why? 250 for a single room, 350 for a double with common toilet and bath, walkng distance to city center. if you need your private en-suite bathroom and A/C then you pay more, just check their website for rates. they also arrange tours, serve affordable breakfast and trikes pass by outside anytime of the day. place is located in a residential area so expect some unnecessary noises at night and rooms are very basic so dont expect a lot. can book without paying, i just called to reserve a room. nice garden view too!

Room Tip: get a room at the back, less noisy
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akj1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Double room P350. Helpful, friendly, wonderful service, wld highly recommend!
If u stay here go eat at Blue Ginger, amazing! x

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Niknak356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
2.4 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#27 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palawan Village Hotel
Palawan Village Hotel
#26 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
164 reviews
33.3 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tia Mers Guest House
Tia Mers Guest House
#67 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
24 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#6 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
525 reviews
34.9 mi away
Xtravelers Place Palawan
Xtravelers Place Palawan
#52 of 195 in Puerto Princesa
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duchess Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duchess Pension

Address: 107 East Valencia St., 5300, Palawan", Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $16 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duchess Pension 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Duchess Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duchess Pension Hotel Puerto Princesa
Duchess Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing