We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Hopping” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honda Bay

Honda Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.00*
and up
Honda Bay Island Hopping Tour from Puerto Princesa Including Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Framing the coastline of the capital of Palawan, Puerto Princesa City is Honda Bay. Popular location for snorkeling and island hopping.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Island Hopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

i came to snorkell and i got to snorkell..and more. the only thing is that when its packed...the water gets a bit murky

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Incog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    494
    270
    71
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Move around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

When you go for island hopping, please at least go around each island? There’s a lot to discover. :)

First, we went to Cowrie Island where we had lunch and went for a swimming for a while. The island's a bit crowded. There’s an area where you can play volleyball but I’m not sure if they’ll provide the ball for you. Also, there’s a resto-bar in the middle just beside the “massage area” where you can order food and drink. Serving is poor, maybe because of the volume of people during our visit. Toilets and showers are available. On one side of the island, boats dock. On the other, people are swimming.

Next, we went to Pambato Reef, it was very crowded that day that we didn't enjoy it that much. You’re going to follow a strict path for snorkeling. That’s just it. It takes around 15-20 min. The pacing was too fast. We didn't have enough time to appreciate the life forms underwater. If I were you, take your time. Don’t rush, and if you don't know how to swim, ask your boat driver to accompany you. And take it slow.

Last was Luli Island. Name was called Luli because the island is known to disappear, (Lulubog) then reappear (Lilitaw) depending on the tide. Here, we took time to cover the island as much as we could. There are a lot of Mangrove (?) trees at the far end. You’ll see jumping fish, different kinds of starfish, birds and some other interesting finds.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect for family bonding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Before we proceed to hunda bay, our guide Ms. Cleo of HADEFE travel and tours suggest us to rent some snorkel gears we need for island hopping. We also buy some bread for fish feeding. our first stop was pandan island, having white sands and colorful fish. My son and hubby enjoyed feeding fish. Their corals at the Pambato Reef were so amazing! Good thing we rent the snorkel gears though it's quite expensive. Thanks to the bangkero for assisting me for i didn't know how to swim. I'm just wearing a life jacket and a buoy. TIPS: tell your tour-guide to visit first the pambato reef rather than the pandan island to see more fishes on corals. The 3rd island we visit was the Luli (lulubog lilitaw) island. It's not good as pandan island. We didn't enjoy the place because there's a territorial fish biting our toes. Overall views, Honda Bay is a beautiful and a good place for family bonding even for lovers.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Addylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Point Estate, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing and fun island hopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

has a very beautiful islands,islets, reefs and beaches,,Traveling going to pandan island takes 45minutes but worth waiting bec. of its white and fine sand,beach and lots of fishes everywhere ..water is very clear..nExt is pambato reef where you can see diff. types of coral reefs and some sea turtles too..TIP: RENT SNORKEL GEARS AT THE WHARF, IT'S CHEAPER THERE

Helpful?
3 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some of the best beaches you will ever experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The choice of island will frame your opinion of this area. If you choose Dos Palmas and Pandan you will have chosen well. Don't choose Snake Island, as it is now closed to the public, as a result of disrespect by the hordes who used to visit. On Pandan, you may taste the best Blue Crab in the World, but don't expect knives and forks, as the Filipinos eat crab with their bare hands. Take time to explore the rest of the island and walk around the mangroves. You will be rewarded with your own beach, white soft sand and the warmest water in which to swim. Remember, the Philippines has 25 Typhoons each year, so your trip may be cut short if there is a weather warning. Paradise is there if you desire it, but you will have to work to find it, so don't expect me to draw you a map!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TadNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honda Bay also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Honda Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing