We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hibiscus Garden in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Was surprised how close this Garden Inn is to the airport. The booking staff were very helpful from the day I started inquiring until the time we were already checked-in. I've made several changes in my requested itinerary and they were still very accommodating.

I love the cozy ambiance of this place. You feel like you are very far from the city but really you are just a Tricycle ride away from famous restaurants.

The room we got is good for 6. It is spacious with our very own garden at the back with 2 hammocks. I just wish they put brighter bulbs in some of the floor lamps as the room gets a bit too dim at night.

Their Pizza is also delicious :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinactan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 566 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Hibiscus is really a perfect get away. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from downtown, which we were grateful for because downtown is chaotis, loud, and very busy. Palawan is relatively safe, so we weren't worried walked to or fro the hotel day or night.

The restaurant serves food throughout the day. Mainly Western-type dishes that was surprisingly very tasty. The only disappointing thing about it is that they serve almost no traditional Filipino food. It is kind of expensive, but the convenience makes it worth it. Don't worry about buying water because the hotel provides FREE filitered water that you can have anytime.

We had 3 different rooms throughout our week there and each was very spacious with hot and cold water, but the lighting in each was very low and WiFi, while free, was non-existent. We had to go outside when we wanted to get online.

Most of the staff were very pleasant. Ms. Joy works in the evening and is by far the most helpful. We had some trouble with the tricycle drivers trying to rip us off and when I talked to her about it she made sure that when we left the hotel the driver only charged us the 10 pesos/pp to downtown. The restaurant and housekeeping staff were very nice, too.

The reason I'm giving only 4 stars is because of the day staff, which included the manager, Aida, and another women who are not as friendly or helpful. We had some serious trouble with transportation on numerous occasions and, even though we booked it through them, they were not interested in making sure we were picked up on time or taken to the appropriate places. We were on our way to El Nido and the company they booked, FORT WALLY, took over 1.5hrs to pick us up, the morning staff called did not give us the approprioate information and after driving us around PPC for more than 3hrs, they pulled over and asked us for double the amount we were told it would cost. After refusing to pay and demanding they take us back downtown we had no way to get to El Nido and nowhere in PPC to stay. We spent the last night before our flight out at Hisbiscus and explained to the day staff what happened and all they said was, "oh."

My only tip would be not to use Fort Wally to get to El Nido. It's easy to find a private driver with other company making to same trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CamilleAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Great shuttle service from/to airport.
Friendly reception. Very attentive.
Big room, hot shower, quiet aircon. Free wi-fi.
Breakfast is excellent.
Very clean premises.
Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This place really lives up to all the good TA reviews, from the pleasant and welcoming reception staff to the large clean and well presented rooms. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained and the restaurant was also well run and the food pretty good although a little on the pricy side for Palawan. Not much to add - just a great place to spend a day or two while in Puerto.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

There is much to like about the Hibiscus Garden Inn.

What immediately strikes you upon arrival at the HGI is the warmth and agreeableness of the staff. They are so polite and ever willing to perform tasks for you to ensure that you have a comfortable and hassle-free stay. The desk staff will gladly book local tours, arrange for massages and make restaurant reservations for you, among other things.

Lush greenery, principal amongst which are hibiscus plants in varying stages of bloom, encompass the entire property, effectively creating a cozy and relaxed atmosphere. The room accommodations are comfortable with modern conveniences such as split type airconditioning, cable television, mini refrigerator, mini safe and hot shower. Those staying at queen and king rooms have the extra benefit of their own private gardens.

The HGI also operates a pizza-pasta restaurant on the premises. The pizzas are baked in a brick oven and can favorably compare with the best in Metro Manila. The pasta dishes are equally as good and complement the pizzas very well. Hopefully, they will add to their menu selection in the future. Breakfast is also served daily at the same place. Choices range from Filipino, American, European to Continental. As with the pastas and pizzas, the food is very good and reasonably priced.

The HGI is located less than ten minutes away from the airport and recommended dining establishments. Slightly further away is the city center. The HGI is a great starting point for one's activities both in and around Puerto Princesa.

The one thing I hated about my stay at the HGI was having to leave so soon.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edcap99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Hibiscus Garden Hotel offers a relaxing ambiance--- quiet, homey and clean. The services from the staffs are also great. They are very accommodating! If i were to go back to Puerto Princessa I'd definitely check-inn again at Hibiscuss Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian Rica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Very comfortable; clean and homely. But what differentiates this place is a great service attitude - everything was arranged with a smile

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elijah00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.2 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#3 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#8 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#15 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Garden Inn

Address: Manalo Extension | Bgy. Milagrosa, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $26 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Garden Inn is every traveller's hideaway - with a relaxing ambience, comfortable and clean accommodation, warm and friendly people and staff to make your vacation a truly enjoyable one. All rooms are fully airconditioned with basic amenities, spacious and homey. Set in a tropical garden oasis where your body and mind will find true relaxation while you are on a holiday. Hibiscus Garden Inn is just 15 minutes away from the newest International Airport, accessible to various tour destinations, restaurants and other points of interest in the city of Puerto Princesa, Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hibiscus Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hibiscus Garden Puerto Princesa
Hibiscus Garden Inn Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing