We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENTE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Honda Bay

Honda Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.00*
and up
Honda Bay Island Hopping Tour from Puerto Princesa Including Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Framing the coastline of the capital of Palawan, Puerto Princesa City is Honda Bay. Popular location for snorkeling and island hopping.
Antipolo, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENTE!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

During my trip in palawan this is the most memorable part of our tour, we go to the different islands of Honda bay, we do snorkeling where you get a chance to see the rich marine life of Palawan, It was priceless. the natives in the island are very accomodating they cook food for us and let us play beach volleyball w/ them. It was a very nice experience that one must not miss when visiting Palawan.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    505
    276
    71
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
earth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“boring”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

the snorkling was not very good at all, they make you wear your life jacket even if you are a accomplished and confident swimmer, the reef looks unhealthy and dying, visibility was very poor but that could have been due to the weather. starfish island was better snorkling and you don't have to wear a pfd. the lunch was very good but i was also starving by that time. lastly a typhoon blew in while we were on the island and stranded us there for a few hours. bring a poncho or rain coat if you go during the rainy season just in case i was very very glad i did

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sigh-man-says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quezon city philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“island hopping...”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

i love the sand and the sea... our honda bay island tour is my favorite... getting tanned in the island... doing swimming and snorkeling... nothing beats the nature of the sea! super loved! (",)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank beautytravelmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

A must-do when you're in Puerto Princesa! You will be taken to Isla Pandan for snorkeling and the beach is very nice with loads of fishes swimming around in the sea. You don't really need the whole snorkeling gears, just a pair of goggles will do a fine job, actually. You will be coaxed to rent diving shoes for a small fee, but you really do not need them. The sand's clean and safe.
Then there will be the Pambato Reefs for some more snorkeling. Again, goggles will do. It is a protected area so you won't be allowed to go far anyway.
Finally there's Luli Island. The beach is gorgeous, and here you can do more swimming and snorkeling. There is also a diving board, albeit a low one.
I enjoyed the view and nature at its best there. Snorkeling was so so, as the water was pretty murky and the fishes & corals are not as colorful. But just swimming around is good coz the current is not strong. Even my 3-year old enjoyed his dip there!

Helpful?
Thank angie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zacatecas, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoy the sea and islands”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was decided to go to Palawan in the search of a quiet place to enjoy some peaceful days... and recharge batteries. Our base was established in Sabang and we start looking for some activities that can be done nearby. The Honday Bay tour was one of them we found, and it was the best!
From our hotel in Sabang it was a little far away to go there. We had to rent a van and it took around 90 minutes to arrive to the wharf. Perhaps it would be better to stay at Puerto Princesa city in terms of saving time... and the cost of the van. :-)
The tour is basically an island hopping activity combined with snorkeling, swimming, enjoying the beach and beautiful sea landscapes. Sea kayaking and other water sports (like jet sky) could be available depending which islands are visited. More details about it you shall ask to the tour operator in advance if you want. But the view and the sea, specially swimming and snorkeling is really more than enough!!!
It's basically a whole day activity starting around 8am and coming back to the wharf between 4pm to 5pm. No strict itinerary... please don't stress yourself, this is for relaxing ;-)
We visited the following three (03) locations:
a) Pambato Reef; nice place for a warming up session of snorkeling. Spent around 30 minutes. It had not the best visibility and the coral has already some damaged, but if you compare with another places for snorkel promoted at Sabang beach (Rita island for example) it absolutely much better!
b) Starfish island; beautiful island... but didn't find any starfish at all :-) The water, depth and the sun rays combined provided a great visibility (the best). If you have a waterproof camera this is the place to take awesome pictures of the local sea life.
c) Pandan island; the chosen place for having lunch and spending around 3 to 4 hours. Lunch (seafood, fish and pork with local veggies) at a small cottage to enjoy with the other members of the tour (8 pax per boat). After some rest you can choose what to do: swimming, kayaking, the jet sky was not operative, having a massage, play voleyball, or as we did... what else? Snorkeling :-) Also great visibility, bunty fishes and enough time to enjoy it.
Well, I just wrote too much, but indeed I liked so much that tour.
Usually the tour includes boat, lunch, islands entrance fees, water, and a guide in english basically to tell you some facts and history about the place. Snorkel gear has to be rented at the wharf of you may bring your own. Swimming shoes are recommended due to the coral sharp egdes. 200 to 300 PHP rent cost per set (snorkel, googles and a pair of shoes). If you are in a hotel at Puerto Princesa city, even the pick up from your hotel is included, but make sure about that. The cost depending on the size of the boat should be between 1700 to 2300 PHP per person. In our case was 2300 PHP on a 8 pax boat.
If you're planning to visit Puerto Princesa and the surroundings in a short holiday (weekend or 4 days) this is a good choice. Don't missed it ;-)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Willi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honda Bay also viewed

Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Honda Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing